Week 32/52 : Nobody looks good in their darkest hours. But it’s those hours that make us what we are.

Another SP inspired by the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning. I’m on the fifth (and final) book. I’m trying to savor each moment and take things slow but the suspense is killing me! I’m on the last 25% of the book and something tells me I won’t be getting much sleep tonight.

For those who aren’t familiar with the series, I talked a bit about it in my last self portrait.  I mentioned that it’s about a girl named MacKayla Lane who leaves her comfort zone to avenge her sister’s murder.  Searching for her sister’s killer is hard enough, but things get even more complicated when she discovers that she has the ability to see Fae.  She also learns that her sister’s murderer might not have been human at all.  Fae have this thing about feeding on humans – they love it!   MacKayla despises them even more for it and makes it her mission to track them down and kill as many as she can.  She does a good job, but there’s one Fae caste that troubles her. These creatures fear the light and spend most of their time lurking around in the dark, thus earning the name “Shades”. They’re harmless as long as you stay away from shadowy areas, but take one step in the wrong direction and they will devour you in a matter of seconds. Shades are considered one of the weaker and lower class members in Fae society, but because they can’t be killed, they become one of Mac’s greatest fears.

Anyway, I’m in love with this series.  Hopefully I’ll be able to get some free time soon to make a review for it 🙂

(Title came from a quote from the book Faefever – the third book in the series)

Leave a Reply

