K-drama Review : Boys Over Flowers

After my “You’re Beautiful” obsession, I searched for more Asian dramas to watch.   I’ve always wanted to try watching Boys Over Flowers because I wanted to see what all the hype was about.  Since I was completely obsessed with “You’re Beautiful” when I started watching BOF (and because I already had an idea of what the story was about, having watched “Meteor Garden”) I didn’t think that I would like it that much, but I actually enjoyed it.

QUICK SUMMARY:

The story begins when Geum Jan Di, a “commoner” working at a porridge shop , is offered a swimming scholarship to Shin Hwa high school, a prestigious academy made exclusively for the children of the elite members of society.  This includes the infamous F4, a group of four boys led by the notorious Goo Jun Pyo.  F4 is well known throughout Korea for their good looks and the power they have over society.  When Jan Di’s friend, Oh Min Ji, gets into trouble with Goo Jun Pyo, Jan Di sticks up for her and ends up declaring war against Jun Pyo.  Completely new to the idea of someone standing up to him, Goo Jun Pyo finds Geum Jan Di’s strong will interesting and soon starts to develop feelings for her.

Cast

  • Koo Hye Sun as Geum Jan Di
  • Lee Min Ho as Goo Jun Pyo
  • Kim Hyun Joong as Yoon Ji Hoo
  • Kim Bum as So Yi Jung
  • Kim Joon as Song Woo Bin

Extended Cast

  • Kim So Eun as Chu Ga Eul (Jan Di’s best friend)
  • Kim Hyun Joo as Goo Joon Hee (Jun Pyo’s elder sister)
  • Lee Hye Young as Kang Hee Soo (Jun Pyo’s mother)
  • Han Chae Young as Min Seo Hyun (F4’s best friend/Ji Hoo’s ex girl friend)
  • Lee Min Jung as Ha Jae Kyung (JK Group’s CEO’s daughter and Jun Pyo’s fiancee)
  • Lee Jung Gil as Yoon Seok Young (Ji Hoo’s grandfather)
  • Jung Ho Bin as Jung Sang Rok (Kang Hee Soo’s Chief Secretary)

(I’m too lazy to write about all the characters, so I’ll just talk about F4 and Jan Di)


Geum Jan Di (Koo Hye Sun)

Honestly, Koo Hye Sun confuses me a bit.  There are times that she looks so plain and unattractive, but every now and then she looks adorable.  She’s not your typical “cutesy” girl.  Or maybe it’s just in this drama, because she’s supposed to be playing the part of a commoner.  I have seen a couple of pictures of her on the internet where I found her pretty.  I guess she’s an acquired taste, she just takes some time getting used to.  (Although my sister liked her instantly because she looks “different”, I don’t know what she meant by that though.)

As for her acting, it was okay.  She did an decent job portraying her character, I feel she could have done better.  She did the angry, resentful face really well though.  Other than that I don’t really have much to say about her.

.

Goo Jun Pyo (Lee Min Ho)

Okay, I have to be honest.  The main reason I started watching this series was because of Lee Min Ho.  Seriously, can you blame me? 😄

Overall, I think he did a fairly good job, especially if you consider the fact that he’s a newcomer.  He played the spoiled, neglected kid well. I really felt that he was just misunderstood and that his violent way of handling things was his way of seeking attention.  I also loved his facial expressions, especially when he’s being stupid and childish.  His unnaturally curly hair and extremely furry wardrobe made me cringe at first, but I got used to it after a while.

I read somewhere that the producers initially wanted Jang Geun Suk (Hyungnim!!) for this role, but he was after the part of Yoon Ji Hoo.  Unfortunately, Kim Hyun Joong (kyaaaaah~) had already been cast so Jang Geun Suk ended up doing Beethoven Virus instead.

.

