Week 49/52 : Elegance is not about being noticed, it’s about being remembered

Another portrait we took while playing with my flash. This was shot the same day as Ezra’s samurai portrait.  This was the result of our Rurouni Kenshin fangirl moments after we watched the movie.  Rurouni Kenshin was an anime we watched avidly growing up.  Seeing it on the big screen was like having our childhood dreams come true.

I really love how this shot turned out.  I do think that my face is a little too bright, but that’s alright.  I probably should have adjusted the flash … but I’m still learning how to play with light.  I’ll get it right someday XD  I used two strobes for this shot as well.  One was aimed at my face to give it some light, and it was bounced using a car reflector to illuminate the back of the yukata.  The other strobe was behind me to separate me from the background.

This was how our set up looked like:

IMG_6175

IMG_6179

Pretty fancy eh?  NOT!   We did the shoot in the middle of our living room.  I don’t have a strobist kit (yet – hopefully that will be fixed soon) so we had to make do with what we have.  I don’t have light stands so I used two tripods to mount my strobes.  We used Ezra’s car windshield cover as a reflector and propped it up using some stools.  The umbrella was just a regular white one we had lying around the house. I initially planned on using it to diffuse light, but I couldn’t get it right so we ended up doing away with it.

Thanks to my sister for styling my hair and helping me take the shot! 😀

(Quote in the title is by Giorgo Armani)

Leave a Reply

