Week 6/52 : Close your eyes and surrender to your darkest dreams

For TOTW : “Monsters”

Yes, those are my hands. It would have been easier if my sister was around to help me, but she has a class until late this afternoon, so I had to do it myself.

Surprisingly, this took  just a little over an hour to do (which included shooting the picture itself and editing it). I expected it would take me at least two hours.

Wanna see how I did this?

The original picture looked like this:

Yes, those are the snowflakes that my sister used for her 52nd picture for 2009.  I’m lazy so I never take down anything that I stick to my wall/cabinet door.  Sometimes I end up using them again XD

For the monster hands, I tried grabbing onto myself while standing in the same pose as the picture above, but it looked weird.  The angle of the hands were all wrong, so I had to come up with something else.  This is what I ended up doing:

RAWR~

Monster hands!!  This will probably freak Brinks out.  She’s always been scared of my hands for some reason.  (Those wings, hearts and music notes have been stuck there for almost a year now.  The clouds have been there for over a year, hihi)

Of course I took more than those two shots of me grabbing the shirt, but these were the two I used in the final image.

As for the hair, it was hard to grab on to my own head so I had to use something else.  Luckily I have a wig that’s a close match to my hair color.   (I bought it back when I had black hair.  I wanted to see how I would look with brown hair without having to actually dye it.)

Yes, I know it looks creepy.  It’s like I’m holding onto someone’s head.

My right hand holds on to the wig and remote control while my left hand makes the scary monster hand.

I had to hold the wig away from my body to avoid casting a shadow over it.

Afterwards, I took the pieces I wanted from each picture and placed them over the original shot.

So messy!!  (I accidentally painted my forehead white during masking.)

Cleaning up the background took the longest time during processing (around 40 minutes).  Using a tablet made it a thousand times easier.  I can’t imagine having to do this with a mouse.  It’s definitely possible, but it’ll probably take me a couple of hours.

Adjusting the tones and adding the textures and shadows took a little less than 10 minutes.

I love photomanipulations ^___^

Leave a Reply

