Let’s have some fun – some Bamboo Fun!

Remember when I mentioned in a previous entry how my tablet started going haywire one day?   The touch wheel got stuck for some reason so it constantly sends a message to my laptop to scroll down.  I fixed it with some masking tape (I know, I’m so tech-savvy) and it worked fine for a while, at least until the tape lost its magic.  Once again I was stuck with a tablet that causes everything to zoom out and forces every screen to scroll down to the end of the page.

(How I fixed the problem last time)

I tried reapplying the tape many times, but it didn’t have the same effect as it did the last time.  Eventually I just gave up and stopped using my tablet except when I needed to process pictures.  I tried editing Ezra’s portrait the other night, but my tablet kept making it zoom in every 20 seconds, which was very frustrating.   It drove me so mad that I grabbed it and started slamming it on my bed and yelling at it to stop (very mature, I know).  Obviously that didn’t help, so I tried searching the net for solutions and found this youtube video on how to disassemble a Wacom Bamboo Fun tablet.  I figured I had nothing to lose since my tablet was pretty much useless anyway, so I decided to open it up and see if there’s any way I can fix it.  Besides, I’m planning on getting a new tablet next month (for Christmas) so the worst that could happen is that I’d have to survive a few weeks editing pictures using a mouse.

I documented the process just for fun.  That way even if I manage to completely destroy my tablet, I’d at least have some interesting pictures to share with you guys.

My 4-year old Wacom Bamboo Fun.  (Please excuse the gunk left behind by the masking tape.)

Underneath you’ll find a sticker which shows the model and some rubber pads.

Peel the rubber pads off to reveal tiny screws

I removed the screws using this tiny Phillips screw driver I borrowed from my dad.  Make sure to place the rubber pads and screws somewhere safe so they don’t get lost.

After that, pry the tablet open using a flat screwdriver.  This was the hardest part for me because I was so worried I was going to break it – even though the guy in the video assured his viewers that it won’t break that easily.  The cracking/popping sounds don’t help either.

After struggling for a few minutes, I managed to open my tablet:

 Ta-dah!   Wait, what’s all that stuff at the top?

.

.

DUST!!!  4 years worth of accumulated dust!!!  How disgusting!!!  Look how thick it is.  No wonder my tablet has been going crazy!

 I cleaned it using a small dust brush.  (I also moved off the bed – yes, that’s where I wisely decided to tinker around with my tablet – to avoid getting 4-year old dust on it)

All clean!

After that I just put everything back together and prayed that it still works, and thankfully it did.  Phew~

You’re probably wondering if doing this solved the problem, and the answer is – sort of.  I think it helped in a way, but it didn’t completely get rid of the zooming and scrolling issue.  My tablet still goes crazy every now and then, but it does it less frequently.  It used to scroll down every 5 minutes, and now it just does it every few hours, which is a HUGE improvement.  And I don’t even have to use tape anymore.  I’m not really sure what I did to “fix’ the problem since I pretty much just cleaned the circuit board, but I guess I should just be happy that there’s an improvement.

So yeah, the problem’s still there but it’s not as bad as before.  I can definitely live with it for a few more weeks, until I get a replacement.   I’m going to miss my Bamboo Fun – we’ve been through so much together.

Stole this from my Multiply blog : first picture of my tablet, taken back in November 2007.   I was still using my old Twinhead laptop and was madly obsessed with Deathnote back then 😀  I don’t have the original shot anymore, so please excuse the childlike scrawls.  I was practicing with the pen, trying to get used to the weird feeling of writing on the tablet but looking at the laptop monitor.

I’m still not sure what tablet model I plan on getting in the future.  I’m actually very happy with my Wacom Bamboo Fun, but I don’t think they make them anymore.  I guess I’ll just have to see what’s available.  I’ll probably be sticking to Wacom since that’s what I started out with.  My only other requirement is that it should come with a mouse.  Any suggestions from tablet users out there?

3 thoughts on “Let’s have some fun – some Bamboo Fun!

    • Oo, kailangan na na e XD
      I still don’t understand how you managed to break your pen. Putol na naman? Ilang beses ko narin naman nabagsak yung pen ko, but never sya napuputol. Baka hinahagis mo yung sayo, haha

  1. Pingback: Review : Wacom Bamboo Connect tablet « What I have shown you is reality …

Leave a Reply

