OUCH!

I had my underarms waxed for the first time today.  I’ve always wanted to try it, but I’m terrified of pain.  Besides, having my hair brutally ripped out from their follicles doesn’t sound like a lot of fun.  Shaving sounds a whole lot safer, and more pain-free.  This afternoon, however, Brinks somehow managed to convince me that it’ll be okay, and it won’t hurt as much as I expect it to.

We went to V-lounge to get it done.  It was Brinks’ 2nd time so she was a lot more relaxed than I was.  I was embarrassed at first, my underarms are not really something I go around showing people and yet there I was, voluntarily exposing it to some stranger who would examine it closely.  It was also awkward (yet  slightly comforting) knowing that Brinks was in the same room, going through the same painful procedure I was.

The waxer (is that what you call them?) did my left side first.  I expected extreme pain, but it was actually pretty tolerable.  It stung a bit after a while, but not as bad as I expected.  I actually enjoyed it a little, it was somewhat relaxing.  When she moved on to my right side, however, it was a completely different experience.  It was like I was put through some mild form of torture (okay, I’m exaggerating a little, but it really did hurt!)  I felt like my skin was being ripped off, instead of my hair T__T  I didn’t want the waxer to think that I was a wuss (though I did warn her that it was my first time), so I tried to resist screaming out in pain and settled for making little “ow” noises instead.

Anyway, I’m proud to say I survived.  My underarms still feel a bit raw right now, but I’m told it’ll be better by tomorrow.  I’m quite pleased with the results too.  I can’t remember the last time my underarms were this smooth.  Brinks tells me that this will last for a few weeks, and that when I get it waxed again it wouldn’t be as painful since the hair should grow back thinner.  Hopefully she’s right.

Thanks kup!

2 Comments

Filed under Beauty, Friends

2 responses to “OUCH!

  1. Grabe tawa ko dito sa blog entry na to hahahaha. Promise the 2nd time around is a lot less painful ;))

Leave a Reply

