Favorite quotes from the Fever series

I’ve been missing the Fever series, so I decided to put together some of my favorite quotes from the books.  Enjoy!

border

DARK FEVER

“Movies tell you what to think. A good book lets you choose a few thoughts for yourself.”

“You, Ms. Lane, are a menace to others! A walking, talking catastrophe in pink!”

“Last night you said you wanted to know what to expect so you could better select your attire. I told you we were going to visit a vampire in a Goth-den tonight. Why, then, Ms. Lane, do you look like a perky rainbow?”

“I said breathe. Not do a fish-out of-water imitation.”

“Okay, Barrons, it’s time.”

“I am not helping you shave your legs.” he said instantly.

“Oh please. As if I’d let you.”

“You never knew what you could get away with until you tried.”

“Don’t accuse me of being morbid when I’m merely the product of a culture that buries the bones of the ones they love in pretty, manicured flower gardens so they can keep them nearby and go talk to them whenever they feel troubled or depressed. That’s morbid. Not to mention bizarre. Dogs bury bones, too.”

“Beautiful women rarely possess sufficient depth of character to survive without their pretty feathers.”

“Hope strengthens, fear kills.”

“All my life, up until that moment, I’d had a warm, protective blanket wrapped around me, knitted of aunts and uncles, purled of first and second and third cousins, knot-tied with grandmas and grandpas and greats. That blanket had just dropped from my shoulders. I felt cold, lost and alone.”

“It’s often only in the lies we refuse to speak that any truth can be heard at all.”

“The power of thought is far greater than most people ever realize.”

“I wondered what one wore to visit a vampire. The chic red sweater set didn’t go so well with my darker hair, and I was afraid it might be construed as a flirtatious invitation to color me bloodier.”

border

BLOOD FEVER

“One day you will kiss a man you can’t breathe without, and find that breath is of little consequence.”

“I was about to look away when he reached across the seat, touched my jaw with his long, strong, beautiful fingers, and caressed my face.

Being touched by Jericho Barrons with kindness makes you feel like you must be the most special person in the world. It’s like walking up to the biggest, most savage lion in the jungle, lying down, placing your head it its mouth and, rather than taking your life, it licks you and purrs.”

“I couldn‘t tell the difference between the two of you anymore!” he roared.

Then you weren‘t looking hard enough! I‘m the one with boobs!”

I know you‘re the one with boobs!They‘re in my fucking face every fucking time I turn around!”

“What are you Barrons?”

“The one who will never let you die, and that’s more, Ms Lane, than anyone in your life has been able to say to you. More than anyone else can do”

“I would wear pink because I knew my future was anything but rosy. I would accessorize myself to the hilt, and I would wear flirty shoes because my world needed more beauty to counter all the ugliness in it. I would wear pink because I hated gray, I didn’t deserve white, and I was sick of black.”

“Punch me.”

“Don’t be absurd.”

“Come on, punch me, Barrons.”

“I’m not punching you.”

“I said, punch–OW!”

He decked me.”

“Fire isn’t good or bad. It just burns.”

“Flirtation doesn’t have to go somewhere; it certainly doesn’t need to end up in bed. I like to think of it as a little friendlier than a handshake, a little less intimate than a kiss. It’s a way of saying hi, you look great, have a wonderful day. A tasteful flirtation, played out people who understand the rules, leave everyone feeling good and can perk up the bluest mood.”

“I’m sorry your pretty little world got all screwed up, but everybody’s does, and you go on. It’s how you go on that defines you.”

“Even I don’t know what you’re doing and I know everything’

“Never try to humanize me.”

“Your little fairy prince takes you to the beach, but I take you to cemeteries at night? Is that the problem Ms. Lane?”

”Bloody hell, what did he do to you?What did you do? Piss him off on purpose?
”He told me…you …weren’t coming.”

“The wisest man is the silent one. Examine his actions. Judge him by them.”

“I want us to be… what is your word? Friends.”

“Psychotic rapists don’t have friends.”

“I was unaware you were a psychotic rapist or I would not have offered.”

“You can’t go forward if you’re looking backward. You run into walls that way.”