Yoon Ji Hoo  (Kim Hyun Joong)

The “Hua Ze Lei” of this series.  At first I didn’t understand why Jang Geun Suk wanted this role when he was offered the lead male part, but after watching it, it became clear to me.  Yoon Ji Hoo played a huge part in this series.  I mean, I did watch Meteor Garden so I know that Hua Ze Lei was an important character, but I don’t remember him having that many scenes after the first few episodes.  Yoon Ji Hoo played such a big part in BOF that sometimes I forget he’s just a secondary character in the show.  He was always there to comfort Jan Di during her hard times, until the very end of the drama.  He also had that “dramatic reunion” thing with his grandfather, which showed a different side of him.  Yoon Ji Hoo’s character made my heart melt in so many ways.  Goo Jun Pyo may have been the leader of the group, but F4 would not be the same without Yoon Ji Hoo.

It’s clear that without Ji Hoo, Jan Di’s and Jun Pyo’s relationship probably wouldn’t have grown at all.  He was always the one supporting them, despite the fact that he had feelings for Jan Di himself.  He valued his friendship with Jun Pyo a lot, and he was willing to give up the girl he loved just to see her happy – kinda cliche, but you gotta love him for that.  You can’t really say that he didn’t try to win her heart, he tried to hold on to her in his own way.  He was just smart enough to know that Jan Di’s feelings for Jun Pyo wouldn’t change, and he didn’t want to risk losing either of them.

I may have started watching the series for Lee Min Ho, but I stuck with it for Kim Hyun Joong.  I’m not saying that the show was bad, but there were times when it got a bit too dragging for me.  Also, I’m not usually a fan of stories with this much violence towards the main character, but Yoon Ji Hoo’s kind words and dazzling smile was enough to keep me going.  If I were Jan Di, I would be perfectly happy to just stare at his smiling face.  His heart melting lines  and sweet gestures made me want to reach into my laptop screen and hug him every time Jan Di rejected him.  Seriously Jan Di, what is wrong with you?

Another thing, I loved the clothes he wore in this drama.  It wasn’t as extravagant as the clothes Goo Jun Pyo wore, but that’s what I liked about it.  I loved that he wore white most of the time, it gave him that “clean” and “pure” image.

I’ve read several blogs claiming that Kim Hyun Joong resembles Yamapi.  I didn’t notice it at first, but after someone pointed it out, I felt so stupid for not seeing it!  It was even more obvious after he cut his hair in one of the episodes.  I thought “What the hell is Iwase Ken (Proposal Daisakusen) doing in BOF?”

Kim Hyun Joong vs. Yamapi

Yamapi (playing Iwase Ken) vs Kim Hyun Joong (playing Yoon Ji Hoo) – what do you think? 😄

Ji Hoo’s and Jan Di’s wedding photoshoot totally reminded me of the promotional pictures for Proposal Daisakusen

Being the Yamapi fan that I am, I guess its only natural that I would go crazy over Kim Hyun Joong as well.  But I’ve also found that it’s not just Yamapi that Kim Hyun Joong looks like – there are also times when he resembles Uchi Hiroki, Wu Chun, Akanishi Jin and even Oguri Shun.  I guess it depends on the camera angle.

I gotta say though, I like Kim Hyun Joong better with long hair, which is a first for me.  I normally prefer short hair on guys.  Kim Hyun Joong is the first guy I found who looks better with his hair long.

(Okay, I think went a bit off-track there, sorry 😄  I’m a bit obsessed with Kim Hyun Joong atm.  Back to my review.)

.

So Yi Jung (Kim Bum)

I was pleasantly surpised that his character had a pretty big role too.  I think Kim Bum did a good job playing this character, although I had a hard time really seeing him as the “playboy” type.  I agree that he’s good looking and that he has a killer smile but I find that his face looks too innocent to be a chick magnet.  I must say though, Soo Yi Jung on the potter’s wheel – wow! He was correct when he said that girls find that image irresistable.

I also liked how they built up his little love story with Ga Eul from the start.

They’re so cute together.  Honestly, I think the two of them have better chemistry than Jan Di and Jun Pyo, lol 😄

.

Song Woo Bin (Kim Joon)

I can’t really say much about him.  He was a minor character that was just always in the background.  He occasionally said stuff like “Yo yo yo!” and “Wassup my bro?”, but other than that he didn’t really have any important lines. The only time we saw him shine was that scene by the side of the road when he thinks about his friendship with Soo Yi Jung.  And that time when he scared off those gangsters trying to take advantage of Jan Di in Macau.  Other than that, he was pretty forgettable.

