Favorite quotes from the Vampire Academy series

It’s been over two weeks and I’m still on a Vampire Academy high.  I can’t help it, Richelle Mead is just so awesome!  Since I can’t get the books off my mind, I figured I might as well make an entry which consists of favorite quotes and moments from the series.  Enjoy!

VAMPIRE ACADEMY

“Hey Mason, wipe the drool off your face. If you’re going to think about me naked, do it on your own time.” –Rose

 “You got cheap foreign labor to protect Lissa?” – Rose

“Only a true best friend can protect you from your immortal enemies.”

“I love pity parties. I wish I’d bought the hats.” –Christian

“I couldn’t be Mason’s girlfriend because when I imagined someone holding me and whispering dirty things in my ear, he had a Russian accent.” -Rose

Lissa : What are you doing here?

Christian : Taking in the sights, of course. That chair with the tarp on it is particularly lovely at this time of year. Over there, we have an old box full of the writings of the blessed and crazy St. Vladimir. And let’s not forget that beautiful table with no legs in the corner.

Mason : Maybe they were hooking up.

Rose : He was a SAINT.

Mason : So? Saints probably like sex too. That ‘brother and sister’ stuff is probably a cover. See? They were ‘bound’ together. It’s code.

“The Battle cry sort of gave you away. Try not to yell next time.” -Dimitri

“I like him.”

“Like or like?”

“Oh, there’s a difference?”

“Yes. Like is when you date a big, blond moron and laugh at his stupid jokes.” Then, out of nowhere, he leaned forward and kissed her. It was hot and fast and furious, an outpouring of the rage and passion and longing that Christian always kept locked inside of him. Lissa had never been kissed like that… he made her feel so much more alive than Aaron or anyone else could. Christian pulled back from the kiss but still kept his face next to hers. “That’s what you do with someone you like.”

“No. If I let myself love you, I won’t throw myself in front of her. I’ll throw myself in front of you.”-Dimitri

FROSTBITE

“What’s your name?”

“What?” I asked, squinting at the light.

“Your name.” I recognized Dr. Olendzki peering over me.

“You know my name.”

“I want you to tell me.”

“Rose. Rose Hathaway.”

“Do you know your birthday?”

“Of course I do. Why are you asking me such stupid things? Did you lose my records?”

Dr. Olendzki gave an exasperated sigh and walked off, taking the annoying light with her. “I think she’s fine.”

“Do not do that again,” he said stiffly.

“Don’t kiss me back then,” I retorted.

He stared at me for what seemed like forever. “I don’t give ‘Zen lessons’ to hear myself talk. I don’t give them because you’re another student. I’m doing this to teach you control.”

“You’re doing a great job,” I said bitterly.”

“Sweat isn’t a bad thing. Some of the best things in life happen while sweating. Yeah, if you get too much of it and it gets old and stale, it turns pretty gross. But on a beautiful woman? Intoxicating. If you could smell things like a vampire does, you’d know what I’m talking about. Most people mess it all up and drown themselves in perfume. Perfume can be good…especially if you get one that goes with your chemistry. But you only need a hint. Mix about 20 percent of that with 80 percent of your own perspiration…mmm. Dead sexy.” -Adrian

“Not into older guys, huh?” asked Adrian once we were alone.

“You’re imagining things,” I said. “Clearly, my stunning beauty has clouded your mind.”

“There’s nothing worse than waiting and not knowing what’ll happen to you. Your own imagination can be crueler than any captor.”

“We can’t stop living because other people are dead.”

“Rose only hangs out with guys and psychopaths,” said Mia.

“Well,” he said cheerfully, “since I’m both a psychopath and a guy, that would explain why we’re such good friends.”

“Too bad. Family members hit you by accident. Psychopathic whores tend to come back for more.”

“I felt like someone had ripped my heart out and tossed it across the other side of the room. There was a burning, agonizing pain in my chest, and I had no idea how it could ever be filled. It was one thing to accept that I couldn’t have Dimitri. It was something entirely different to realize someone else could.”

