Review : The World God Only Knows (Kami Nomi zo Shiru Sekai)

About a month ago, my sister started bugging me to watch this anime.  She kept going on about how great it was and how she was sure that I would enjoy it.  I was quite busy with my thesis at the time, and whatever free time I had was spent watching old Family Outing (Season 1) episodes.  But I managed to get some free time a few weeks ago and I ran out of FO episodes to watch, so I decided to give it a shot.

Summary:

The story focuses on Keima Katsuragi, a high school student who dedicates all his free time playing dating simulation games, earning him the title “The God of Conquests”.  His vast experience in dating games allows him to “capture” or “conquer” any girl in the 2D universe.  However, in real life, he is known as a dweeb and a loser.  (His classmates call him otegame, which is actually “otaku” and “megane” combined, due to the fact that he wears glasses.) One day, he receives an email which challenges him to “conquer” girls that are supposedly difficult to catch.  He willingly accepts, not knowing that the email was actually a contract from a demon named Elsie and that she was referring to actual girls, not 2D ones.  She explains that loose souls have managed to escape from the underworld and that it was her job to catch them.  She tells Keima that the loose souls like to take residence in the heart of different girls, and that the only way to chase them out is for somebody to take their place in the girl’s heart.  Keima has absolutely no interest in 3D girls, but not honoring of the contract will result in his and Elsie’s death, and therefore he had to accept.  He uses his knowledge of games to help him conquer the hearts of different girls and capture loose souls

My thoughts:

I loved it!  It’s been so~ long since I watched anime that I forgot how much I used to enjoy it.  Sure, J-dramas and K-dramas can be hilarious, but there’s just something about anime humor that I love.  I totally missed the random moments filled with awkward and crazy silliness~  I don’t really know how to explain it, but I’m sure anime fans will know what I’m talking about.

Poor Keima with his broken PFP (TWGOK’s version of the PSP I suppose XD).  Not to worry, he always has a spare!  That’s the mark of a true gamer, LOL.

I also really liked Keima’s character.  I’m not a hardcore gamer or anything, but I do know what it’s like to want to escape from reality and just live inside a game.  (I remember back in high school, I used to wish I was part of the FF8 universe.)  I really enjoyed playing video games when I was younger, but I decided to give it up after failing my Math 37 midterm exam because I chose to play FF10 rather than study.  (I didn’t really give up games completely after that, but I decided that I would only allow myself to play on weekends so I’d have more time for school work.  Yup, I’m responsible like that XD).  I loved it whenever Keima would confuse reality with his games.  Like when he was explaining to Elsie about how he needed to hear the librarian’s inner voice to get close to her.  When she asked him how he could do that, he told her it usually just shows up in the upper part of the screen XD

Ah Keima, that’s not really something you’d want to tell your teacher when you’re caught playing your PFP in class.

Anyway, I’ve just finished watching the last episode of the 2nd season the other day.  Based on how it ended, I’m expecting/hoping for a third season.  I love how the series parodies common cliches about character stereotypes (i.e. the atlethe, the studious librarian, etc.) There’s just so many random moments in this show that I loved so I’m not even going to bother to make a list of my favorite scenes because there’s just too many. This entry will probably end up being several pages long if I try.

I also like the sound track a lot.   I found the opening songs a bit weird in the beginning, but they grew on me.  Kanon’s songs were also really cute.

My Rating:

4.5 out of 5 stars.  It was interesting, but I found some parts a bit boring (like when Keima goes into one of his monologues about the history of games, and the episodes with the library girl).  But other than that I loved it.

4 thoughts on “Review : The World God Only Knows (Kami Nomi zo Shiru Sekai)

Leave a Reply