I found that Kim Joon looked like Mr. Big from Sex in the City, lol.  Maybe it’s the eyebrows?

.

Overall, I like the actors they chose for this drama.  I think they all did a decent job portraying their characters.

.

MY THOUGHTS/RATING:

The entire time I watched the series, I kept comparing it to Meteor Garden.  (I haven’t seen Hana Yori Dango so I can’t compare the two, maybe I’ll watch that next).  But its been about 6 or 7 years since I’ve seen Meteor Garden so I’ve actually forgotten most of what happened.  This turned out to be a good thing because Boys Over Flowers ended up seeming “fresh” to me. (My sister tried watching it and didn’t enjoy it so she stopped at episode 5.  She claims that she found it boring since she already knew what would happen.  Although that could be because she just finished watching Hana Yori Dango a few months ago.)

I would rate this series 4.5 out of 5, because although I found it amusing, some parts were boring and a bit unrealistic (and sometimes the characters are a bit stupid).  Like the way Jan Di just kept willingly getting in random cars that stop in front of her without knowing who’s inside and where they’re taking her – not too smart.  And the show makes it appear as though the entire student body lives to take orders from F4 and are not capable of thinking for themselves – this kinda annoyed me.

One thing that confused me a lot was the whole “soulmate versus husband” idea.  There was a scene in the series when Jan Di had her fortune told during a vacation she had with the F4.  The fortune teller told her that her soulmate was nearby, but he wouldn’t become her husband.  Obviously, if you watched the show, Jan Di’s soulmate was Ji Hoo (this was confirmed in the last episode as well), but she still chose Jun Pyo to be her lover.  This irritated me because I found it so stupid.  Why marry someone else when you consider another guy your soulmate?  It somehow feels like cheating to me.  Maybe the Korean translation for “soulmate” has a different meaning, I don’t know.

Anyway, I suppose the main reason I enjoyed the series so much was because of all the eye candy 😄

It took me a while to realize why I found the F4 guys so attractive – they were always wearing suits!  I’ve already mentioned in my “You’re Beautiful” review that I’m a sucker for guys in suits. Some of my favorite characters in suits are

  1. Chiaki Shinichi (Tamaki Hiroshi) in Nodame Cantabile
  2. Iwase Ken (Yamapi) in Operation Love/Proposal Daisakusen
  3. Hwang Tae Kyung (Jang Geun Suk) in You’re Beautiful
  4. Yoshikawa Naoki (Mukai Osamu) in Seigi no Mikata
  5. Oikawa Sosuke (Nishikido Ryo) in Last Friends (he may have been an abusive boyfriend, but you can’t deny that he still looked good in his suit)
  6. Jang Zhi Shu (Joe Cheng) in It Started With A Kiss and They Kiss Again (alright fine, he didn’t wear a suit all the time, but his high school uniform resembled a suit.)

So now I can add Goo Jun Pyo (Lee Min Ho), Yoon Ji Hoon (Kim Hyun Joong) and Soo Yi Jung (Kim Bum) to the list.  (Sorry, I’m not really a fan of Kim Joon.)

Another thing I enjoyed was the soundtrack!  I LOVE the songs they chose for this drama.  I’ve been listening to the soundtrack nonstop since I watched the show.  I’ve also started learning a few pieces on the piano.  My favorite songs are “Because I’m Stupid”, “What Should I Do”, “Lucky”, “Stand By Me” and “Fight the Bad Feeling”.

.

Of course, I have to share some of my favorite scenes with you.

I love ALL of Kim Hyun Joong’s (Ji Hoo’s) scenes.  I don’t really care what he’s doing, as long as he’s in the scene, I already love it 😄  But of course there are a few moments that I found really memorable.

