Week 27/52 : It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for something you are not.

I dyed my hair a few weeks ago. It’s been over a year since I last had red hair. I stuck with medium to dark browns for most of 2011 because I felt like they made my hair look healthier. Also, Ckloy has decided to start coloring his hair last year because little gray strands have started to pop up. His hair’s too short to finish an entire box of dye by himself so we usually end up just sharing one when I touch up my roots. He didn’t want anything too dramatic or attention grabbing so we’ve mostly been using shades of brown. But lately I realized that I miss having lighter hair, so I decided to go red again.

I love how it turned out,  but unfortunately red hair never lasts on anyone.  This shot was taken about two weeks ago (I couldn’t find time to edit it until a few days ago) and by now my hair has faded into a medium brown again 😦  It was really bright during the first week (to the point that Ezra called it “Ga In red” – as in Son Ga In from the Brown Eyed Girls because she used to have bright red hair).  I’ve had red hair before so I know it fades, but never this quickly in the past.  I think it’s the dye I used (Etude House). I tried it just for fun, but I’ll probably be going back to Revlon after this.  (I’ll post a review on the Etude House dye soon.  EDIT: posted HERE)

Quote in the title by Andre Gide.

Outtakes:

I actually like this shot better but I chose the other one for my main upload because I felt it showed off my hair a little more

(Vector brushes by redheadstock.deviantart.com)

3 thoughts on “Week 27/52 : It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for something you are not.

  1. I have red hair and I wrote 2 extensive posts on how to keep my hair lively and red *u* since we all know red is meticulous for fading and its definitely a lot of work to up keep it )’:

    you should rinse with cold hair. And try to get red shampoo 😀 or you can mix your own~

    • I checked out your blog – lots of helpful information there. I didn’t know rinsing with cold water helps with the color, I should try that next time. And I’ll try to get my hands on some red shampoo (unfortunately I don’t think I’ve ever seen those being sold here in the Philippines, and we don’t have Sally’s Beauty Supply either T__T But I’ll ask my aunt in California if she can get me some for when she visits us this December.)
      Thanks for the tips 🙂

  2. Pingback: Etude House Bubble Hair Color (Wine Red) « What I have shown you is reality …

Leave a Reply