“Being nearly naked around Barrons felt a lot like going to a shark convention lightly basted in blood.

“Anyone worth knowing breaks once. Once. No shame, no foul if you survive it. You did.”

border

FAE FEVER

“It‘s funny how, when things seem the darkest, moments of beauty present themselves in the most unexpected places.”

I moistened my lips. His gaze fixed on them. I think I stopped breathing.

He jerked so sharply away that his long dark coat sliced air, and turned his back to me. “Was that an invitation, Ms.Lane?”

“If it was?” I asked, astonishing myself. What did I think I was doing?

“I don’t do hypotheticals. Little girl.”

“Truth hurts. But lies can kill.”

“Barrons’ lips twitched. I’d almost made him smile. Barrons smiles about as often as the sun comes out in Dublin, and it has the same effect on me; makes me feel warm and stupid.”

Hey, I thought you wanted to know about the Sinsar Dubh!” I was so startled by his abrupt departure that I spoke without thinking. I regretted it immediately.

I had no idea where Vlane had gone, or why he’d disappeared so suddenly, but I decided Id be wise to do the same myself.

Before I could move, a hand closed on my shoulder. “I do, Ms. Lane,” Barrons said grimly. “But first I’d like to know what the fuck you were doing kissing him.”

“Although it may not seem like it, this isn’t a story about darkness. It’s about light. Khalil Gibran says Your joy can fill you only as deeply as your sorrow has carved you. If you’ve never tasted bitterness, sweet is just another pleasant flavor on your tongue. One day I’m going to hold a lot of joy.”

“His tongue was halfway to China and you were still taking it”

“Jealous?”

“Implies emotional investment. The only investment I have in you is my time, and I’m, expecting a big payoff”

We see ourselves in other people’s eyes. It’s the nature of the human race; we are a species of reflection, hungry for it in every facet of our existence.

Maybe that’s why vampires seem so monstrous to us—they cast no reflection.

“I began to cry.

Barrons looked horrified. “Stop that immediately, Ms. Lane.”

“I can’t.” I sniffeled into my cup of cocoa so he couldn’t see my face.

“Try harder!”

I gave a great sniff and shudder, and turned it off.

“I have not been her lover for…some time,” he offered, watching me carefully.

“Oh, get over yourself!”

“I was adrift in a sea of questions and if answers were lifeboats, I was in imminent danger of drowning.”

“Her absence in my life was so painful that it was a presence.”

“…Do you want to have sex with Barrons?”

“No, I don’t want to have sex with Jericho Barrons.”

“Lie.”

“The most confused we ever get is when we’re trying to convince our heads of something our heart knows is a lie.”

border

DREAM FEVER

“You’re leaving me, Rainbow Girl.”

“He shakes me.”Say my name.”

“No.”

“Damn it,would you just cooperate?”

“I do not know that word,’cooperate.'”

“Obviously,”he growls.

“I think you make up words.”

“I do not make up words.”

“Do,too.”

“Do not.”

“Too.”

“Not.”

I laugh

“Woman you make me crazed,”he mutters.

We do this often.Get into childish arguments.He is stubborn,my beast.”

“I was talking to V’lane, old woman, not you.”

“He doesn’t answer to you.”

“Really?” I laughed. “You think he answers to you?” Only a fool would think a Fae Prince answered to anyone. Especially when one needed one.

“Are you fighting over me, MacKayla? I find this…attractive.” V’lane tossed his golden head. “I have seen this in humans before. It is called jealousy.”

“If that’s what you think, you have a problem interpreting subtle human emotions. It’s not called jealously. It’s called ‘you’re pissing me off’”

“Four: If you try to force yourself into my head, I will force myself into your pants.”

“I have a black sense of humor. You try living my life, see what color yours turns.”

“Jericho Barrons was my poison now.”

“You hated my rainbows, now you don’t like my leather. Is there anything you like on me?”

“When do these three days expire?”

“That’s what pisses me off. I don’t know. He was annoyingly vague.”

“The nerve. Threatening you and not being precise about it.”

“So how did he look at me?”

“Like it was his birthday and you were the cake.”

“ How much truth can you take, Ms. Lane?”