  • The first time Jan Di sees Ji Hoo.  Violin + Kim Hyun Joong + dreamy music = kyaaaaah~
  • Everytime Ji Hoo smiles ❤  The guy has perfect teeth!
  • When he rescued Jan Di from being raped (or whatever it was those guys were planning).
  • The time he let Jan Di borrow his shoes.
  • Ji Hoo’s angry face.  You rarely see it throughout the entire series.  Of course I love his smiling face, but for some reason I also liked seeing him get angry.
  • Jan Di’s and Ji Hoo’s wedding photoshoot (Ji Hoo in a white suit – need a say more?)
  • The time when he took a bite out of the chocolates that Jan Di gave Jun Pyo.
  • When he accidentally walked in on Jan Di in the bathroom.  I love the little note that he stuck to her breakfast tray after that ❤
  • Ji Hoo in a doctor’s coat and glasses!!  Aside from suits, guys who look good in glasses make me squeal~
  • The times when Ji Hoo waited for Jan Di after her swimming training.  The first time (I think) was when he was wearing a beanie – aww!!  And the other time when he bought her some medicine because she was sick.  (Made me miss the Lettuce Couple from We Got Married – JoongBo!!!)
  • Ji Hoo offering to stay another year in school just so Jan Di wouldn’t be lonely – can this guy get any sweeter?
  • Giving Jan Di a haircut – kyaaaaaaaaaah. I found that totally hot (and not gay at all) for some reason.  (Maybe I should let my boyfriend cut my hair one time XD)
  • Carwash scene with Ji Hoo and Jan Di.  So much fun 🙂

I know that Ji Hoo wasn’t the main character in the story, but he was definitely my favorite.  I could go on and make this list a lot longer, but I’ll move on to other scenes that didn’t focus on him.

  • When Jan Di found Jun Pyo’s message on the cable car (during her date with Ji Hoo, lol)
  • Jun Pyo’s and Jan Di’s helicopter ride.  “Can u see it? my heart?” Awwwww~ i just melted!
  • After protecting Jan Di from getting bullied (in which he was actually responsible for in the first place), Jun Pyo hugs her and says sorry.  The way he said it was so sweet, and so full of emotion.
  • Jun Pyo tending Jan Di’s wounds – funny, cute and sweet at the same time, especially when he kissed her on the forehead.
  • The time when Jun Pyo slept over at Jan Di’s house.  He looked so happy 🙂
  • When Jan Di came to apologize to Jun Pyo.  I liked how he wanted her to act all cute and she couldn’t do it.  And the part when Ji Hoo took a bite out of the apple – such a mischevious smile.
  • The times when Jun Pyo visited Ji Hoo at his house and found him standing near the entrance, lol.
  • Jun Pyo and Jan Di’s first kiss ❤  Such a tender moment
  • When Ji Hoo called Jun Pyo out to the movie theater.  I liked this scene because it was (or looked like) the same movie theater where Hwang Tae Kyung and Go Mi Nam had their date in “You’re Beautiful” 😄
  • Macau!  Our family went there last October, so I enjoyed seeing the places we went to appear in the drama.   I laughed at the pick pocket scene because I remembered that our tourguide constantly warned us to be careful with our belongings while we were there. It was also funny to see Jan Di walking around Macau in those killer heels.  It must have been a pain along Leal Senado, because of the cobblestone streets.  (My sister wore boots with wedge heels when we went there and they cobblestones hurt her feet so much she ended up buying new shoes just so she could walk properly.)  I was just thinking that Jan Di must have been wearing comfortable and sturdy shoes when they suddenly broke 😄
  • Hide and seek scene at the Venetian Hotel.  They all looked cute in their masks and the Ji Hoo x Jan Di moment almost made me cry.
  • Jun Pyo fighting with Jae Kyung to buy shoes for Jan Di.  It was nice to see the old immature Jun Pyo again after all those scenes showing him as this heartless workaholic.
  • Jun Pyo as Jan Di’s neighbor.
  • Jun Pyo’s and Ji Hoo’s cooking scene.  I’m not a yaoi fan, but I like scenes like this 😄
  • Jan Di as Jun Pyo’s personal maid. I thought the idea of being your ex-boyfriend’s maid was stupid, but at least it led to some cute scenes – cooking ramen, watching the horror movie and getting him out of bed.
  • Jun Pyo’s and Jan Di’s date at the zoo.  (Jun Pyo getting jealous over that kid – so immature and cute!)
  • Jun Pyo’s and Jan Di’s picnic.  Sweet~

It’s been about 3 weeks since I’ve seen the series so I forgot some of the other scenes I liked.  Obviously the ones I listed were the ones that stuck with me.   This review’s getting pretty long anyway, I should probably wrap it up.

