(EZRA) 14/52 : Human life is as evanescent as the morning dew or a flash of lightning

We’re very late on our projects, but we’re doing our best to catch up.

Those who have been my contact for a while might recognize the dress Ezra is wearing.  My grandma made it for her years ago for a cosplay event she attended with Kurt back in 2009.  We’ve worn it a few times before on past shoots. I wore it for my Halloween self portrait back in 2010.

Ezra told me that this portrait was inspired by a video game she is currently playing, called Rune Factory.   In the game she is a spell caster and is able to do magic using a staff.   (The “staff” in this picture is actually a walking stick/cane that Ezra and I bought for our dad way back in 2008.  He loves collecting these kinds of things.)

Surprisingly, editing this didn’t take as long as I expected, which is a good thing since I’m usually too lazy to do difficult photomanipulations these days.  Ezra had a pretty clear idea of what she wanted me to do when we shot this.  I expected to spend all afternoon editing this when she explained it to me, but it took me just about two hours.  The hardest part was of course the masking.  But it’s worth it I think.  This is probably one of my favorite manips this year so far.

Photoshop brushes are from r0man-de.deviantart.com and redheadstock.deviantart.com.   Her title came  from a quote by Samuel Butler.

Leave a Reply

