Twenty Eleven : New blog layout

Up until recently, I’ve been using the theme Chaotic Soul here on my blog.   I love it except for the tiny fact that the header is split into two parts.  Lately, I’ve been looking for a good theme that has a two column format, dark background, and a customizable header.  Most of the nice themes on WordPress.com use a white background, probably because it’s easier to read dark text on a light background.  The reason I prefer a darker background is that I feel that it makes my photos look better.  Since most of the posts on this blog are pictures from Ezra’s and my 52-week project, I think choosing a darker background would be more suitable for me, which is why I was so happy when I found out that WordPress released a theme that gave me exactly what I wanted.

I love my new theme, but I have two very minor complaints.  The first is that I think the font is too big.  I guess I just got used to the tiny font size used in Chaotic Soul.  I’m not sure if I can change the font size for this theme since I haven’t really had the chance to explore it yet, but it’s probably something I’ll learn to live with anyway.  My second complaint is about how the Flickr widget looks on the sidebar:

See those white spaces?  My old theme didn’t have that.  When I used Chaotic Soul, those white spaces were transparent.  It’s a minor detail, but it really bugs me for some reason.  I’ve been trying to figure out how to fix this for the past hour but no luck T__T

Anyway, aside from those two little things, I’m perfectly happy with my new theme.  I love how it lets me customize the header, format and background color.  It gives you a choice between 1, 2 or 3 columns and a light or dark background.  Naturally I chose the two-column format and dark background, just like I what I originally wanted.  The header I’m using is my 4th self portrait for this year.  It was taken by my boyfriend when we went on a photowalk around campus sometime in February.

 

3 thoughts on “Twenty Eleven : New blog layout

  1. Pingback: New blog layout | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