I enjoyed the drama a lot.  Some people (like my sister) say that BOF is overrated and that it’s not worth watching, but I disagree.  I actually found it interesting and fun.  I’ve just recently found out that an afterstory was released which took place after the last episode of the series.  I’m looking forward to watching it 🙂

If you’re interested, you can watch the series on dramacrazy (here)

27 thoughts on “K-drama Review : Boys Over Flowers

  1. Yeah..! Jihoo also got my heart in this drama. Well, actually until now, he still has my heart. Have you watched ‘We got married’ yet? Kim Hyun Joong was absolutely adorable in it.
    BOF is not a very good drama in lieu of story line, or artistic value, but it sure is very entertaining, plus the eyes candy casts.

    • I just finished watching the JoongBo cuts of We Got Married last week 🙂 I’m watching it again now for the 2nd time, hehe. Kim Hyun Joong’s adorable and Hwang Bo’s the perfect wife. It took a while for them to warm up to each other, but once they did you could see they really cared for one another. I wish they could have stayed on the show longer.

  2. i am a fan of BOF though i admit i watched it because of the 4 eye candies & not because of the storyline, but, nevertheless, it is entertaining, it made me escape realty for a while (who wants to watch sad, heavy tearjerkers). the first episodes of BOF,i find Kim Hyun Joong cute but as watched some more episodes, Lee Min Ho has a different aura in him, aside from being tall and very handsome, he is an excellent actor, i recomment you watch his Personal Taste series.

    • Yeah, the eye candies definitely kept me interested in the drama, hehe 🙂
      I’ve seen a few episodes of Personal Taste, and I like it 😀 Just like BOF, I decided to start watching the drama because of Lee Min Ho, lol. I didn’t like Park Gae In at first (I found her annoying) but she eventually grew on me 🙂 I’m only on episode 5 though. My sister and I like to watch it together, and she’s been busy lately so we haven’t gotten the chance to watch the other episodes.

  3. Actually i only manage to watch see randomly BOF when in EP20. My first impression to see was their hair especially Gu Joon Pyo. I said.. waaa.. first time i saw that kind of hair in korean actor.. wakakaka… I found it’s interesting. Then i start search for it and asking my colleague if he ever download that drama?? he had.. i’m so glad.. I watch it from 1st episode.. and i got hooked. You know what?? it’s all the character of Gu Joon Pyo attract me the most. I love his character, his face expression really alive. As for Kim Hyun Joong, he’s acting skill still stiff and i don’t really like the type of character.. too soft for me..:D not the type of challenging character..:) Whatever it is eventhough some part dragging.. yet i indeed love this drama..:)

    • Same here, I was able to see a few parts of some of episodes before I started seriously watching the drama. I have two friends who love BOF and they watch it every time I’m with them, so I got curious and decided to watch it for myself. (I also got my copy of the drama from a colleague XD)
      I really like Goo Jun Pyo too. He was the reason I decided to start watching the show in the first place. But there was just something about Yoon Ji Hoo that attracted me. I’m not sure what, I’m normally not attracted to the soft and pretty boy types (I usually go for the more rebellious characters when I watch a show). But I really loved Ji Hoo for some reason. I agree that his acting could improve a bit. Most of the time he did alright but he’s a bit stiff when it comes to the crying parts. Lucky for him he didn’t have too many scenes where he had to cry, hehe 🙂

  4. Nice review :))

    I watched BOF because I am a fan of Meteor Garden & Hana Yori Dango & whilst (unfortunately??) I found myself enjoying it alot, objectively, I don’t think it was that great series. i would agree w/ some of your friends in saying that it was overrated ^^;;

    thought “What the hell is Iwase Ken (Proposal Daisakusen) doing in BOF?”
    ^haha They do resemble ea other. Non-smiling face, Pi wins (-_-;) Smiling face, Hyun Joong wins ^_^

    but I find that his face looks too innocent to be a chick magnet. lmao. exactly my sentiments!! lucky they managed to find kim so eun to play ga eul, i bet that had a super hard time finding someone prettier to match him lol

    re the soulmates VS husband thing. i did like how they emphasised it here.