Across the room, Christian met my yes. Somehow, his face looked even gaunter than it had a couple of hours ago. Hunger burned in his gaze, and I knew I wore the complementary one : a desire to sate that hunger. God. We were so screwed. I think Christian realized it at the same time. His lips twisted into a bitter smile.

“You never looked so good Rose,” he managed, just before the guards told him to shut up.

“I’ll see you later Roza.”

“At our next practice?” I asked. “We are starting those up again, right? I mean you still have things to teach me.”

Standing in the doorway, he looked over at me and smiled. “Yes. Lots of things.”

SHADOW KISS

“My cigarettes and I are going outside. At least they show me respect.” -Adrian

Adrian: “Oh my God. A kind word from Rose Hathaway, I can die a happy man.”

Rose : “What are you saying that I’m normally an ungrateful bitch?” (silence) “Hey! Not cool.”

Eddie : “If I didn’t know any better, I’d say you just defended Christian’s honor. Isn’t he a pain in the ass?”

Rose : “Yes he is. But for the next 6 weeks he’s MY pain in the ass.”

Adrian: What do you think, little dhampir? I was pretty badass with that plant, wasn’t I? Of course it would have been more badass if I’d, I dunno, helped an amputee grow a limb back. Or maybe separated Siamese twins. But that’ll come with more practice.

Rose: If you want some advice-which I’m sure you don’t-you guys should lay off on the magic. Christian still thinks your moving in on Lissa.

Adrian : What? Doesn’t he know that my heart belongs to you?

Rose : It does not. And no, he’s still worried about it, despite what I’ve told him.

Adrian : You know, I bet if we started making out right now, it would make him feel better.

Rose : If you touch me, I’ll provide you with the oppritunity to see if you can heal yourself. Then we’d see how badass you really are

“Aw you’d never hurt me. My face is too pretty.” -Adrian

“Don’t worry, little dhampir. You might be surrounded by clouds, but you’ll always be like sunshine to me.” -Adrian

Christian : You did not just say that. I have the feeling were on the verge of hugging and coming up with cute nicknames for each other.

Rose : I already have a nickname for you, but I’ll get n trouble if I say it in class.

Rose : Really good. I think you have a promising future as a house wife while Lissa works and makes millions of dollars.

Christian : Funny that’s exactly my dream.

Christian : I’m not jealous I’m just-

Rose : -feeling insecure over the fact that your girlfriend is spending a lot of time with a rich and reasonably cute guy. Or, as we like to call it, jealous.

You’d let him die? You wouldn’t do this? You wouldn’t do this for me? – Rose

I set off, off to kill the man I loved -Rose

BLOOD PROMISE

Dimitri: “Why did you come here?”

Rose: “Because you hit me on the head and dragged me here.”

“I had left a body in the park, but seriously, what was I supposed to do? Drag him back to my hotel and tell the bellhop my friend had had too much to drink?” -Rose

Christian: “We can run off to Paris or something and work at a little café. Or sell bad art on the streets.”

Lissa: “Right. I can totally see you having the patience to wait on people. You’d be fired your first day.”

Adrian: “And, I can visit people in their dreams.”

Christian: “Stop. I can feel there’s a comment coming on about how women already dream about you. I just ate, you know.”

Adrian: “Why are you always so difficult?”

Rose: “Because you like me that way.”

Rose: “Okay. Now you have to move your arms and legs.”

Dimitri: “I know how to make a snow angel.”

Rose: “Then do it! Otherwise, you’re more like a chalk outline at a police crime scene.”

“Some Moroi guy had a guitar out and was trying to impress girls with his musical skills—which were nonexistent. In fact, his music was so awful that he might have discovered a new way to kill Strigoi.” – Rose

“I think the profanities that came out of my mouth when I hit the ground would have been understandable in any language.” – Rose

“I’d killed a Strigoi in my weakened state but couldn’t escape some bushes. Embarrassing, really.” – Rose

“Oh God,” I said. “I’m Zmey’s daughter. Zmey Junior. Zmeyette, even.” -Rose

Janine: “You two have a lot in common.”

