Old Multiply blog entries – part 3 (Deathly Hallows)

These entries were actually written sometime in July/August 2007.  But instead of dumping it together with my other old entries, I decided to make a separate post for these since they were all HP-related.   (These were my reviews for the final book of the Harry Potter series.)

Title : Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (part 1)

Date : July 24, 2007

NOTE: This is to let you know that I will not be giving out spoilers in this entry. I hate spoilers more than you can imagine and I know the joys of discovering a story’s secrets by yourself. I will mainly be talking about my feelings about the book. However, if you’re like me, someone who wants to experience all the good things firsthand, you still might not want to read this. That way when you read the book, you’ll have your own thoughts and feelings with you. But, again, no spoilers here.

So I got my copy on the evening of the 22nd (around 7:30pm), one day after the actual release date. It sucks, I know.  Because by that time three people have already texted me saying that they’ve finished the book, while I haven’t even started. The reason for the delay was that there was a misunderstanding between my Dad and I on when the book would be released. But in the end I figured I could survive another day without it, as long as no one spoils the story for me.

I was actually at a resort when the book arrived here at home. My father texted me around 5pm saying that the driver has delivered the book to our house. But I promised my sister that I would stay until around 6pm (I was her official driver).  By 7:30, I had the book in my hands and a mixture of emotions filled me up. Naturally there was excitement, for finally getting my copy.  Then there was fear that I might not like how Rowling would end Harry’s journey. And of course there was sadness knowing that this was the last book of the series. However, these feelings were nothing compared to the rollercoaster of emotions I went through as I read the final installment of Harry’s tale.

(Gosh, it’s getting quite hard to keep to that no-spoiler promise of mine … but don’t worry …)

All I can say is that JK Rowling has one hell of an imagination. She remains as unpredictable as she did throughout the entire series. (Although some of my predictions were sort of correct … hmm …).  But most of the time, just when you think the story will unfold in one way, it goes off in completely the opposite direction!

Of course Harry Potter fans should have noticed that the books continue to get darker with each installment. Naturally the Deathly Hallows, being the final book, is the darkest of them all. Honestly, if I was a parent, I’m not too sure that I would like my kids reading something as dark as this book. (Considering of course that the kids are really young …) It definitely does not fall under the category of “Children’s Books” anymore.

Now I’m sure that many of you are wondering what happens to Harry at the end of this book. Does he live? Die? Will he kill Voldemort? Does Voldemort kill him? Well I’m not going to tell you … nyahahaha! You just have to find out for yourself. All I can say is that for years I’ve been wondering what feelings Rowling’s readers would experience after reading the final book. As for me, I can say that I felt a sense of peace, and I’m happy with that. I’m still not happy that the series has to end here, but I feel that even about TV shows I watch as well. ^_^ Naturally we always want more. But I think that JK Rowling has done a great job with the ending.

My favorite HP book used to be PoA. But after reading DH I can say that it might soon replace PoA as my favorite. I loved PoA for the Patronuses, Marauder’s Map and Lupin. It was light and many secrets were revealed there. However, those who have finished HP and the DH would agree that, although it is very dark, it is still beautifully written. (And it revealed the most secrets in the entire series, obviously.) And despite all the terrible things happening in the story, Rowling never fails to show us that amazing humor of hers. Overall, I this book two thumbs up (I’d be more than happy to give it three if I had an extra thumb ^_^)

For those who haven’t read the book or haven’t finished reading it … my only advise is that you should keep a box of tissues nearby as you go. Personally, I kept a full sized towel beside me, but a box of tissues would do.

Like I promised, I won’t be giving out important plot details here … like the fact that Harry … just kidding! ^_^

I’ll be writing about my favorite scenes in about a week, maybe longer. By then most fans should have finished reading the book.

Happy reading everyone! ^_^

Present notes : PoA remains as my fave HP book 🙂  I love the Marauders 😀

Title : Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (part 2)

Date : August 6, 2007

NOTE: SPOILER ALERT!!! SPOILER ALERT!!! SPOILER ALERT!!! SPOILER ALERT!!! 

Unlike my previous entry, this will contain spoilers about the book. If you haven’t read the Deathly Hallows or haven’t finished reading it, I strongly suggest you close this window right now.

Okay, its been more than two weeks since the book came out, so I believe that most people should have finished it by now. (Although my mom is still just halfway through…) Anyway I figured it must now be safe to talk about my opinions on the book. ^_^

The scenes where I cried most:

1. It was no contest at all, the scene where Dobby died was the saddest point in the story for me. I found it strange because I’m not really a big fan of Dobby. I mean I think he’s ok, but I would have expected myself to shed more tears for Mad-Eye or even Hedwig. But it was Dobby’s death that made me cry. I suppose it was just the way the book was written. This was the point where JK Rowling gave her readers a time to mourn. In a way, I suppose I was crying about all the deaths and losses that happened so far, not just Dobby. But seriously, when they placed the jacket, socks and hat on him … that was just so heartbreaking.

2. The Prince’s Tale. This was just so sad. I bawled when Dumbledore asked Snape if he started to care about Harry after all this time and he answered “Always” …I felt so guilty for hating Snape in the 6th book after reading this. But honestly, I predicted that Dumbledore’s death had been planned between him and Snape even before the book came out. I thought Dumbledore’s plea to Snape (“Severus, please.”) was a plea for Snape to kill him, instead of having Malfoy do it.