    the term soulmates to me means two people having a mutually & naturally deep understanding for ea other. they are born compatible. but i don’t think it always has to pertain to a romantic relationship. you can be soulmates in friendship & simply have undying support for ea other.

    although ji hoo was seen as the perfect companion in alot of our eyes, jan di’s choice in joon pyo goes to show that love isn’t something that can reasoned nor can it be mapped out by facts, logic or some kinda scoring system (ji hoo, smile=100pts. joon pyo, hair=-2,982,632pts lolol) that’s just the way i see it ;P

    • Thank you 😀

      Yeah, the soulmate thing confused me a lot. I just always figured that if I knew who my soulmate was, then that would be the person I’d like to marry. Lust and initial attraction usually fades away after some time. A relationship built on trust and mutual understanding sounds more reasonable to me.

      ji hoo, smile=100pts. joon pyo, hair=-2,982,632pts – So true! LMAO~

    • Yes… I too bit annoyed that Ji Hoo was termed as Soulmate but Jun Pyo is her husband… Always our life partner should be our soulmate… I agree that before Ji hoo proposed, Jun pyo already proposed Jan Di… But always Jun Pyo had forced Jandi to be his girl friend, dating and all the make over etc which obviously will lead any female to develop physical attraction towards that guy… Also when Ji Hoo kissed (it’s a mere peck) Jandi in their trip, Jun Pyo had accused her saying she has cheated him… Common!! she hadn’t said yes to you and still she feels for Ji Hoo and have some attraction towards Jun Pyo…. Poor Ji Hoo….

      Also when Ji Hoo and Jandi in their date, in his house, Ji Hoo will say to Jan Di that she helped him to get over his first love (His first love has gone already). Then Jandi will say that she is leaving her first love Ji Hoo…. Again common Jandi…. You have your first love sitting next to you saying that he loves you and kisses you and you will think about the person you got attracted to? I didnt liked the story there after…. I always cherish and love my first love (if first love breaks then we can hope about the next one)…. I wanted to ask all these questions to the writer of the story…. I hoped till last that Ji Hoo’s true love will always win.. No matter what happens, true love will never fail. But the story writer had wrongly passed the message that true love hurts always 😦

      Everytime Goo Jun Pyo avoids Jandi since his mother is against his wish…. In all those tough times its only Ji Hoo was there to console… When Jun Pyo in the Macau airport getting jealous, Ji Hoo will tell that he relinquished Jandi because he considers Jun Pyo as his true friend and trustworthy for Jandi… But Jun Pyo has ruined that trust… Again, each and every time whenver Jun Pyo neglects Jandi, all the people will try to make Jandi again connect to Jun Pyo… He will come and romances with Jandi and will leave the next moment hurting her. I think Jun Pyo is not a man with strong will to be capable enough to hold on to Jandi till the end. Ji Hoo is the best match and worthy enough for Jandi, Soulmate and as a lovely husband.

  5. To those who keep on complaining that KHJ sucks as YJH.. shut up~

    Anyway, I’ve read the manga and watched Meteor Garden & Hana Yori Dango.. and although I was head over heels in love with Vic as Hua Ze Lei, Hyun Joong made sure I focus on Ji Hoo and Ji Hoo alone LOL. He’s like a magnet, other characters blur every time he enters my screen that I always have to rewind those scenes a few times to catch the story.

    That said.. on the ‘Rui’ (manga name) character, I find Ji Hoo to be the most cunning and manipulative of the lot (vs. Taiwan, Japanese versions). Maybe it’s the requirement of the script.. I dunno. Remember the time when he uses Jan Di to win the car race? Rui would never have done that.

    On Jan Di choosing Jun Pyo over Ji Hoo.. I have a simple answer.. coz if she chooses Ji Hoo, she’d loose Jun Pyo.. but if she chooses Jun Pyo, she gets both.. 2 for the price of 1. Ji Hoo will always be hers, no matter whom she marries. Some women are instinctive like that, I guess.

    Neeway, love your review. Ji Hoo is my fave character in BOF too..