Rose: “Are you kidding? He’s arrogant, sarcastic, likes to intimidate people, and—oh.” Okay. Maybe she had a point.

Rose: “You’ve asked me out tons of times.”

Adrain: “Not really. I’ve made inapproprite suggestions and frequently pushed for nudity. But I’ve never asked you out on a real date. And, if memory serves, you did say you’d give me a fair chance once I let you clean out my trust fund.”

“No one had ever called me unnatural before, except for the time I put ketchup on a taco. But seriously, we’d been out of salsa, so what else was I supposed to do?” – Rose

“Roza.” His voice had that same wonderful lowness, the same accent . . . it was all just colder. “You forgot my first lesson: Don’t hesitate.”

“I’d said it before and meant it: Alive or undead, the love of my life was a badass.” -Rose

SPIRIT BOUND

“One of the few downsides to being awakened is that we no longer require sleep; therefore we also no longer dream. It’s a shame, because if I could dream, I know I’d dream about you.” -Dimitri

Rose: “Most fathers don’t threaten to disembowel their daughter’s boyfriends.”

Abe: “That’s not true. And anyway, that’s not what I actually said. It was much worse.”

 

Rose : “Reward, huh? Meredith’s boyfriend got her diamond earrings.”

Adrian : “You want diamonds? I’ll give you diamonds. I’ll shower you in them. Hell, I’ll get you a gown made out of them. But it’s going to be skimpy”

“You know what we need?”

“A new plan?” asked Lissa.

“A miracle?” asked Eddie.

I paused and glared at them both before responding. Since when had they become the comedians here? “No.”

“You approve?” I asked, spinning around.

He slipped an arm around my waist. “Unfortunately, yes. I was hoping you’d show up in something a lot sluttier. Something that would scandalize my parents.”

“Sometimes it’s like you don’t even care about me as a person,” I observed as we walked inside. “It’s like you’re just using me for shock value.”

“It’s both, little dhampir. I care about you, and I’m using you for shock value.”

“You should dress her better, you know.”

“I’m not interested in putting clothes on her,” Adrian called as he steered me away.

Adrian: “You guys didnt really think you could go off on a party weekend without me, did you? Especially here of all places—“

(He froze and it was one of those rare moments when Adrian Ivashkov was caught totally and completely off guard.)

Adrian: “Did you know”, he said slowly, “that Victor Dashkov is sitting on your bed?”

“Yeah, that’s exactly what I want. To help my girlfriend get her old boyfriend back.” He turned away again, and I heard him mutter, “I need two drinks.” – Adrian

He did want it. In a heartbeat, his mouth was at my neck and his fangs were piercing my skin. I cried out at the sudden pain, a sound that softened to a moan as the endorphins that came with every vampire bite flooded into me. An exquisite bliss consumed me. He pulled me hard against him as he drank, almost onto his lap, pressing my back against his chest. I was distantly aware of his hands all over me again, of his lips upon my throat. Mostly, all I knew was that I was drowning in pure, ecstatic sweetness. The perfect high.

“That was the best not-sex ever.” – Adrian

Rose: This isn’t over. I haven’t given up on you.

Dimitri : I’ve given up on you. Love Fades. Mine Has.

LAST SACRIFICE

“Juliet had it easy; she never had to kill Romeo.” –Rose

“Ah, my daughter,ʺ he said. ʺEighteen, and already youʹve been accused of murder, aided felons, and acquired a death count higher than most guardians will ever see.ʺ He paused. ʺI couldnʹt be prouder.” -Abe

“My death will not be penciled on someone’s calendar.” -Rose

“What the hell?” I asked. “Is this daring escape being sponsored by Honda?” -Rose

“You managed to get him a duster, but you couldn’t find me a pair of jeans?” -Rose

“You have an interesting set of morals,” he observed. “Breaking out of jail is okay. But steal a car, and you sound totally outraged.” -Dimitri

“There was a look of woe on his face that was almost comical. Raids, bullets, criminals…no problem. A missing duster? Crisis.”

