Review : Lorys Hair Cream

If you read my blog you would know that I get my hair straightened about once a year.  While it does make my hair smoother and more manageable, the procedure has its downside.  The chemicals cause the ends of my hair to become very dry and brittle.  Because of this, it tends to frizz up if I don’t style it after washing.  And the fact that I dye my hair regularly doesn’t really do anything to improve its condition.

I’ve tried going to the salon for special treatments to try and save my hair, but the effects don’t really last.  It does the job for a while, but after a few weeks my hair goes back to being dry and brittle.  Fortunately, most of the damage is contained in the bottom layers and ends of my hair so I can usually hide them, but I still don’t like the feeling of having unhealthy hair.  I suppose I could visit the salon regularly and get the treatment every few weeks, but unfortunately I’m just a poor student and my allowance doesn’t really give me that option.  Luckily I found Lorys Hair Treatment.

I’m not really good at introducing products so I stole this from their facebook page:

“Lorys Hair Cream is a product that is made in Brazil. It is an internationally recognized brand available in countries such as USA, UK, Venezuela, Puerto Rico, and many more. Just recently Lorys has entered into the Philippines.

Lorys is made from all natural ingredients, which gives your hair a natural glow. It can be used as a conditioner or as a hot oil treatment. It is very simple to use even at the comfort of your own home. Lorys enhances the growth and density of your hair and restores its natural shine and softness.”

Lorys hair cream comes in many varieties (fruit cocktail, snake oil, shea butter, nutri sun gloss and duo chocolate), but I chose the Snake Oil because it’s meant for damaged and chemically treated hair, which is exactly what I have.

I’ve tried my fair share of DIY hair treatments before and I’ve come across some that are really good and some that don’t really do anything for my hair.  Lorys is just one of many that I’ve tried which I liked.  But what makes it really stand out from the others is its price.  It’s incredibly inexpensive!  I bought the 450g jar for only P185.  They also have 1000g jars available for P349.75.  This is so much cheaper compared to my other favorite hair treatment, the L’oreal Total Repair mask (which costs about P250 for the 200mL tub).  I love the L’oreal hair mask as well but I normally just use it just on the ends of my hair (because that’s the part that’s most damaged) so I don’t finish the tub too quickly.  Since Lorys is so much cheaper, I use it when I want to deep condition my entire head.  I normally just apply it to my hair and leave it on for about 30 minutes (I use a shower cap) before rinsing.  Sometimes I use it as a conditioner too.

What I like about it

  • Makes my hair incredibly soft
  • Smells wonderful
  • Can be used as a conditioner or a hair treatment
  • CHEAP!

What I don’t like:

  • Nothing really.  As far as hair treatments go, it’s pretty good.
  • This isn’t really an issue for me, but some people don’t like the fact that this comes in a tub because it can be unsanitary (double dipping).

Will I repurchase?

  • Absolutely!  I still have a lot left but once I finish it I’m definitely buying the 1000g jar

I should probably mention that Lorys hair cream doesn’t actually get rid of the damage on my hair, but it helps minimize it and provides extra nourishment.  There isn’t really anything that can truly revive dead and damaged hair.  The most anyone can do it treat it regularly to avoid further damage until it grows long enough to cut.  I’ve already had a lot of length removed last year (for the same reason – damage brought about by rebonding) so I’m not really too pleased with the idea of chopping off more hair.  I need to cut off about six inches if I want to get rid of the damage completely, which I refuse to do.  I love long hair and I’m actually trying to grow my hair to reach my lower back.  (I achieved this last year but I want to do it again.)  So in the meantime, I’m just trying to keep my hair well conditioned until it reaches a point where I’m comfortable with cutting it.

7 Comments

Filed under Beauty, Hair, Haul, Review

7 responses to “Review : Lorys Hair Cream

  1. This reminds me… my hair needs some TLC. ^_^

  2. Where did you buy it? I wanna try! :)

Leave a Reply

