Looking back on 2012

It’s a bit late, but HAPPY 2013 everyone!  I meant to do this earlier but I’ve been trying to savor the last few days of my vacation.  Classes resume in two days so I figured I should finish this now or risk not doing it at all.

I mentioned in my 2011 recap that that was one of my most challenging and difficult years, so I’m happy to report that 2012 was the exact opposite.  The past year has been wonderful to me!  Everything I’ve worked for and all the challenges I faced in 2011 were worth it because they all helped make 2012 amazing.

Anyway, here are some of the moments that made 2012 so memorable for me:

JANUARY

IMG_2827 copy

FEBRUARY

  • Attended the February Fair with Ezra and my mom
  • Agreed to let Ezra cut my bangs.  (There’s actually a more meaningful reason behind this besides vanity, but I’m not quite ready to share it with the rest of the world just yet …)
  • Baked Valentine cookies with Ezra for the first time
  • Found an owl in our backyard
  • Attended Kat’s thesis proposal defense in UPD

MARCH

DSC08440 copy

APRIL

DSC08501 copy

MAY

JUNE

  • New book series obsession : Dark Swan (another series by Richelle Mead)
  • Attended a week-long teaching seminar about college teaching
  • Started teaching at the Physics Divsion again 😀
  • Celebrated Raffy’s graduation and his earning the “Programmer of the Year” award by having lunch at T.G.I.Friday’s. Congrats Raffy!
  • Attended the Toycon with Ckloy, Ezra and our cousins (where my trusty old 18-55mm lens died on me T__T)
  • Celebrated Father’s Day by having dinner at Isdaan
  • Celebrated my dad’s birthday (and Ninang’s wedding anniversary) by having lunch at Rack’s
  • New puppies!
  • Dyed my hair red again

DSC08682

JULY

AUGUST

IMG_7084

552550_10151086059858044_1997600565_n

SEPTEMBER

IMG_8798

OCTOBER

IMG_3509

IMG_3770a (5)

IMG_1009


NOVEMBER

  • Baked cookies and rum balls with Amie and April
  • Start of the new semester  (First time handling the Aphy 104 lecture class!)
  • Moved to a different office, which resulted to me being room mates with Amie and Kat again 😀
  • Attended Ma’am Ann’s baby shower
  • Started attending the FPPF’s Advanced Photography workshop
  • Practice for Faculty Follies began
  • Got my first speedlight 😀

DECEMBER

  • Celebrated my 7th anniversary with Ckloy ❤
  • Started experimenting with using different lighting setups for Ezra’s and my 52-week project
  • Faculty Follies!
  • Did our yearly rounds around Kalayaan and Sta. Cruz
  • Graduated from FPPF’s Advanced Photography workshop 😀  (Where I placed 2nd in the bridal photography category ^___^)
  • Attended a bunch of Christmas parties
  • Celebrated Christmas with loved ones (family and my girls)
  • Went to Coron for a short family vacation
  • Prepared for the new year 😀

IMG_6175

As you can see, 2012 was truly a wonderful year for me.  Lots of new experiences and new friends.  And unlike last year, I didn’t spend the majority of the year on the brink of depression.  I’m pretty sure that this mainly has to do with the fact that I’m back home in LB again.  Nothing makes me happier than having my friends and family near me.  Hopefully I can say the same thing at the end of 2013.

Writing this entry made me realize how little I blogged this year.  A few years ago I used to blog about every little thing that happened to me, but these days I don’t have the time do to that.  Fortunately, this is also the year that I got my first smart phone and discovered Instagram, so I was still able to document the little bits and pieces of my life.  So although I don’t have a lot of entries about life’s little events this year, I did start doing INSTABITS here on my blog.  Basically it’s a place where I dump all my Instagram photos.  I think that it’s a great way for me to keep track of what I’ve been up to every month.  So if you weren’t bored to tears by this entry and would like to see the little things I’ve been up to this year, you can go ahead and check out my INSTABITS entries for 2012 by clicking on THIS LINK.

So that ends my recap for 2012.  I hope your year was as incredible as mine and that 2013 will be just as fabulous 😀

Leave a Reply

