(Belated) Happy Independence Day Philippines!

I know, Independence Day was 2 days ago – but better late than never right?  (I didn’t have internet access that day – that’s my excuse XD)

We didn’t really do anything special on this day.  My family stayed home and I went to Trinoma to try to return my new headset.  I bought it about 2 weeks ago and the stupid thing stopped working already.  Unfortunately the SA told me that they can’t replace it because it’s been more than a week since I bought it so I have no choice but to get it repaired.  This isn’t my first bad experience with a Phillips headset, so it’ll probably be the last time I buy their product, grrr.

Anyway, I found it weird that the guards at Landmark (the ones that inspect your bags when you come in) were wearing some sort of kimono-type thing.  I mean, it’s a Filipino holiday, so why were they wearing a Japanese costume?   Also, all the cashiers were wearing some sort of colorful plastic flower wreaths on their heads.  I’m not sure if it was in honor of the holiday, but it looked more Hawaiian than Filipino.  And then, as I was leaving I noticed some kind of parade going on inside the mall.  Again, I thought it was going to be some sort of Independence Day celebration until I noticed that it was being led by a guy in a kilt playing the bagpipes.  Whut?  I have no idea what the parade was for, but I’m pretty sure it wasn’t for the holiday.

I didn’t really stay long at the mall.  The only reason I dropped by was to try to get the Phillips dude to replace my headset, which didn’t happen.  I was so annoyed that I ended up buying some makeup to cheer myself up (excuses? XD).  Anyway, I planned on taking a jeep back to UPD but when I got to the terminal there weren’t any UP jeepneys (probably because it was Sunday), so I decided to just take the train.  I guess I was lucky because when I got to the station, I found out that the MRT was giving free rides from 5 to 7pm in honor of the holiday!  Pretty cool, huh?  I had to get off at Cubao station to transfer lines so I prayed that the LRT2 would be offering free rides too, and it was 😀   It’s silly but those free rides cheered me up more than I expected XD  I spent the rest of the day in my apartment watching old episodes of Family Outing while waiting for Amie to arrive from Marikina.

This entry is pretty pointless. I should actually be resting since I’m sick (I’ve been surrounded by sick people for the past week, I’m actually surprised it took this long for me to catch something – my immune system’s usually much weaker XD), but I missed blogging so I thought I’d post a quick entry before taking a nap.

I didn’t take any pictures last Sunday, and I don’t like posting entries without pictures so here’s an old shot of Ezra, my mom and me from 1998 (told you it was old):

(Ezra’s probably going to kill me for posting this picture, she thinks she looks “dorky” here.  But c’mon, I obviously look worse, right?  I look like an idiot hanging from the window.  Believe it or not, this was actually one of the good pictures we had, the others were much worse.)

This shot was taken during the Philippine Centennial celebration.  We lived in Myanmar back then, and the Filipino community there was pretty active.   They had an organization called KASAMA which stood for “Kapatiran sa Myanmar” and my parents were actually officers.  Every year they would plan a party to celebrate Independence Day.  Of course, the party where this shot was taken was one of the grandest ones since it was the centennial celebration.  Hard to believe that 13 years had passed by since then~

(Belated) happy independence day Philippines 😀  Hooray for 113 years of freedom~

Leave a Reply

