I let my sister cut my hair!

Ezra has been itching to give me full bangs for years now, but I never let her because I didn’t think it would look good on me.  Yes, we are often mistaken for twins so you would think that what suits her would suit me as well, but if you look closely, the bone structures of our face are actually very different.  She has a longer and slimmer face while mine is more square and angular.  So while full bangs look good on her, I think it would look horrible on me.   I normally refuse when she offers to cut my hair, but at the same time I’ve always been curious to see if I could pull it off.  Last week she managed to convince me that this was the perfect time for me to try out bangs because I hardly leave the house these days.  So if it ends up looking horrendous, not that many people would see it anyway and I could just let it grow back out.  Her argument made sense, and so I finally agreed.

We had to wait till the weekend before I let her cut my hair because I needed to get Ckloy’s permission first.  He’s never really been a fan of full bangs so I had to convince him that I wouldn’t look that different with it.  He was definitely against it at first, but with a bit of whining and lots of lambing, he agreed.  In fact, he even helped me document the process by taking these pictures.

(Ezra is no professional, but she has been cutting her own bangs for almost 5 years now, so I knew I was in capable hands.)

Ezra measuring how much hair needed to be cut

Snip snip snip

 

Checking to see how they look before adding some layers for texture

Ta-dah!

Then afterwards she gave me some tips on how to style them using a flat iron.  She also listed down some products that she uses to help her keep them in place.  I knew that she spends a lot of time doing her hair in the morning, but I never realized how much effort is truly needed to maintain bangs!

I look a bit crazy here, but Ckloy caught me off guard with the camera XD

All done!

What do you guys think?  I’ve only had them for 2 days so I’m not used them yet.  I still get a shock every time I look at a mirror and see myself with full bangs. My parents love them because they think it makes me look like I’m 8 years old or something.  (I had full bangs when I was younger and only started to grow them out in the 4th grade.)  Ezra likes them too because according to her, it makes her feel like she’s looking at her doppelganger.  (I think she’s just happy to have another Ezra around.  She keeps asking me to go into her room so she could style my hair and put ribbons in it XD).  I can’t really tell how Ckloy likes them just yet.  He tells me I look fine but he laughs at me whenever he sees me then pats me on the head before hugging me.  Not quite sure if he’s doing it because he now sees me as a little kid and finds me adorable or he’s pitying me for looking weird.  Ah well, only time will tell.

Anyway, I’m still on the fence about how I feel about them.  The good thing is that I can always just pin them back whenever I want to hide them.  I am aware that they emphasize my already humongous cheeks, but it’s not as bad as I imagined.  I do wish they were a bit longer though.  I actually wanted them below my eyebrows, and Ezra tried to give me that, but she forgot that my hair is not as straight as hers so when she let go, the curled upwards and turned out a bit shorter than expected.  Anyway, she assured me that bangs grow out quickly and in about 2 weeks they’ll be the perfect length.  Hopefully she’s right.  And hopefully I’ll have enough patience to maintain them.  I’ve actually tried giving myself side swept bangs two years ago, but I got too lazy to style them and eventually just let them grow out.  (Ezra told me that she’ll make sure that I maintain this hairstyle for at least a few months even it if means that she’ll have to tie me up to trim and style them everyday.)

Thanks Ez!

7 thoughts on “I let my sister cut my hair!

  1. Pingback: Week 8/52 : Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending « What I have shown you is reality …

  2. Pingback: Looking back on 2012 « What I have shown you is reality …

  3. Pingback: INSTABITS : March 2015 | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

