Crazy Little Thing Called Love (aka First Love) Review

I don’t normally watch Thai movies (not because I don’t like them but because most Thai movies I know are horror movies and I’m too chicken to watch them) but a friend on Plurk showed me this trailer about a month ago, and I knew I had to get my hands on the movie to see it:

 

It’s your typical highschool feel-good love story.  It’s about a freshman named Nam who falls for a sophomore named Shone.  As if it’s not enough that she chose to like someone older than her (that’s such a big thing in high school for some reason), Shone happens to be the typical jock/campus hearthrob that every girl wants.  She ends up doing a lot of crazy things to try to get him to notice her.

 

The main character, Nam, is played by Baifern Pimchanok.  She’s so pretty (she looks a bit like Kim Chiu in some angles), but they intentionally made her look ugly in the beginning of the movie.  They gave her a dark, uneven complexion, a terrible haircut, glasses and braces.  (Writing that description of her made me realize that those same words could be used to describe my highschool/middle school self, LOL.)

 

Shone’s character is played by Mario Maurer.   Just from the way he looks in this picture you probably know why he was chosen to play the campus hearthrob.  I love how the producers didn’t make him into one of those broody, mysterious guys that girls usually chase after.  He’s cheerful, kind and approachable.  Mario’s a bit too young for me to fangirl over, but you can’t deny that he’s cute.

Anyway, the two of them look really cute together :)

 

 

The other characters in the movie played their parts really well too.  I loved Nam’s homeroom teacher.  All she had to do was appear on screen and I would start laughing like crazy, she’s hilarious!  And Nam’s friends are awesome.  They’re extremely supportive and remind me of my own beloved group of friends (not in terms of appearance of course XD).

(I did find it a bit unfair, however, that Nam turned out gorgeous by the end of the movie but her friends looked the same.  Friends normally share beauty secrets with each other, right?)

The plot is very simple, common and predictable.  It’s probably every girl’s dream to change from an ugly duckling into a beautiful swan and discover that the guy you’ve been crushing on feels the same way about you, even before your transformation.  Now don’t get me wrong, I loved the movie.  The plot might be a bit overused, but the movie’s still definitely worth watching.  The producers and director did a great job on making it enjoyable.   There was great balance between the comedic and emotional scenes.   I laughed like crazy watching it, and even cried during a few parts.  Girls  would probably appreciate the movie more, but I know a couple of guys who have seen it and ended up liking it.  I watched it with my boyfriend and he seemed to like it as much – if not more – than I did.  I had to pause the movie a few times because he was laughing too hard at some scenes.  (And he kept asking me if I did all the crazy stuff Nam did back in highschool XD)

I can relate to the story very well.  Just like most girls, I’ve been through a fair share of crushes and have done a few stupid things to try to get a guy’s attention.   I know that rush of excitement you get when you see the person you like, even from afar.  I know what it’s like to zone out during random times of the day because your mind is too occupied by that one person.   And like most girls, I know that feeling of frustration you get when you know you’re doing everything you can think of, and yet he still fails to acknowledge your existence.   The trailer tells us that this movie is “based on the true story of everyone” and I couldn’t agree more.

I would rate this move 4.8 out of 5 stars. I deducted 0.2 because I think the ending could have been just a bit better, but I still think it’s a nice movie.  I definitely recommend that you watch this with your girl friends :)

36 Comments

Filed under Fangirl Madness, Review

36 responses to “Crazy Little Thing Called Love (aka First Love) Review

  1. AlyssaMihara

    Where did you watch the movie? My friend gave me the link of the trailer, but I don’t know where to watch it >.<

  2. AlyssaMihara

    thank you! I was able to see the whole movie in Youtube, but I want my friends to watch it too, so I guess I’ll download it :D

  3. Julia M

    Hmm, could you kindly suggest another movie like this? Which is Thai too. Cause I really enjoyed watching this, it made me cry :’C Some ‘intended-to-be’ movies can’t make me cry!!! LOVE IT

    • Hi! Thanks for reading my review :)
      Unfortunately I don’t really have any other Thai movies to recommend. Most Thai movies I’ve seen are horror films. I don’t really watch Thai movies, I just came across this thanks to an online friend. She showed me the trailer and I loved it so I ended up watching it.
      I’m glad you enjoyed this movie though~

  4. loveofsiam

    Try watching Love of Siam. The leading guy there is also the guy here. Just be warned that it is not your typical teen romantic movie. But it’s definitely good!