Obviously the whole idea of how Snape was terribly in love with Lily was also sad. Especially how he wanted Harry to look at him right before he died, just so he could get a last glimpse of Lily’s eyes before his death.

3. Of course the part where Harry was walking to what he thought was his death. That also brought out some tears. Especially when Harry asked “Does it hurt?”

I suppose I cried more in this book compared to any other book I’ve read. There were times where I actually had to put down the book and stop reading for a while just to collect myself.

Scenes I laughed the most:

1. The Seven Potters. This was just so funny! The way each character reacted after they turned to Harry. When Fred and George said “Wow! We’re identical!” And then they started undressing in the kitchen and Harry felt a bit embarrassed that they weren’t covering up his body properly. And the look that Fleur gave Bill (while she was Harry) was priceless! ^_^

2. Kreacher. I LOVED Kreacher in this book! He was just too funny. The first time he made me laugh was when he started crying when Harry gave him the locket, and Ron said “Overkill mate”. I don’t know why, but I found that so~ funny! I also loved it when he hit Mundungus Fletcher over the head with a pan and wanted another go, for luck!

3. The scene in the Room of Requirement when Percy came in. Fleur tried to break the silence by asking about Teddy Lupin! That was so funny! And Lupin actually took out a picture of him from his robes!

There were just so many other scenes that I found hilarious, I can’t mention them all or this entry would never end. But of course I loved Potterwatch, Fred and George and Luna.

Severus Snape

Of course I have to say something about Snape. I hated him so much in the previous books. After reading DH, I cried so much for him and realized how brave he was. (I teared up a bit when Harry was telling his son that he was named after one of the bravest man he ever knew. I agree with him.) Snape is now one of my favorite characters.  (And I’m sure this is true for most fans as well)

Some of my predictions which came true

1. Harry was a horcrux. Duh, I think everyone knew that even before reading the book. And just like everyone, I predicted that Harry would die (Thank God he didn’t – sorta) But yeah, I knew he was a hocrux.

2. R.A.B was Regulus Black.  (Everyone probably knew this as well)

3. Snape was Dumbledore’s man ever since (again … duh!)

Hmm … not a lot there noh? I guess I’m not good at predicting stuff. But of course there were things that I was pretty much sure of before I read the book. Like Harry and Ginny would get back together, Ron and Hermione would end up married, Neville would become a Herbology teacher … etc … and of course … Voldemort dies!

Deaths in the book

This book had so much death in it, I was tearing up at almost every chapter. Of course Hedwig’s death shocked me! She was this innocent creature that didn’t deserve to die!  (Not that the others deserved it …)  But at that point, I knew things were going to get much darker. I feel sad that so many characters had to die, but Rowling said she thought long and hard about which characters would die before she wrote the book. She said, without tragedies, there wouldn’t be any heroes.

AKA “Parts that confused me…

1. This has been bothering me… Supposedly, Harry’s cloak makes him invisible and no magic can penetrate that right? But in GoF Moody’s eye can see through Harry’s invisibility cloak. But I guess I can take this as an exception since Moody’s eye is not really something you’d normally find even in the wizarding world. I mean, the Marauder’s Map also shows Harry even if he’s under the cloak.

2. Supposedly Voldemort’s name was used to track down members of the Order, right? That’s how they found Harry and the others right after they escaped at Bill and Fleur’s wedding? But they kept saying Voldemort’s name while they were in Grimmauld Place, so shouldn’t the Fideleus Charm have broken? Death Eaters should have been able to track them down at that point, but they didn’t.

(Feel free to comment or voice out your opinions about this.)

The Epilogue

As for the epilogue, I still have mixed feelings about that. It was way too happy for me.  But then again, if JK Rowling left us with a sad ending where Harry died I don’t think I’d be too happy with that either. A lot of people feel like the ending was an excerpt from a fanfiction, and now that I think about it, I sort of agree with them. It was too perfect, but at the same time, it left a lot of questions hanging. I mean, what happened to the other characters? The Dursleys, the Weasleys, the Malfoys, Kreacher? Where did Sirius go after he fell into the veil? I want to know! It leaves a lot to the imagination. But then again, Rowling is happy with how she ended the story and that’s what matters the most.

Questions?

I wanted to find out how the other characters ended up in the story. I found this site:

http://www.bloomsbury.com/harrypotter/content.asp?sec=3&sec2=1

Its an interview with JK Rowling and it answers so~ many questions. Like what each character ends up doing in the future. Here are some of the things mentioned there

  1. Ginny played for the Holyhead Harpies, but stopped to have children, ending up as a Quidditch correspondent for the Daily Prophet
  2. Harry became Head of the Auror Department
  3. Kingsley became the Minister of Magic
  4. Ron helped George continue the joke shop, but later became an Auror
  5. George had a son and named him Fred
  6. Luna became a naturalist
  7. Percy became a high ranking official in the ministry
  8. Hermione helped improve house elves’ rights by working in the Department for the Regulation and Control of Magical Creatures, but later on moved to the Department of Magical Law Enforcement to help muggle-borns.

(Just check out the site if you’re interested. JK Rowling answers a lot of questions there.)

So fellow Potterfans … I hope you enjoyed the Deathly Hallows as much as I did. I want to say thank you to J.K. Rowling for allowing us to know Harry Potter and the wizarding world over these past few years. I am extremely sad that the series is now finished, but like I mentioned in my past entry, as long as Rowling is happy about it, then I’m happy too.

Links to old Multiply blog entries:

Leave a Reply