    • Thank you for commenting 🙂

      Ji Hoo!!~ I became such a big KHJ fan after this drama. You explained it perfectly – about the rest of the screen becoming a blur every time he appears, hehehe. His sweetness and adorable smile won me over 🙂 I really liked seeing his cunning side too. I enjoyed seeing him play around with Jun Pyo every once in a while. Like when he bit into the apple and the cookies from Jan Di, hehehe 😄

      LOL, I like your theory on why Jan Di chose Jun Pyo over Ji Hoo. It’s probably true too, hahaha. Jan Di’s a smart girl 😄

  6. Nice review of BOF. I just finished watching it. The scenes you like, I like as well. Is it true about the afterstory? Please tell us when you find out more.

  7. Honestly meteor garden is better than BOF in my opinion.. Here in d phil meteor grden is d vry 1st asian drama that is phenomenal. If not why japan and korean bother to have their own version? Because meteor grden is smashing succes and d characters become instant superstars.. I like jerry jan’s acting than lee min ho. He is better than him. Hve u noticed they have similarities? D other 2 korean actor, forgettble unlike ken zhu and vaness wu. The reason that i continue to watch bof is kim hyun joong. He’s version of hua ze lei is way more lovable cmpare to the taiwanese version. With kim hyun jung in BOF, definitely worth watching. Never did like much the female lead, no chemistry with lee min ho. She lacks charm compare with other female lead. As i watch until ep 12 i never learn to adore and love her. Barbie xu is more charming and lovable. Dont hate me for saying these i love korean drama. BOF did not really get to me. Its ok. Take note meteor garden was like 8 yrs ago! Of course japanese nd korean version did a lot of effort to surpass MT, but original is better.. Peace..;-) God bless.

    • Thanks for sharing your thoughts 😀
      I’m from the Philippines too actually, so I was part of the Meteor Garden craze back then. I used to record the Tagalog-dubbed version so I could watch them again and again (on VHS pa, since it was so long ago, LOL). There’s no denying that MG was a hit and it opened the doors for many more asianovelas here in the Philippines.
      I do see a lot of similarities between Jerry Yan and Lee Min Ho. I like them both, and Lee Min Ho was actually the main reason why I decided to start watching BOF in the first place. But, like you, Kim Hyun Joong was why I continued to watch it. I agree that Ji Hoo sunbae is much more loveable compared to Hua Ze Lei, but I do like them both. And yeah, I wasn’t too fond of Geum Jan Di either. I don’t hate her or anything, I just never really connected with her I suppose. But I did like Kim Bum’s character more compared to Ken Zhu’s. I feel that he has more depth compared to Ken’s character in MG.
      I do compare BOF with MG a lot, but I can’t really give a direct answer if someone asks me which is better. True, there are some aspects of MG that I liked more, but BOF has its own charm too 🙂

  8. Pingback: 49 Days (AKA Pure Love) Review | What I have shown you is reality …

  9. Seriously nomatter the other negative aspects about BOF that series is sizzling hot and i can watch it a hundred times and still enjoy it like the first time and people lets face it Lee min ho is Hot to the core and has put BOF on top! keep shining Mr Cute boy

  10. loved Lee Min Ho as Gu Jun Pyo! Only reason reason i watched BOF lol He does suit the curly locks (not the straight hair) just makes him extra spunky! They could have styled his hair a bit better (after the 4yrs living in America though) when he was being interviewed on TV..Notice Ji Hoo & So Yi Jung getting new hairdos in the series the least they could do for Jun Pyo was give him a ‘new’ look with the hair (especially after 4years)

  11. I enjoyed the drama,
    and lol the first main reason for me watching
    was Lee Min Ho then it turned to Kim Hyun Joong. =)
    While watching, the entire drama
    I felt very bad for Ji Hoo; I mean the guy had been there
    for Jandi the entire series, and gave up so much for her happiness. I
    would have chosen him instead of Gu Jun Pyo,
    it was very obvious that Ji Hoo was her soulmate.
    and honestly while watching the episode when
    it revealed that he was her soulmate and she chosen Gu Jun Pyo instead, I
    was like What the h*ll, I got confuse on the Soulmate vs Husband part too 😄 lol
    =)

