A late Christmas present : Braun Silk-Epil Soft Perfection Epilator

Finally it arrived!  Ezra’s Christmas present for me.  I’ve been waiting for it for months~

I’ve been looking for an epilator for a while now, but unfortunately it doesn’t seem to be that popular here in the Philippines.  There are only a few places where you can get them, and they can be a bit pricey.  When I told my friend Kat back in December about epilators and how I wanted one, she got really excited and emailed her brother in Pennsylvania to order two and include it in their next balikbayan box.   Ezra agreed to pay for it since she couldn’t think of a Christmas present for me.  And now, after about 3 months, it’s finally here!  (Thanks Ezra, Kat and Kat’s kuya XD)

For those who aren’t familiar with epilators, they’re basically an electronic tweezer.  Except instead of pulling the hair out one at a time, an epilator can grab onto multiple hairs and pull them out at the same time.  A bit similar to waxing.

Yes, it sounds painful, and it sorta is I suppose.  But once you get used to it, it’s actually not that big a deal.  Some even find the pain quite enjoyable.  Ezra described it as a numbing yet soothing kind of pain.  (The first time she tried it, however, she was literally screaming in pain as each hair was pulled out.  But you get used to it after a while.)  It helps if you’ve experienced waxing or plucking before.

The model Kat and I got was the Braun Silk-Epil Soft Perfection.   I was hoping to get the one in pink since green isn’t really my thing.  But then again, it does the job so I shouldn’t complain.

It comes with a removable massaging attachment that’s supposed to help reduce (or numb) the pain.  I like using it for when I remove the hair on my underarms, but it tickles when I use it on my legs so I take it out.  The metal things you see are the rotating tweezer heads. The machine sounds (and looks) scary when you turn it on at first but I got used to it.  The first time I turned it on, I stared at the rotating heads for a while before finally getting the courage to use it XD

The epilator also comes with a power cord and a cleaning brush.   The manual tells me to dip the brush in rubbing alcohol and use it to remove the hair stuck on the epilator after each use.   You can also remove the epilator head (the white part where the tweezers are) if you want to really clean it.  For hygiene purposes, epilators are not meant to be shared with other people, but I don’t really mind sharing with my sister as long as she makes sure to clean it after she uses it.

Finally, I can say goodbye to shaving.  I really hate how it irritates my skin.  Plus it’s messy and I hate how quickly the hair grows back.  Waxing is a bit better, but it takes too much time to do and can be a bit expensive.  I’ve also tried depilatory creams, but I’m not a big fan of them either (too messy and they smell terrible!)  Epilating is so much better!  The only thing I don’t like about it is the ingrown hairs (which I sometimes get when I shave or wax as well).   I’ve only had my epilator for a few days but I can already tell you that I love it 🙂

3 thoughts on “A late Christmas present : Braun Silk-Epil Soft Perfection Epilator

Leave a Reply

