Old Multiply blog entries – part 1

As most of you probably know, Multiply is shutting down all personal accounts and turning into some sort of online marketplace.  I don’t really have a problem with that since it’s been years since I uploaded anything there, but I do remember a time when I used to check it everyday and visit all my friends’ sites.  I mainly used my site to upload photos, but I did post a few things on my blog there and I decided I’d like to keep them, so I thought I’d dump some of them here for preservation:

Title: NEWBIE

Date: April 20, 2007

Haller people! (person?)

Wow, my first blog entry here. Well sa ngayon si Moya lang naman makakabasa nito kasi sya ang nagiisang contact ko, wahehehe 🙂 I don’t intend to share my videos, pictures or blogs with anyone that is not a contact of mine. So poor Moya will have to be the sole witness of this entry for now.

I just finished uploading a video of me trying to climb a wall and some pictures for my profile. Again, these are kept private and for now, are for Moya’s eyes only 🙂

I hope to make more friends here on Multiply, but I’ll only accept invitations from people I know. Right now I’m still trying to learn how to get around the website.

Until my next entry people! (person?)

Title: Updates

Date: April 26, 2007

Hello friends!

If you happen to be a very observant person you will notice that I’ve changed the appearance of my page 🙂 I love summer!

I’ve also uploaded two new albums. One is just for random pictures I take when I get bored, and the other is for pictures taken during our last family vacation in Boracay. Enjoy enjoy 🙂

For those wondering what the hell “Booyaka” means, I must tell you, I’m not really sure of the meaning myself 😀 It was a word that Selphie Tilmitt from FF8 loved to say whenever she became excited. I’m actually not even sure how it should be said, but I found it cute and that’s why it made its way onto my page.

Anyway, I’ve added a couple more contacts here since my last update. (Last entry ko si Moya palang kasama ko dito e, wahehehe…) Right now I’m still discovering the wonders of this website. 🙂

Good news for me… I’m going to Puerto Galera with my friends! Hahaha … muntik lang naman ako katayin ni Aprille dahil super last minute na ko nagpumilit sumama, but I’m still alive, nothing a day out on the beach wouldn’t fix. I’m really excited!

Till my next update!

Title : Puerto Galera

Date: April 30, 2007

I just spent a weekend in White Beach, Puerto Galera. It was two firsts for me. My first trip to Puerto Galera, and my first beach outing with my barkada. Hooray for me!!! The eight of us (Camille, Brinks, Jean, Coy, Moya, Migs , Aprille and me) began our fun this Saturday. After a bus ride, boat ride and a lot of waiting we made it to our destination and it was time to have some fun.

Puerto Galera is a great place to hang out with your friends. Obviously, it is no comparison to Boracay. Having just come from Bora two weeks ago, comparing the beaches comes naturally. But it’s no contest, Boracay wins hands down. However this doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy myself in Puerto.

We went banana boating, got henna tattoos, pigged out, put up AGHAM posters, ate scramble, shopped, sunbathed, swam and played in the sand. True, Boracay sand is much finer and much whiter than that of Puerto Galera, and its waters are much clearer, and has much more food choices and water sports to offer … but when you’re having fun with your friends, you just don’t notice these things. My friends and I filled up those two days with memories that I will treasure forever.

This trip with the barkada made me appreciate them even more. Its just too bad that we weren’t complete. Lou and Vesma, sana next time we can all go together. It truly is wonderful to have great friends you can share these moments with. Lab u mga baks!!! 🙂

Title : Static or Kinetic

Date : May 4, 2007

If you have taken up Physics at some point, you would know that these are two types of friction that we can encounter. Obviously, static friction is experienced by an object while it is at rest up to the point when it begins to move. Once it is moving, it experiences kinetic friction.

But this entry isn’t a summary of my lecture the other day for my Physics3 laboratory class.

It is now that I begin to realize (and appreciate) how lucky I am to be able to drive myself to my destination (as long as it is within Los Banos ^_^) instead of being “static” here at our house. A few weeks ago, I’ve begun to teach my younger sister how to drive. Seeing her panic whenever she sees a person walking on the road (not on the sidewalk) or while she’s being overtaken by motorcycles brought back memories when I started driving about 4 years ago.

Unlike my sister, I actually took formal lessons from a driving instructor. That was back when I had no choice but to drive a stick shift. But now, all our cars are automatic, so we figured my sister wouldn’t need formal lessons to drive.

