Favorite quotes and moments from the Georgina Kincaid series

I made an entry like this for the Vampire Academy series, so I figured I might as well make one for the Georgina Kincaid series too since I love them equally. Enjoy!

SUCCUBUS BLUES

We all have moments of weakness. It’s how we recover from them that really counts.

Love is rarely flawless. Humans delude themselves by thinking it has to be. It is the imperfection that makes love perfect. – Carter

Sometimes you wake up from a dream. Sometimes you wake up in a dream. And sometimes, every once in a while, you wake up in someone else’s dream

Very often the things we most desire come only after much patience and struggle.

Look, don’t get me wrong. I worship the ground this guy walks on. I’m excited to meet him tonight. I’m dying to meet him tonight. If he wanted to carry me off and make me his love slave, I’d do it, so long as I got advance copies of his books. – Georgina

“It’s important to keep up appearances with books,” I explained. “Image goes a long way in this business.”

He dared a look over at me, still nervous but steadily recovering his composure. “I go more for content.”

“Really?” I repositioned slightly so that we were touching again, the soft flannel of his shirt brushing my bare skin. “Because I could have sworn a moment ago you were pretty caught up in outside appearance.”

His eyes shifted down again, but I could see a smile curving his lips. “Well. Some things are so striking, they can’t help but draw attention to themselves.”

“And doesn’t that make you curious about what’s inside?”

“Mostly it makes me want to get you some advanced copies.”

Advanced copies? What did he—?

“Seth? Seth, where—ah, there you are.” Paige turned down our aisle, Doug following behind. She brightened when she saw me, and I felt my stomach sink out of me and hit the floor with a thud as I put two and two together. No. No. It couldn’t be—

“Ah, Georgina. I see you’ve already met Seth Mortensen.”

Sleep with Seth Mortensen? Good grief. It was the most preposterous thing I’d ever heard. It was appalling. If I absorbed his life force, there was no telling how long it’d be until his next book came out.

“I hope I redeemed myself with the whole dancing-sex comparison.”

“I suppose there were a couple of notable similarities,” I observed, holding a straight face.

“A couple? What about attention to detail, heavy exertion, lots of sweat, and single-minded determinedness to get the job done and done well?”

“Mostly I was thinking you just don’t talk during sex.” Mean perhaps, but I couldn’t resist.

“Well, my mouth has better things to do.”

I swallowed, my own mouth dry. “Are we still talking about dancing?”

To Thetis,

Long overdue, I know, but every often the things we most desire come only after much patience and struggle. That is a human truth, I think. Even Peleus knew that.

-Seth

SUCCUBUS ON TOP

“When you say ‘old friend,’ are we talking, like…since the Ice Age?”

“No. Of course not.”

“Oh.”

“It’s only been about four hundred years.”

Are you kidding? You’re the most interesting person I know. Aside from Hugh maybe. But then, he installs breast implants and buys souls. That’s a hard combination to beat. But he’s not nearly as cute. – Georgina

“It’s Dana! She’s back early.” He ran his hand frantically over Mitch’s neat, blonde hair. “What’s she want? What’s she doing here?

“Maybe she wants Reese’s pot back”

“This is my chance! She’s here alone. She wants me. Quick.” He yanks my arm and dragged me to the stairs. I cried out in suprise.

“Get out of sight. Throw that away.”

“I’m not throwing this away! Besides, you don’t think she’ll notice that your whole fucking house smells like this? Jesus. Your pupils are the size of her granny panties. Virtuous or not, she isn’t stupid.”

You’re wondrous and powerful and gifted, but even you can’t save me from hurting. No one can do that for anyone. I can make things perfect in the fictions I create, but the real world isn’t so kind. That’s just how it is. And anyway, for every bad thing in life, there are more good things to tip the balance. – Seth

SUCCUBUS DREAMS

“What kind of sick bastard burns down a Christmas tree?”

Hugh and I exchanged glances. “That’s an excellent question,” I said dryly.

Peter looked startled. “Was it you?” he asked Hugh.

“No,” said the imp. “It was Carter.”

“Your Christmas tree was burned down by an angel?” asked Cody.

“Yup. The irony isn’t lost on me”

“This is a, uh, friendship ring right?”

“Yeah, don’t worry. If I propose, you’ll know it. For one thing, I’ll be hyperventilating.” A sly smile—surprisingly sexy—turned up his lips. “And it’ll be a ruby.”

“Rubies? No diamonds? Too expensive for the old writer’s salary, huh?”

He made a disparaging grunt at that. “No, I just think diamonds are common, that’s all. If I get married, it’ll be because something uncommon is occurring. Besides, you wear a lot of red, right? I know how important it is for your accessories to match.”

“Hey, big spender,” I said.

He looked appreciative but more amused than anything else. He reached into his pocket and pulled out a one dollar bill.

“Hugh,” I said. “Don’t insult me.”

With a sigh, he produced a five and tucked it underneath my bra strap.

“Hey, Seth,” Cody suddenly said.

I looked up and saw Seth standing in the doorway. A look of comic bemusement was on his face.

“Hey,” he said, studying me. “So…you’re paying for dinner?”

I’m sweet because you make it easy to be sweet. – Seth

“John Cusack is standing over there.”

I followed his incredulous gaze to where a man very like Mr. Cusack did indeed stand, smoking a cigarette as he leaned against a building. I sighed.

“That’s not John Cusack. That’s Jerome.”

“Seriously?”

“Yup. I told you he looked like John Cusack.”

“Keyword: looked. That guy doesn’t look like him. That guy is him.”

“What hope is there?” I asked. “If even angels fall, what hope is there for the rest of us?”

“There isn’t,” he said. “We’re on our own. And we have to make the choices we think are best for our own survival.”

