Etude House Bubble Hair Color (Wine Red)

I was organizing my files yesterday when I found these photos.  I realized I never blogged about my first Etude House bubble hair dye experience.  These were taken sometime around the end of June.  The last time I dyed my hair before this was around late January or early February, so my roots were pretty horrendous:

DSC08650

DSC08654

The hair dye I used:

DSC08655

DSC08659

The kit contained a pump with some sort of liquid inside (I think it was the developer, but I could be wrong), a sachet with the color, gloves, a plastic cape and the conditioner.

 

It also came with instructions, but it was in Korean so it didn’t help me much:

DSC08660

First things first : put the cape and gloves on to avoid staining yourself

DSC08663

Don’t I look dashing?

Then empty the sachet with the color into the bottle with the developer(?):

DSC08666

It turned into a sick shade of greenish brown after mixing:

DSC08667

 

Then after this you’re supposed to gently shake the bottle by turning it side to side.  After this was done, you can just use the pump the get the foam that you will use to dye your hair:

DSC08669

The foam was purple for some reason

Applying it to my hair was pretty simple, but naturally I wasn’t able to take pictures of myself during the process.  I’ve only used Revlon’s Colorsilk dye in the past, and I can tell you that this Etude House dye is a lot simpler to use.  (But I still managed to make a mess of my bathroom.)

My hand and the bottle after applying everything to my hair:

DSC08671

 

The only thing I didn’t really like about the process was how watery the foam was.  I’m not sure if this is because I’ve had the dye sitting on my shelf for over a year and it’s gone bad, or that’s the way it’s supposed to be.  I probably should have used a shower cap after applying it to my hair (the kit didn’t come with one though) because I ended up dripping all over my pillow and staining it.

Anyway, after about 40 minutes (if I remember correctly) I washed the dye off in the shower.  It’s a good thing I read a few reviews online which told me that it’s normal for your hair to feel a little stiff afterwards, because my hair felt like straw when I washed it!  But after applying the conditioner that came with the dye, it felt smooth and silky again.

The results:

DSC08681

DSC08686

 

DSC08682

 

DSC08683

Ultra red hair!

I do wish it was a bit more on the burgundy side, but I still loved it.  It was so vibrant and such a big change from my past hair color!  Like I said in a previous blog entry, it had been over a year since I had red hair.  I’ve been sticking to medium to dark browns before this because I felt that my hair looked healthier that way.

Now, while I do love the color and the simplicity of the whole thing, I didn’t really like how quickly my hair faded.  Again I’m not sure if that’s because I used dye that was over a year old, but my hair turned brown again after a few weeks.  It still had hints of red in it but not as vibrant as before.  Also, for about two weeks after this, the water in the shower would turn red every time I washed my hair.  I had to make sure to use dark colored towels to avoid staining my white ones.  To be honest, I was a little disappointed with how quickly the color faded that I decided to go back to using Revlon Colorsilk.  But I’m willing to give Etude House another chance.  I’m thinking of using Mocha Pink next time 😀

So to summarize:

What I liked:

  • Easy application
  • Vibrant color
  • Kit contained pretty much everything you need
  • Affordable

What I didn’t like:

  • The formula was a little watery
  • The color faded a bit too quickly (turned the water red every time I showered)

 

Will I repurchase:  At first I was so disappointed with how quickly the color faded that wasn’t willing to give it another chance, but after thinking about it, I think I will.  I’ll be sure to choose a different color and use it immediately though, to verify if the fading was just the effect of using old dye.

3 thoughts on “Etude House Bubble Hair Color (Wine Red)

  1. Pingback: Week 27/52 : It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for something you are not. « What I have shown you is reality …

  2. Pingback: INSTABITS : December 2012 « What I have shown you is reality …

  3. Pingback: Looking back on 2012 « What I have shown you is reality …

Leave a Reply