The thing that made me realize how lucky I am is seeing how determined my sister is to learn how to drive … and that she’s doing this all for love. Her boyfriend of 1 year (but best friend of 5 years) will be visiting from the states this month and would probably be coming over everyday here at our house for most of his visit. This poses a problem since getting to our house from the highway is very difficult and quite costly. During her boyfriend’s last visit here in the Philippines, I served as their official driver, picking him up and dropping him off at the kanto … but of course complaining all the way about having to do so. So for his upcoming visit, my sister decided she has to learn to drive (at least up to the infamous kanto) to be able to pick him up and drop him off herself.

I now appreciate greatly how I can be “kinetic” when I want to be. Its very difficult to have to rely on others to take you to where you want to go. Being able to drive to where I want makes me feel so free. I know someday my sister will feel the same, and how much she is looking forward to that day.

During the past weeks, my sister has progressed greatly, from driving at a snail’s pace along wide and empty roads, to being able to travel 30km/hr at much narrower roads ^_^ She has even been able to park the car properly a few times and has done a semi-successful three-point turn. But of course she still panics when another car gets within 3 meters of her. ^_^

Perhaps a few weeks from now, or even a few days (who knows?) she will be able to drive in heavy traffic and manage to get out unscathed. Having the proper motivation to learn gives amazing results. Love truly is a great driving force ^_^

Title : A different kind of teacher

Date : May 16, 2007

Pain…

No one in their right mind likes to feel it. And yet, I realized how important it is to have it in our lives.

I have a very low pain threshold. I hate self-inflicted pain, and I love my comfort. I would never put myself through anything that would bring me pain … at least not if I could help it.

On our last trip to Boracay this summer, my sister and I both got henna tattoos. I’ve had them before, but it was her first time. We thought it would be harmless – its just ink on your skin. According to the artist it’s suppose to wash off after a week or so … or so we thought.

Now my henna tattoo turned out fine … other than the fact that it was completely gone within a week (I thought it would last longer). But my sister wasn’t so lucky. Being a person with asthma, she has ALOT of allergies. It turned out that the ink used in henna tattoos is one of them. Right now, she has a huge rash on her arm in the shape of a dragon, which was what she had “tattooed” on her. It would be pretty cool except for the number of tiny rashes that spread across her forearms and upper body.

This weekend she had to be taken to the doctor every 6 hours to receive painful (and i mean PAINFUL) injections. I can only imagine the pain that she went through, and is still going through. During one of the sessions, two of her veins actually popped due to the incredibly viscous medicine. My mother said that my sister looked like a prisoner being tortured, writhing in pain on the hospital bed. During the two times that I went with my mom and my sister to get her shots, I had to actually step out of the room because I was afraid that I would collapse (like I said, I can’t stand needles). Talking about injections, veins popping and, worst of all, the pain makes me light headed.

It amazes me how much pain the human body can actually withstand. My sister has a much higher pain threshold than me, and to see her crying out in pain makes me think that if that were me, I would probably be unconscious. But it made me realize how important pain is to our lives.

Pain tells us when we’re suffered enough. It brings us back to reality and is an important teacher in life. It gives us new perspectives about different things. Without pain, we wouldn’t learn as much, we wouldn’t grow as well as could.

I’m not entirely sure what kind of lesson my sister learned from the pain that she’s going through right now, other than to never get a henna tattoo again. I don’t really like to think that that’s all she learned, because I feel like her pain is disproportionate to the lesson. Perhaps there is a more important lesson to be learned, I am just not aware of it at the moment. Its not my pain, so I can’t claim the lesson.

I believe that pain is a vital part of life … But I’m still not fond of it.

Title : Meredith Grey

Date : May 19, 2007

During the past few days, I have been terribly addicted to Grey’s Anatomy. I just finished the last episode of season3 and can’t wait for season 4 to come out. Meanwhile, I’d like to share some of my favorite quotes by Meredith Grey. She’s not exactly my favorite character, but I do love her when she’s drunk (or high ^_^)

“Maybe we like the pain. Maybe we’re wired that way. Because without it, I don’t know; maybe we just wouldn’t feel real. What’s that saying? Why do I keep hitting myself with a hammer? Because it feels so good when I stop.”