“Adrian opened his mouth, undoubtedly ready with some inappropriate and mocking comment. Lissa gave him a sharp headshake that kept him quiet. “Aren’t there any, I don’t know, sleeveless options?”

The saleswoman’s eyes widened. “No one has ever worn straps to a funeral. It wouldn’t be right.”

“What about shorts?” asked Adrian. “Are they okay if they’re with a tie? Because that’s what I was gonna go with.”

The woman looked horrified.

“Fast? Not by my estimation. I could have never handled this slow, stately pace. I felt especially bad for the pallbearers. If I were one, I would’ve said to hell with propriety and started jogging toward my final destination. Of course, that might jostle the body. If the funeral coordinator had been upset over Lissa’s dress, there was no telling how she’d react if Tatiana fell out of the coffin.

“What’s going on?” he asked, looking from face to face. “I was having a good dream.”

“I need you,” said Lissa.

“I hear that from women a lot,” said Adrian.

“You’ve got to take it on faith that the enemy of your enemy is your friend.”

“From behind Lissa, I heard Christian say, “Worst. Timing. Ever.” Adrian studied Lissa and then looked at Christain sprawling on the bed on the far side of the suite. “Huh,” Adrian said, letting himself in. “So that’s how you’re going to fix the family problem. Little Dragomirs. Good idea.” Christian sat up and strolled toward them. “Yeah, that’s exactly it. You’re interrupting official Council business.”

“Auras tell a lot, Rose, and I’m very good at reading them. Much better than you friends probably are. A spirit dream wraps your own aura in gold, which is how I knew. Your personal aura is unique to you, though it fluctuates with your feelings and soul. When people are in love, it shows. Their auras shine. When you were dreaming, yours was bright. The colors were bright…but not what I expected from a boyfriend. Of course, not every relationship is the same. People are at different stages. I would’ve brushed it off, except…”

“Except what?”

“Except, when you’re with Dimitri, your aura’s like the sun. So is his.”

“Don’t blame us,” said my mother. “We didn’t blow up half of Court, steal a dozen cars, call out a murderer in the middle of a crowd, or get our teenage friend crowned queen.”

“Actually,” said Abe, “I did blow up half of Court.”

Abe held my gaze a bit longer and then broke into an easy smile. ʺOf course, of course. This is a family gathering. A celebration. And look: hereʹs our newest member.ʺ

Dimitri had joined us and wore black and white like my mother and me. He stood beside me, conspicuously not touching. ʺMr. Mazur,ʺ he said formally, nodding a greeting to both of them. ʺGuardian Hathaway.ʺ

Dimitri was seven years older than me, but right then, facing my parents, he looked like he was sixteen and about to pick me up for a date.

“For a moment, I was captivated as I studied them side by side. My mother: the perfect picture of guardian excellence and decorum. My father: always capable of achieving his goals, no matter how twisted the means. Uneasily, I began to understand how I’d inherited my bizarre personality.” -Rose

“I loved you!” he yelled. He jumped up out of his chair so quickly I never saw it coming. “I loved you, and you destroyed me. You took my heart and ripped it up.”

“You said you were a victim. That’s why…that’s why ultimately, you and I aren’t matched for each other. In spite of everything that’s happened, I’ve never though of myself that way. Being a victim means you’re powerless. That you won’t take action. Always…always I’ve done something to fight for myself…for others. No matter what.” -Rose

“What’s going on?” he demanded.

“The usual, old man,” I replied cheerily. “Danger, insane plans… you know, the stuff that runs in our family.”

“I supposed if you were going to make a career of breaking laws, you might as well know them.”

I bet you never thought the hardest part of finding your ‘saviorʹ would be getting her mom to let her stay out past curfew.”

There’s so much more I want to add, but if I don’t stop myself I’ll probably end up quoting the entire series. So for now, this will have to do 🙂

One thought on “Favorite quotes from the Vampire Academy series

  1. Pingback: Favorite quotes and moments from the Georgina Kincaid series « What I have shown you is reality …

Leave a Reply