  5. Hello Stranger is another funny Thai film. Here’s the trailer:

  6. OMG, THANK YOU for introducing me to Mario Maurer (!!!!!) He’s a little young for me too but yeah the darling little thing is definitely very easy on the eyes… I guess we can look but just not touch, lol.

    The way they transformed the main actress into “The Ugly Duckling” is such a stretch! You can barely even tell they are the same person. The braces situation kinda looks like my hideous passport photo, lol. I agree with you that it would’ve been nice if her friends could’ve gotten their makeovers in the end, too. Or better still, had Shone just gotten with Nam WITHOUT her transformation.

    I definitely need to go out looking for this movie- watching the trailer already makes me feel so good. Soundtrack sounds awesome. I’ve only ever watched 2 Thai movies in my life & they were horror ones but I’m thinking I need to venture out, es after watching this trailer. Crushes are so silly but so much fun xDDDD Regardless of what age we are, that feeling will always be exciting.

    • “Look but just not touch” – LOL~ True XD
      I was really impressed with Nam’s transformation. When I first watched the trailer I didn’t expect her to turn out to be that beautiful in the end. They did a really good job of making her “ugly”. It must have been hard since she’s naturally so beautiful.
      Yeah, the soundtrack of the movie is pretty good too. It set the mood nicely.
      You should definitely try to watch this. It’s very light and the story’s quite simple, but I enjoyed it a lot :)

  7. trisha

    gnda!!!!!!!! mo nam super

  8. LABX U TLGA NAM CUTE CUTE MO SUPER LAAT NG MAGAGAWA MONG TELEVISION SHOW PAPANOORIN KO LAHAT YAN KSI GANYANH KTAH KA IDOL

    LABX U NAM :D <3……..

    BY: BhAbY gHeN .o5

    :DD

  9. Pingback: Crazy Little Thing Called Love (aka First Love) Review (via What I have shown you is reality …) « Mario Maurer

  10. ANNE

    I really love this movie, nam was so cute… it shows that everybody can be successful and beautiful like her, even what others called, ugly duckling.

  11. ana

    i love shone, he is so cute…^_~

  12. very nice story
    i lab it xoo much

  13. Any other sites where I can download the movie for free? Thanks! :)

    • My sister downloaded it from Avistaz, so I’m pretty sure you can get it there. You can try torrenting it too I suppose. You can get the torrent file from sites like isohunt.com :)

  14. hello i really love nam because she is so beautiful

  15. aileen

    mario maurer is so cute

  16. melai

    ganda ni nam supah ..
    hmp . i really love the
    movie , CRAZY LiTTLE
    THiMG CALLED LOVE ‘

  17. im so exciting what is end of this thai movie

  18. GN

    why the thai movie is so wonderful than korean movie ?????

  19. fatima ricafort

    ang ganda tlg ni nam at ang gawpo ni shone,bagay cla

  20. fatima ricafort

    i like crazy little thing called love movie,sana may part 2

  21. fatima ricafort

    di naka2sawang ulit-ulitin pano2rin,fan q tlg c nam she is so pretty

  22. CrazY lIttLE thIng called love
    nice movie
    i watched it over and over again!!

  23. Kambo kavy yepz

    A Little Thing Called Love was an awesome Thai movies i really love it.

  24. AnAuj

    I fell in love with the movie! It was something could totally relate to. Especially when Nam goes the extra mile to go to the bathroom just to see Shone. lol i remember i had this huge crush on a senior who ran track with me. I would run to the water fountain that was on the other side of the track just to see him. I would be happy if i would see him in the track field, and everytime we were in the same events. Sadly it didnt work out, It was bad timing. but im sooo happy there will be a sequal!! :))

    • I didn’t know that there would be a sequel. That’s something I’ll definitely look forward to :)
      Yeah, I know what you mean about making the extra effort just to see your crush. I’ve definitely had plenty of moments like those in the past too XD

Leave a Reply

