Week 39/52 : Teddy bears don’t need hearts as they are already stuffed with love.

A gift from Ckloy 🙂 Isn’t he adorable? I haven’t named him yet, but Ckloy calls him Panget.

I was browsing for quotes about teddy bears online, and I found a lot of good ones. Aside from the one I chose for the title, here are some of my favorites:

In our childhood, teddy bears are warm companions – good listeners, never critical, always reassuring. They are bear-shaped security blankets, huggable enough to fold in our arms, a perfect fit for our laps.

-Peggy and Alan Bialosky

A teddy bear is your childhood wrapped up in faded yellow fur, and as such, he commands affection long after he is out grown.

-Pam Brown

It’s hard to visualize the toys you had fifty years ago – all save bear. He’s as clear as if he were sitting on the desk in front of you…of course…he probably is.

-Pam Brown

The Teddy Bear is the last toy that we part with. He is all that is left of that lost world where solutions seemed possible and a friend who saw no fault and made no reproach, waited forever in the old armchair.

-Pam Brown

There are few sadder sights than a wet bear hanging from a clothesline by its ears. It says a lot for them that they never complain.

-Pam Brown

To a child, Teddy is a bridge between a human and and an animal. He doesn’t mind being dressed in ridiculous hats, or even being read to. You can blame him for anything, and he won’t deny it. His marvelous face expresses anything a child wants to feel or hear.

-Peter Bull

A bear grows more alive with age. No one with one ounce of sensitivity could ever consign a bear to the dustbin.

-Johnnie Hague

 

To be honest, when I was younger I didn’t have a teddy bear that I carried around everywhere … but I did have Muning. She’s a cat plushie that my mom bought for me during our stop-over in Thailand when we went to visit my dad in Myanmar for the first time.  I think this was back in 1992 (or 1993?). I loved that kitty so much!~  I slept with her every night, told her about my day, cried with her when I’m sad, etc … She had a little pouch in her belly where I liked to keep my “treasures”.

Reading those quotes above made me miss Muning a lot.  I still have her of course – just like what the last quote said, no one in their right mind would throw out their old teddy bear (or in my case, kitty).  I took her out again after reading those quotes, and a wave of nostalgia just washed over me.  I remembered all the moments we shared together, and how I used to talk to her every night before I went to bed.  I can’t recall when I stopped doing that, but I’m guessing it was sometime around middle school.  She’s really old and dirty now, but I don’t think I’ll ever have the heart to throw her away (or even give her away to the less fortunate, like Andy did in Toy Story 3… she’s family!)

(Wallpaper texture came from HERE)

2 thoughts on “Week 39/52 : Teddy bears don’t need hearts as they are already stuffed with love.

Leave a Reply