  12. Pingback: K-drama Review : You Who Came From The Stars | What I have shown you is reality ...

  13. Just finished the series a few days ago, suffering from major withdrawal symptoms. For me one of the strong things about this show is its execution of the triangle love- even after the end there is still confusion among the viewers about who Jandi should end up with-exactly the way a triangle should be. Whoever she chooses, we feel bad for the other, so clever storytelling I would say. When I read the manga I had no problems with Tsukushi choosing Tsukasa over Rui, but here the characterization of JI hoo has changed everything. If I was in Jandi’s place I would have chosen Ji hoo, because that’s how a functional relationship should be, but then again I think Gu jun Pyo is awesome too, specially when he is jealous. :P. My favorite scene was when Gu Jun Pyo gets out of the car from the clutches of his mother and kisses Jandi in the traffic, and also the scene where Ji hoo reads from a book and indirectly tells Jandi that he loves her. I loved your review, it reflects my thoughts on this korean drama exactly 🙂

  14. OMG I totally agree with you with the first time Jan Di and Ji Hoo meet and he was playing the violin, that scene is still in my heart and forever will be, his pose, his long red hair, his white costume, sad face and the violin, OMG he’s so hot. I was team Ji Hoo from the beginning to the end, Ji Hoo and Jan Di would have been a cuter couple and after all he did to her the whole time, he deserves to be with her. I watched his beautiful face in all 25 episodes.

  15. Yes… I too bit annoyed that Ji Hoo was termed as Soulmate but Jun Pyo is her husband… Always our life partner should be our soulmate… I agree that before Ji hoo proposed, Jun pyo already proposed Jan Di… But always Jun Pyo had forced Jandi to be his girl friend, dating and all the make over etc which obviously will lead any female to develop physical attraction towards that guy… Also when Ji Hoo kissed (it’s a mere peck) Jandi in their trip, Jun Pyo had accused her saying she has cheated him… Common!! she hadn’t said yes to you and still she feels for Ji Hoo and have some attraction towards Jun Pyo…. Poor Ji Hoo….

    My heart broke every time he misses about Jan Di…. The look (he will try to control his sadness) when he sees the love and effort Jan Di has put to make the biscuits!! I literally cried in that scene…. He will ask to Jan Di that why she asked him to go after his first love (I forgot her name). His actual thinking is because of her only he chased that woman who didnt love him… Now he was there with her… She is also right next to him… And he leaves from there wishing good night… I feel really bad for him….. 😦 In special episode also he is left all alone feeling miserable…. I really hate this story also the writer… I somewhere read that viewers are happy that this story has happy ending!! I really dont know where is the happiness in the last episode… This is the most painful heart breaking story I ever watched in my life.

    Also when Ji Hoo and Jandi in their date, in his house, Ji Hoo will say to Jan Di that she helped him to get over his first love (His first love has gone already). Then Jandi will say that she is leaving her first love Ji Hoo…. Again common Jandi…. You have your first love sitting next to you saying that he loves you and kisses you and you will think about the person you got attracted to? I didnt liked the story there after…. I always cherish and love my first love (if first love breaks then we can hope about the next one)…. I wanted to ask all these questions to the writer of the story…. I hoped till last that Ji Hoo’s true love will always win.. No matter what happens, true love will never fail. But the story writer had wrongly passed the message that true love hurts always 😦

    Everytime Goo Jun Pyo avoids Jandi since his mother is against his wish…. In all those tough times its only Ji Hoo was there to console… When Jun Pyo in the Macau airport getting jealous, Ji Hoo will tell that he relinquished Jandi because he considers Jun Pyo as his true friend and trustworthy for Jandi… But Jun Pyo has ruined that trust… Again, each and every time whenver Jun Pyo neglects Jandi, all the people will try to make Jandi again connect to Jun Pyo… He will come and romances with Jandi and will leave the next moment hurting her. I think Jun Pyo is not a man with strong will to be capable enough to hold on to Jandi till the end. Ji Hoo is the best match and worthy enough for Jandi, Soulmate and as a lovely husband.

Leave a Reply