  “Intimacy is a four syllable word for, “Here’s my heart and soul, please grind them into hamburger, and enjoy.” It’s both desired, and feared. Difficult to live with, and impossible to live without. Intimacy also comes attached to the three R’s… relatives, romance, and roommates. There are some things you can’t escape. And other things you just don’t want to know.”

“I wish there were a rulebook for intimacy. Some kind of guide to tell you when you’ve crossed the line. It would be nice if you could see it coming, and I don’t know how you fit it on a map. You take it where you can get it, and keep it as long as you can. And as for rules, maybe there are none. Maybe the rules of intimacy are something you have to define for yourself.”

“Remember when you were a kid and your biggest worry was, like, if you’d get a bike for your birthday or if you’d get to eat cookies for breakfast? Being an adult? Totally overrated. I mean seriously, don’t be fooled by all the hot shoes and the great sex and the no parents anywhere telling you what to do. Adulthood is responsibility. Responsibility, it really does suck. Really, really sucks. Adults have to be places and do things and earn a living and pay the rent. And if you’re training to be a surgeon, holding a human heart in your hands, hello? Talk about responsibility. Kind of makes bikes and cookies look really, really good, doesn’t it? The scariest part about responsibility? When you screw up and let it slip right through your fingers.”

“It’s all about lines. The finish line at the end of residency, waiting in line for a chance at the operating table, and then there’s the most important line, the line separating you from the people you work with. It doesn’t help to get too familiar to make friends. You need boundaries, between you and the rest of the world. Other people are far too messy. It’s all about lines. Drawing lines in the sand and praying like hell no one crosses them.”

There’s another quote that I like, but I can’t find it right now. I’ll post it once I find it. Something about getting hurt when you don’t know what you want. It was said by Meredith and was for Addison. (I love Addison! ^_^)

Until next time!

Title : Desire

Date : May 26, 2007

I found the quote I was looking for. It was Meredith’s narration in the episode “Desire” in season 3 of Grey’s Anatomy. Its not really much different from the other quotes that I posted, but this one really hit home for me.

As interns, we know what we want, to become surgeons. And we’ll do anything to get there. Suffer through killer exam, endure 100-hour weeks, Stand for hours on end in operating rooms, you name it, we’ll do it. But as tough as wanting something can be, the people who suffer the most are those who don’t know what they want.

I know the feeling of not knowing what I want. Its annoying, irritating and downright frustrating. It can sometimes lead me to choose something that I soon discover to be something completely opposite of what I end up wanting.

I envy those people who are so clear about what they want in life. Those with plans on how to proceed to the next stage of their beings. Sometimes I wish there really was a Mirror of Erised to show me what I want most. Then at least that way I can start to make plans on how to get there.

Oh well, there’s really no point in me stressing over it more than I normally do. All I know is that for now, I am very happy with my life. So I guess even making the wrong decisions every now and then can be okay. As long as you’re surrounded by people you love, you can still be happy.

One thing that I do like about not really knowing what I want is that there is no “right” or “wrong” move. Since I don’t know where it is I want to end up, the path I take to get to wherever the hell that is is my own choice. There’s no visible straight line to my destination. I know that I’ll get there eventually … I’ll just take my sweet time doing so ^_^

That’s it for now.  I’ll post the rest when I find more free time.

I didn’t realize how much I used to blog back then.  I had at least one entry a week!  My posts were short, but they shared my thoughts.  These days I post very different things on my blog.  I tend to focus more on events in my life rather than what’s on my mind.  You will rarely see me post an entry here on WordPress without any pictures.  Mainly because when I started this blog I intended for it to be a photo-blog of some sort.  That’s the reason why I went with a dark background.  I know it makes reading my entries a pain in ass, but I feel like it makes my photos stand out more.  Looking at my old Multiply entries makes me miss my old blogging style.   But I suppose the main reason why I was so willing to be myself in Multiply was because I knew that only my friends had access to my entries.  It’s different when you know that what you’re writing can be read by anyone who just happens to stumble on your blog.  I’m not sure I want the world to know every single thing that goes on in my mind.  It can get pretty nasty in there, so just think of it as me doing you guys a favor by sparing you some really twisted thoughts 🙂

2 thoughts on “Old Multiply blog entries – part 1

  1. Pingback: Old Multiply blog entries – part 2 « What I have shown you is reality …

  2. Pingback: Old Multiply blog entries – part 3 (Deathly Hallows) « What I have shown you is reality …

Leave a Reply

