Week 42/52 : The art of simplicity is a puzzle of complexity.

I used to be addicted to Rubik’s cubes. I bought my first one when I was in the 8th (or was it 7th) grade but I couldn’t figure out how to solve it past the 2nd layer. Then, in my senior year of high school, my math teacher taught me the algorithm. He taught his students not only how to solve the puzzle, but also how to create various patterns such as the hole in the center, the T, the checkered, etc. I got so hooked that I even joined a couple of Rubik’s cube competitions that year. If I remember correctly, I placed 3rd in one of them 🙂

This is actually my 2nd Rubik’s cube which I bought in my senior year. The stickers are shiny and glittery unlike my older one. Brinks has the exact same one. I saw her using it one day, and it was so cute that I had to have one too 😀

(Title came from a quote by Douglas Horton)

Leave a Reply

