Happy birthday Nobuo Uematsu!

Nobuo Uematsu (植松 伸夫 Uematsu Nobuo?, born March 21, 1959) is a Japanese video game composer, best known for scoring the majority of titles in the Final Fantasy series. He is regarded as one of the most famous and respected composers in the video game community.[1][2] Uematsu, a self-taught musician, began playing the piano at the age of eleven or twelve, with Elton John as his biggest influence.

-Wikipedia

 

Just wanted to greet the master behind the wonderful music of Final Fantasy a (belated) happy birthday 😀

People who know me (or knew me) are probably aware of my longtime obsession with the Final Fantasy series, especially FF8.  I was introduced to the game by my friend Erica, and I instantly fell in love with it.  (She also introduced FF7 to me, which I enjoyed, but not as much as FF8.)

Anyway, one of the reasons I loved the game so much was because of the awesome soundtrack.  I could listen to it all day long.  Back in high school, I remember saving up for the original FF8 soundtrack.  I cut down on snacks and stopped myself from buying clothes just so I could get my hands on it.   I also used to visit nobuouematsu.com a lot to download sheet music, so I could play his pieces on the piano.   It’s been about 10 years since I played the game, but I still listen to the soundtrack every now and then, especially when I’m feeling down.  There’s just something magical about Nobuo Uematsu’s music that never fails to cheer me up.

Happy birthday Nobuo Uematsu!  Thank you for everything!

 

Leave a Reply

