Week 18/52 : Little Dhampir

Another Vampire Academy inspired self portrait. I’m still obsessed with the books and I’m currently rereading the entire series 😀

Anyway, those tattoos are photoshopped of course. They’re symbols that are often mentioned in the book. Dhampirs (half human – half vampires) often get tattoos on the back of their necks to mark their achievements. They call the “S” shaped tattoo a promise mark and it indicates that they have agreed to serve the Moroi (the good vampires) and protect them from Strigoi (the bad vampires). The little “X” marks are called molnija marks (which means “lighting” in Russian) and they represent how many Strigoi that dhampir has killed so far. The main character in the story has a lot of these, and she even has the star-shaped “zvezda” tattoo which indicates that she’s been in battle and has killed countless Strigoi.

My title came from the main character’s nickname, which was given to her by a Moroi who was in love with her. He was one of my favorite characters 🙂

6 thoughts on “Week 18/52 : Little Dhampir

    • I agree 😀 I love Richelle Mead, she’s awesome. I’m currently reading her Georgina Kincaid series now 🙂
      I didn’t enjoy Bloodlines as much as I hoped (though it was still good), but I’m hoping that with Dimitri’s appearance, Golden Lily will be better. I can’t wait 😀

        • Yeah, Adrian definitely needs to start getting over Rose. I do think the love he has for her is romantic (especially coming from a playboy like him) but I hate seeing him suffer 😦
          I’m not a huge fan of Sydney though. I like her, but not in the same level I liked Rose in VA. I loved Rose because I love female characters who are strong and confident, which is something Sydney isn’t quite just yet. Most of the time she’s unsure of herself and a bit insecure – although I understand that this is mainly because of her father. I did see a lot of personal growth from her in the book so I’m guessing I will like her more in the next one 🙂

    • Lol, there are two kinds of vampires in the story. The kind that can breed with humans are the Moroi – they’re mortal. They’re pretty much the same as humans (they eat regular human food, they can die, etc) but occasionally need blood and they have elemental magic. They can even go in the sun (for short amount of times) without anything special happening. The half-vampire half-human offspring is known as a dhampir. The strange thing is that when a dhampir breeds with a Moroi, you’d expect something 1/4 human and 3/4 vampire (or something like that), but they turn out as regular dhampirs din. Most dhampirs that exist in the story are the products of dhampir-Moroi coupling na. Bihira na yung human-Moroi kasi they want to keep their presence a secret from humans.

      Also, dhampirs cannot breed with other dhampirs. The only way they can reproduce is if they couple up with a Moroi. It’s the main reason they agree to serve as guardians to the Moroi. Kasi if the Moroi die out, dhampirs will too.

Leave a Reply

