Ukay Ukay : What can you get for 700 pesos in Baguio?

I just came back from a week-long fieldwork which ended in Baguio. On the last day of the trip, my adviser had some business to attend to so he allowed Amie, Beulah and me to go shopping and sight seeing. I’ve been to Baguio a few times before but I’ve never had the chance to go ukay shopping there before, mainly because I didn’t know where to go. Luckily, Amie has a churchmate who grew up in Baguio and he agreed to show us around. He took us to some really nice places that we probably would have never found on our own. Thanks Nathan!

It was Beulah’s first time in Baguio so we went sight seeing first (blog entry to follow). But of course we’re girls and we were also very interested in shopping so we asked Nathan to take us to good ukay places.

I don’t really know what the place we went to was called, but I think it was the hilltop market. I was surprised to see clothes being sold for as low as P5! Seriously~ I couldn’t believe it so I even took a picture of one of the signs, LOL:

Amie and Beulah found some nice things. I was able to get a shirt there for P30. It was a bit hard to dig through all the clothes though, mainly because it was really crowded:

Check out that crowd! Ukay shopping is not for the faint hearted

 

After a while, we found a large ukay stall and we decided to go in. The stuff being sold there were a bit more expensive than the ones outside, but it was much easier to find things we liked because it was more organized and less crowded.  We spent quite a bit of time in there browsing through racks of clothing and picking out stuff we liked.  I had to control myself because there was so much stuff I wanted. But looking back, I wish I bought more since everything was so cheap. In the end, I left with 8 pieces of clothing, all for P540.

Ukay haul: denim skirt (P99), 5 blouses (P75 each), shirt (P30) and a dress for Ezra (P99).  (The total was more than P540 but the shop gave us a discount.)

I was also able to find a pair of white high top leather shoes (I don’t know if they’re considered boots or sneakers) being sold for P160 at the night market:

I didn’t really plan on buying shoes since I pretty much wear the same pair of sneakers every day, but I just couldn’t pass these up. I’ve been looking for white Doc Martens for a while now, and these look pretty similar. And they’re my size too!! I have really small feet so I have a hard time finding shoes my size even in shopping malls. Who would have guessed that I’d be able to find shoes I liked which actually fits me in Baguio’s night market. Of course these are pre-owned so they’re a bit scuffed, but their overall condition is pretty good. I’ve worn shoes that looked worse (I still do).

Shopping at the night market – be careful of pickpockets!

 

Hi Beulah!  (Amie’s on the ground digging through a pile of bags)

I bought a few other stuff, but they’re mostly pasalubong for my parents, Ezra and Ckloy. I realized that my recent purchases couldn’t possibly fit in my bag, so I bought this for P75:

I don’t know what you call it. It’s bag made of some taurpalin material. I usually see market vendors keeping their stuff in something like this. Anyway, it did the job, but it ripped as soon as I got home XD

Overall, I’m quite happy with my purchases. They’re all in the wash right now and I can’t wait to wear them 🙂

7 thoughts on “Ukay Ukay : What can you get for 700 pesos in Baguio?

  1. Pingback: Pictures from Baguio « What I have shown you is reality …

Leave a Reply

