Meet the newest member of our family

This little guy has been with us for about two weeks now:

Isn’t he adorable?

I wish I could say that there’s a happy story behind how we got him.  It’s really not something I wish to remember, so let’s just say he came at a heavy price.

Anyway, the important thing is he’s with us now, and we love him.  It’s been a while since we had a White Shepherd, and a male one at that!  We currently have three regular German Shepherds, all of them female.  We had a male shepherd but he was poisoned over Christmas break while we were away on vacation.   My dad has been looking for a white shepherd for a while now, so we’re really happy he found this cute little guy.

We named our new baby “Squall”, from my all-time favorite game, Final Fantasy 8.  I wanted to name him Noctis (from FF13) but my mom didn’t like it.  She wanted to call him “Tidus” (from FF10)  but we already had a white shepherd named Tidus in the past and I don’t really like the idea of recycling names.  Eventually Ezra suggested “Squall”, and my mom agreed.  It may surprise you, but I wasn’t all that thrilled with the name.  Squall may be my favorite (male) character from the entire Final Fantasy series, but I’m not that fond of his name.  But, I suppose it’s better than the other name my mom suggested – Wolfy.  How original.

Squall relaxing in our garden.  He has droopy eyes

He likes grass

I love this shot.  He’s so AZN, hahaha

Awww

He seems to love the camera

He’s still pretty scrawny, but we’re hoping he’ll gain some weight soon.  He’s already twice as heavy compared to when we first got him, so that’s a good sign.

It’s funny how our nanny has a hard time pronouncing Squall’s name.  She usually calls him “Is-kwal”, “Skal” or “Kwal”.  We heard her call him “Koala” once too, LOL.

7 thoughts on “Meet the newest member of our family

  1. He is very cute – I’m sure your new addition will bring many happy memories to have made the purchase worth while. 🙂 I love his wonky ears… I have thing for wonky doggin ears.

  2. Pingback: Looking back on 2010 « What I have shown you is reality …

Leave a Reply

