Book Review : Fever series


I just finished reading the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning.  I’ve already mentioned it a couple of times here on my blog already (my last 2 self portraits were inspired by it) but I just love it so much that I had to squeeze in this short review despite my busy schedule.  I’m supposed to be working right now so instead of wasting time trying to come up with a new summary, I’ll just give you guys a paraphrased version of what I wrote earlier in my previous entries:

The books focus on the life of MacKayla Lane, a 22-year old girl living an average life in the small town of Ashford, Georgia.  The story begins when her sheltered life is turned upside down after her sister, Alina (who was studying in Ireland), had been murdered.  Before she died, Alina managed to leave behind a cryptic message telling Mac that she was not what she thinks she is, and that they needed to find the Sinsar Dubh to before it’s too late.  Mac had no idea what the Sinsar Dubh was, but she leaves her world of designer clothes, makeup and parties behind and heads off to Dublin to embrace the darkness and find her sister’s murderer.  Searching for her sister’s killer in a foreign land is hard enough, but things get even more complicated when she discovers that Alina’s murderer might not have been human at all.  Mac soon learns that she has the ability to see Fae and detect what she calls Fae OOPs (objects of power).  During her quest for revenge, Mac comes across the enigmatic Jericho Barrons and the seductive Fae-prince, V’lane.  Both men have been looking for the Sinsar Dubh (which turned out to be some sort of evil book) for their own personal agendas for centuries, and upon learning that Mac can sense its presence, they try to convince her to assist them in their search for it.  Mac is more concerned about her sister’s murderer but agrees to help find the book after learning that the fate of humanity strongly depends on it.

The books are all about Mac’s journey as she learns more about Fae history while discovering who she is and what her role is in this world.  The series is composed of 5 books, to be read in this order:

  • Darkfever
  • Bloodfever
  • Faefever
  • Dreamfever
  • Shadowfever

I wish I could talk more about each individual book like I usually do, but I barely even have time to write this short review.  However, I can tell you that I loved every single one.  I didn’t really expect to like this series at first (Faes are not really my thing, I’m more of a vampire/demon kind of girl) but somehow I ended up loving it.  I really like the fact that Karen Marie Moning knows how her readers think and therefore knows just how to push our buttons.  Just when I’m sure I’ve got her figured out and I know what’s coming next, she throws a curve ball that shatters that illusion.

I loved the whole series, but my favorite would definitely have to be the 4th book (Dreamfever). After the 3rd book (Faefever) ended, I thought that all hope had been lost and that things would end badly, but thankfully KMM left her readers with a promise at the end.  Her little note to her readers contains one of my favorite quotes from the series:

“Although it may not seem like it, this isn’t a story about darkness. It’s about light. Khalil Gibran says “Your joy can fill you only as deeply as your sorrow has carved you”. If you’ve never tasted bitterness, sweet is just another pleasant flavor on your tongue. One day I’m going to hold a lot of joy.”

Anyway, Dreamfever started out with the characters picking up the pieces from how Faefever ended. Here we see a lot of Mac’s character development. She was a little whiny and immature in the first few books but she grows a lot as the story progresses. Each book she comes out stronger and more determined and I love that about her, especially in Dreamfever.  The only complaint I have about the 4th book (which isn’t really a complaint at all) is that ended on such a cliff hanger that I wanted to scream and punch the wall after finishing it.  Thankfully I had Shadowfever on hand and ready at the time because I can’t imagine having to wait months for its release.  (I’d probably be yelling out obscenities towards KMM for leaving us readers at such an awful place …)  Anyway after Dreamfever I wanted to grab Shadowfever immediately and see what happens next, but at the same time I was too scared of what I might find.  In the end I decided to put off reading the final book till morning and spent the entire night praying that things will turn out okay.

(Shadowfever was my 2nd favorite out of the series because it wrapped everything up nicely. I loved how the story unfolded and how KMM chose to end things. In my book reviews I normally whine about endings and what should have happened instead, but this time I’m perfectly satisfied and have very little complaints. Whoohoo!)

As for the romance (which you guys know I love), here’s what KMM has to say about it on her website’s FAQ about the first book:

The question I keep hearing is: Is Darkfever a romance?

No. Darkfever as a stand-alone is not a traditional romance novel. There is no happily-ever-after at the end of Book One and, while there is a great deal of sensuality and sexuality, Mac does not fall in love and marry a hero in the first book.

So what is Darkfever?

It’s the first installment of a story told over the course of five novels that is a romance, and a fantasy, and a mystery and even part thriller.

Is there sex in my Fever series? Absolutely. Is there romance? Definitely. Does it all happen in the first book? No. It happens when it’s time

And it’s true, Darkfever is definitely not a romance novel. Don’t read it and expect to find butterflies and sweet kisses. (You will, however, find lots of seduction and sexual tension.) I didn’t know anything about the Fever series when I first started reading it.  The only reason I decided to pick it up was because it was part of a list of recommended paranormal romance series on Goodreads. Naturally I expected a love story, but that wasn’t the case, at least not for Darkfever.  Nevertheless, I enjoyed the first book a lot and couldn’t wait to get my hands on Bloodfever after it was over. And like KMM promised, there was plenty of romance in the next books 🙂

(I think KMM should add two more questions to her FAQs, and they are : “Why is Jericho Barrons so hot?” and “Where can I get my own?“.  Seriously, that guy had me swooning over the books from start to finish.  Well … maybe not at the start, but I was definitely drooling over him by the end of the first book.)

Anyway, I’m going to end this review here because I have things I need to do (like read the entire series again from start to finish, and start browsing Goodreads for new book recommendations).  But before I go, I want to tell you once again that THIS SERIES WAS AWESOME and if you’re into chick lit and paranormal romance, you should definitely give this a try.  As for my rating, I give this book 5 out of 5 stars 🙂


4 thoughts on “Book Review : Fever series

  1. Pingback: Week 33/52 : Some people bring out the worst in you, others bring out the best, and then there are those remarkably rare, addictive ones who just bring out the most. Of everything. « What I have shown you is reality …

  2. Pingback: Favorite quotes from the Fever series « What I have shown you is reality …

  3. Pingback: Looking back on 2012 « What I have shown you is reality …

  4. Pingback: Books read in 2012 « What I have shown you is reality …

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s