Millionaire’s First Love mini review + Secret Garden Parody by Big Bang

It’s been a week but I still haven’t gotten over my Secret Garden/Hyun Bin obsession.

The other day I watched A Millionaire’s First Love for my daily dose of Hyun Bin.  I know that it’s a pretty old movie, but I never had the chance (or reason) to see it until recently.   Honestly, I didn’t like it that much.  The plot is pretty common for an Asian movie – a rich arrogant guy is placed in a situation he doesn’t like, guy eventually ends up adapting thanks to some girl, guy falls in love with girl, guy finds out that girl has an incurable disease, guy tries to make girl happy before she dies, girl dies, cry cry cry – but I still watched the entire movie from start to finish, just for Hyun Bin.   I’ve seen many other Asian movies with the same storyline, and I found that most of them were better than this one.  Surprisingly I didn’t cry over this movie.  I mean usually I cry over every sad thing that happens in movies and dramas, and this movie was definitely sad, but it didn’t have the same effect on me for some reason.  Maybe I just wasn’t in the mood to cry that day, or maybe I just wasn’t feeling the movie.  But I did like the pills scene, and that little twist at the end.  If I had to rate it, I’d give it a 2.5/5 (but I’d give Hyun Bin a 5/5 – just for being himself, LOL.)

Anyway, aside from Hyun Bin, I find myself constantly searching for Secret Garden related stuff on youtube.  The other day I came across this Secret Garden parody by Big Bang, and found it hilarious so I decided to share it here on my blog:

Part One:

Part Two:

I was impressed by the amount of effort they put into making this.  I know that it’s pretty common for Korean idol groups to make parodies of famous shows, but this is probably the best I’ve seen so far.  I love that they used the actual locations, wardrobe and soundtrack from the show.  And how they changed the character names to match their own (G. Ra Im, Kim Joo Top, Seungska, etc).  The acting was pretty decent as well, especially for a simple parody.  Seungri did a great job playing Oska, and Dae Sung as Joo Won’s mom was hilarious.  I wasn’t really much of a Big Bang fan before seeing this, but I think I’m going to start watching out for them now 🙂

3 thoughts on “Millionaire’s First Love mini review + Secret Garden Parody by Big Bang

  1. I’m Daria, from Poland ~~ XD

    Haha, this parody is awesome 🙂 I love it ^^
    but I liked Big Bang before watching it 🙂

    Your blog is really interesting. I have read your posts for long time 🙂

  2. Secret BIGBANG is the best parody i have watched so far. TOP & GD acted superbly. Daesung’s smell just keep on lingering in my mind. I really loved it. So keep up ur good work. BB Fighting!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