“He makes a pained sound. “Bloody hell, woman, I think a part of me wants to keep you this way.”

“Strength wasn‘t about being able to do everything alone. Strength was knowing when to ask for help and not being too proud to do it.”

border

SHADOW FEVER

“Accept me or kill me MacKayla. But choose. Fucking Choose.”

“He pulls me around and kisses me. “You’re Mac,” he says. “And I’m Jericho. And nothing else matters. Never will. You exist in a place that is beyond all rules for me. Do you understand that?”

I do.

Jericho Barrons just told me he loves me.”

“Some people bring out the worst in you, others bring out the best, and then there are those remarkably rare, addictive ones who just bring out the most. Of everything. They make you feel so alive that you’d follow them straight into hell, just to keep getting your fix.”

“V’lane: Are you busy tomorrow MacKayla ?

Barrons: She’s working on old texts with me.

V’lane: Ah. Old texts. A banner day at the bookstore.

Barrons: We’re translating Kama Sutra…with interactive aids.”

“Time heals.

No, it doesn’t. At best, time is the great leveler, sweeping us all into coffins. We find ways to distract ourselves from the pain. Time is neither scalpel nor bandage. It is indifferent. Scar tissue is not a good thing. It is merely the wound’s other face.”

“Some things are sacred. Until you act like they’re not. Then you lose them”

“Dying is overrated. Human sentimentality has twisted it into the ultimate act of love. Biggest load of bullshit in the world. Dying for someone isn’t the hard thing. The man that dies escapes. Plain and simple. Game over. End of pain…Try living for someone. Through it all-good, bad, thick, thin, joy, suffering. That’s the hard thing.”

“Love knows no right or wrong. Love is. Only is.”

“We have to save the world,” I reminded him.

He reached for me. “The world can wait. I can’t.”

“Ancient eyes had stared at me, filled with ancient grief. And something more. Something so alien and unexpected that I’d almost burst into tears. I’d seen many things in his eyes in the time that I’d known him: lust, amusement, sympathy, mockery, caution, fury. But I had never seen this.

Hope. Jericho Barrons had hope, and I was the reason for it.

“He’s trying not to laugh. I tell him I would have doomed mankind for him, and he’s trying not to laugh.”

“If you want a war with me, you’ll get one. Just try me. Give me an excuse to go play in that dark place inside my head.”

“Safety is a fence, and fences are for sheep.”

“But not his car,” I said, a smile tugging at my lips. Barrons would go nuts if he knew that V’lane had touched his Viper. And stretched out on it nude? He’d have an aneurysm.”

“I close my eyes and ride the mindless bliss. It’s all I can do. Be. Feel. Live.

I’m Pri-ya again.

I always will be with this man.”

“…It’s not a faucet. Love’s a bloody river with level-five rapids. Only a catastrophic act of nature or a dam has any chance of stopping it–and then usually only succeeds in diverting it. Both measures are extreme and change the terrain so much you end up wondering why you bothered. No landmarks to gauge your position when it’s done. Only way to survive is to devise new ways to map out life. You loved her yesterday, you love her today. And she did something that devastates you. You’ll love her tomorrow.”

“I am not insane. I was sane enough to piss circles around you. I killed food for you. I picked up your things. Who else do you know that would have done that? V’Lane doesn’t have dick enough to piss with.”

“It’s so easy to lie. What’s even worse is how we cling to those lies. We beg for the illusion so we don’t have to face the truth, don’t have to feel alone.”

“Evil is a completely different creature, Mac. Evil is bad that believes it’s good.”

“Unpredictable as a hungry lion, he might be feared by everyone else, but he never ripped out my throat, only licked me, and, if his tongue was a little rough sometimes, it was worth it to walk beside the king of the jungle.” ”

“When you know who I am. Let me be your man.”

“Don’t you think for a fucking minute you can put all that in your eyes and then die. That’s bullshit. I’m not doing this again.”

“Sometimes I worry that there’s not enough room in my brain for both my dreams and reality.  That I’m a hard drive with limited gigabytes and one day I won’t be able to maintain the firewall between them. I wonder if that’s what senility is.

“There’s nothing I can’t live with. Only things I won’t live without.”

Leave a Reply