SUCCUBUS HEAT

“Just because things don’t work out, it doesn’t mean there aren’t other people you can’t love. Love is too big a thing for you to go without it in life.”

“I don’t know how you do it. You aren’t even blond. I mean, maybe a little, but mostly you’re a brunette. I just don’t see guys going for that.”

“Yeah, well, some people are into kinky stuff, I guess.”

“Shh, love.  It’s going to be okay.  You’re going to be okay.” – Roman

“You are,” I said, growing increasingly unsettled by our proximity.  I also noticed then that he was still smoothing my hair back.  “What are you doing to my hair?  Does it look bad or something?”

“Your hair never looks bad.”  He dropped his hand sheepishly.  “It’s just .. a little messier than usual.”

“I brushed it fifteen minutes ago!”

Seth shrugged.  “I don’t know.  It’s just kind of frizzy, but that’s probably normal.  There’s a little humidity out.”

“Frizzy? My hair’s never frizzy.”

Georgina : You’re here to kill me

Roman : Not yet

“Aubrey was there too and this tortie and -”

“A what?”

“A tortie.  A tortoiseshell cat.” I waited, but his expression was still blank.  “It’s like a calico, but without any white.  Just brown and orange patched.  How can you be a millenia old and not know that?’


Dante : I’m also kind of tired of how frizzy this is.  Isn’t there some product you can use?

Georgina : Hey!  Not funny.  What happened to internal beauty?

“I don’t care,” said Seth. “I would have done it. I would have sold my soul for you. You and me…I told you. Something’s always going to keep us near each other…even if we aren’t together.”

Roman, lying on the couch as usual, also studied us.  He looked at the cat, taking in her orange and brown patched coat.  Then, he looked up and met my eyes.  I’m not sure what he saw, but it made him smile.

“Let me guess.  That’s a tortie.”

“Yes,” I agreed.  “This is a tortie.”

SUCCUBUS SHADOWS

“God might work on mysterious ways, but hell worked on efficient ones.”

“Because there is no greater evil than ignorance and the destruction of genius. Ignorance has been responsible for more death, more bigotry, and more sin than any other force. It is the destroyer of mankind.”

“Your truths are worse than your lies.”

“Good can still exist when bad things happen, just as evil persists when good things happen.” – Carter

“My muse is an ungrateful harlot who’s abandoned me to actually come up with my own plots.” – Seth

Doug returned five minutes later and shook his head. “Sorry kid. She’s single, but she doesn’t think you’re her type. She’s into the Goth and vampire scene. You’re too mainstream for her.” I was sipping a glass of water and nearly choked on it.

“That,” said Peter, as soon as Doug was gone, “is what we call irony.”

“How is that possible?” exclaimed Cody. “I am a vampire. I should be exactly what she wants.”

“Yeah, but you don’t look like one,” I said. If Gabrielle had been a Trekkie, he might have had a shot tonight.”

“Well, I think I’m pissed off enough now that you don’t have to go to bed with me.”- Georgina

“If you’re going to become a villain, you might as well go the whole way,” -Seth

“You and I…I don’t understand what’s between us, but I’d rather spend my life alone than with someone who isn’t you.” -Seth

“It’s Saturday. The laws of time and space are different today. Noon qualifies as early.” – Georgina

“Nice of you to dress up.” – Jerome

“Only the best for you, Pop. Besides, Georgina likes it.” – Roman

“But maybe the next time you’re looking for distraction, we could rent a movie and microwave some popcorn instead of fucking the neighbors.” – Roman

“Funny, huh? You throw a housewarming party to show the place off, and then people trash it.” — Roman

“I don’t like this. Like I said, I’d rather see you leave and start a new life. Every time I see you now, it’s like…it’s like watching you die. Over and over.” – Roman

“Love in the real world doesn’t usually work out the way stories make us think it should. We don’t always get fairy-tale endings. People split up and move on. Just because you love someone doesn’t mean you can’t love someone else.” – Georgina

“The road to Hell is paved with good intentions.”

SUCCUBUS REVEALED

“How we love others is affected by how we love ourselves, and for the first time in a long time, I was whole.”

“No, I thought. Not just Hell. Really, Heaven was just as guilty. What kind of group could advocate goodness and not allow its members to love?


“So don’t. Take him with you. Or date long distance. I honestly don’t give a fuck, so long as you stop your whining. How can you not see solutions here? You’ve apparently decided that you being immortal isn’t a deterrent to your great love … but a two-hour plane ride is?” -Jerome

“Jerome sighed and set down his fork. “Are you still doing that, Georgie? Don’t I suffer enough without having to endure the humiliation of a succubus who moonlights as a Christmas elf?”

“You always said I should quit the bookstore and find something else to do,” I reminded him.

“Yes, but that was because I thought you’d go on to do something respectable. Like become a stripper or the Mayor’s mistress.”


Peter sighed wearily. “Draw for secret Santas. Do you even read the e-mails I send?”
“Secret Santas? Seems like we just did that,” I said.
“Yeah, a year ago,” said Peter. “Just like we do very Christmas.”

“A girl just asked for SAT scores good enough to get her into Yale. I think she was nine.” -Santa


“Bless you, daugher of man,” Carter said, his eyes luminous and almost silver now. He leaned down and kissed my forehead. I closed my eyes and caught my breath. His lips were both burning hot and icy cold.”

“I’m not worthy of that,” I said. I might be human now, but I understand how powerful a heavenly creature Carter was. “I don’t deserve that much regard.”

He reached out and tipped my chin up. “You do, Georgina. And if you don’t believe me now, then strive to be. Live you life. Be kind. Love those you know. Love those you don’t know. be worthy of your soul.”

Leave a Reply

