A look back on 2011

Happy New Year everyone! 😀   Let’s bid farewell to 2011 and welcome 2012 with open arms~

The past year was probably one of the most challenging ones I’ve had.  I was faced with so many obstacles that there were many times that I felt hopeless and depressed (you can probably tell through my super emo self portraits).  But the good thing is that it that it forced me to start thinking about my life seriously and start making changes to improve it.

But 2011 wasn’t all bad of course.  I had a lot of wonderful moments too.  I experienced a lot of new things and met some amazing people 😀

Anyway, like last year, I decided to make a wrap-up entry here on my blog which summarizes some of the memorable times (both good and bad) for each month.

JANUARY

FEBRUARY

MARCH

  • Celebrated Beulah’s birthday by having dinner at Pizza Hut and holding a mini-slumber party at my apartment
  • Ckloy turned 26 (he doesn’t really celebrate his birthday but Ezra and I bought him some ice cream anyway XD)

APRIL

  • Celebrated Aprille’s birthday by having crepes and shakes at Dairymoor
  • Celebrated Ezra’s birthday by having lunch at Festival Mall and helping her pick out a new cellphone

MAY

  • Had my first driving experience in Manila after Beulah, Lynne, Amie and I had dinner at Banapple (because Beulah still had her fear of U-turns and didn’t want to drive us back, lol)
  • Had our first barkada meet-up with Jay and Vesma at SM Calamba to help them plan some things for their wedding
  • Spent most of my time in the lab (I even slept there a couple of times with Amie) because we were busy cramming for our thesis proposal defense
  • My adviser transferred to MMSU so we had to bid farewell to our clay lab at the end of the month
  • Parents celebrated their 27th wedding anniversary (without me, because I had to do work at the lab).

JUNE

  • Tito Willie visited us in the Philippines again after 14 years, and he brought our Costco photobooks with him
  • Ezra and I attended the Toycon 2011 with Ckloy, Raffy, Deus, Viel and Gilbert.
  • Attended and presented my paper the PAASE 2011 with Amie, Beulah and Julie
  • Celebrated Daddy’s birthday by having dinner at Palaisdaan.  Ezra and I bought him some angelfish for his present.
  • Bought couple rings with Ckloy ❤

JULY

AUGUST

SEPTEMBER

OCTOBER

  • Celebrated Mommy’s birthday by having lunch at Pig Out with the family
  • Almost went into emo-mode AGAIN after I learned that I wouldn’t be graduating AGAIN that semester (but luckily I had a lot of people cheering me up this time so I went back to normal after only a few hours)

NOVEMBER

  • Finally got my adviser’s approval on my thesis so I started processing requirements for my defense
  • Camille came over a lot (because she had a lot of free time that month) and taught Ezra and me how to bake 😀
  • Drove on the SLEX for the 2nd time thanks to Aprille and Camille (and Migs).  We planned on going to the Ralph Lauren warehouse in Carmona but it was closed so we ended up at Paseo de Sta. Rosa instead.

DECEMBER

As you can see, 2011 was quite eventful for me.   It was filled with lots of laughter and tears, and a lot of personal growth.  I always thought that I had an equal share of ups and downs this year, but writing this entry made me realize that I had more good moments than bad 😀  I think one of my most life-changing experiences this year was living away from home for the first time.  I know that my apartment is only about 2 hours away from home, but it was still a big change for me, and I learned a lot from it.  I was depressed for a while about having to leave LB (which is probably why I felt like 2011 was so bad for me) but I eventually learned to enjoy it.  (And now that I’m back in LB, I sorta miss it a bit XD).

Looking back, 2011 wasn’t so bad after all.  I’m very blessed to have been able to spend it surrounded by my friends and loved ones 🙂

4 thoughts on “A look back on 2011

  1. Pingback: Looking back on 2012 « What I have shown you is reality …

  2. Pingback: What 2013 was like for me :D | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

