Hair update: straight once again

(This entry is about a month late, but I’ve been so busy the past few weeks that I haven’t had time to write a proper blog entry.)

It’s been really hot and humid here in the Philippines the past couple of months, not really the perfect condition for maintaining long hair. The heat dries out my hair and the humidity causes it to frizz terribly. It’s been annoying me lately, so I decided to do something about it.

The last time I had my hair rebonded it got damaged severely. I had to get about 6 inches of it chopped off!  I didn’t really enjoy losing that much length, so I was a bit hesitant to have it done again this year. I tried using different products to help me maintain my hair, and they helped in a way, but it still wasn’t enough. Finally, I decided that rebonding would still be the easiest option.

I booked an appointment with Ate Cecil in Metrohair last month for a rebonding session. I consulted with her first to check if my hair could withstand more chemicals after being so damaged from last year. She said it would definitely cause more damage, but with proper maintenance, it should go back to normal again.

Naturally, my hair got fried once again. Luckily it was only at the ends. I used a bunch of different products to try to revive it, but nothing really worked.  After a month of being frustrated at my dead ends, I went back to Metrohair to ask Ate Cecil for a trim. She didn’t want to take that much length off since she likes my hair long, so she meticulously picked out the damaged regions and trimmed only those. Then she suggested some hair treatment thing that would supposedly revive the remaining damaged sections (since she couldn’t get them all). I didn’t believe her at first, having spent a month using every deep conditioner I could get my hands on to try to revive my hair, I didn’t think it was possible.  But I figured I should at least let her try once. The whole thing took about 2 hours and cost much more than what I would have liked, but it was worth it in the end.  I was amazed at how healthy my hair was again~ I didn’t really think it was possible, but the fried ends are barely noticeable now, and my hair is so much softer. I just hope it lasts for more than just a few days/shampoos so I can get my money’s worth.

Pictures!

(These were taken before getting my hair trimmed and treated, so the ends are a bit dead looking)

I love this shot.  I’ve been debating on whether or not to use it as part of my 52-week project.  But I decided not to in the end, since I shot it for this entry and not my project.  It felt a bit like cheating to me XD  Besides, it looks too similar to an old self portrait from 2009, when I dyed my hair brown for the first time.

My hand looks weird, but I still like this shot XD

Brinky don’t kill me~ (She hates it when I make pa-cute poses like this, wahaha)

I haven’t gotten around to taking pictures of myself after my hair cut and treatment (which I only had done the other day) but there really isn’t that much difference in appearance.  My hair looks pretty much the same, just healthier and a bit shinier.

One thought on “Hair update: straight once again

  1. Pingback: A look back on 2011 « What I have shown you is reality …

Leave a Reply

