Books read in 2012

As you probably know (if you read my blog), Ckloy gave me an iPod last March, which I use mainly to read ebooks.  (My favorite iPod app would definitely have to be Stanza.)  I’ve always enjoyed reading but I don’t always have space in my purse for a book, so I love the fact that my iPod is so tiny that I don’t even need a purse sometimes, I can just keep it in my pocket.  I never realized how much time is wasted waiting in line at the grocery, being stuck in traffic, arriving early at a meeting place when going out with a friend, etc.  So now, instead of just standing/sitting around and staring in to space, I just read.  Books have saved me from boredom numerous times.  Because of this, I’ve gone through quite a number of them over the past year.

To keep track of the books I’ve read (most of them were book series), I decided to make a Goodreads account.  I figured it’s also a good way to get recommendations based on the books I’ve read and liked.  Anyway, I thought i’d share with you some of my reads from 2012, and my ratings for each one:

border

Hunger Games series (Suzanne Collins) – I normally don’t enjoy dystopian novels, but I loved this series and I even made a review for it HERE.  The concept of the games and the TV show was just brilliant.  5 out out 5 stars. (I read this before Ckloy gave me my iPod so I have the physical copies of the books.)

border
Uglies series (Scott Westerfield) – This was the first series I read on my iPod.  I found it while searching for book recommendations online.  Supposedly it’s reminiscent of the Hunger Games, but I didn’t enjoy it as much.  I read the first three books (Uglies, Pretties and Specials) but I skipped The Extras.  I liked the concept behind the story though.  I thought the idea of living as an “Ugly” until you turn 16 and getting a mandatory surgery after that to become “Pretty” was interesting 🙂  It actually made me think about what’s happening in the world at the moment.  These days, getting cosmetic surgery is becoming more and more socially acceptable.  It’s not that hard to imagine a future where everyone will be expected to go under the knife to make themselves prettier.  I give the series 3.5 out of 5 stars.

border

Vampire Academy series (Richelle Mead) –  If you read my blog, you probably know how obsessed I was with this series. I’m not going to talk about it again in this entry, so you can read just go and read my review HERE if you’re interested.  I gave it 4.9 out of 5 stars.

border

Georgina Kincaid series (Richelle Mead) – After reading Vampire Academy, I looked up Richelle Mead and found that she wrote two other series for adults (Vampire Academy was Young Adult) so I decided to try those as well.  I’m glad I did because I I loved the Georgina Kincaid series.   I gave it 4.8 out of 5 stars in my review (which you can read HERE)

border

Dark Swan series (Richelle Mead) – The last complete Richelle Mead series.  I really enjoyed the story and the concept behind the book, but the protagonist irritated me so I only gave it 4 out of 5 stars.  (Read my review  HERE.).  

border

The Immortals #1 : Evermore (Alyson Noel) – I tried reading this because it came up in my book recommendations but I abandoned it after about 3 chapters.  It was a little too shallow for my liking.  I couldn’t stand how insecure the main character was.  This was Young Adult so perhaps I would have enjoyed it if I read it back when I was younger.  1 out of 5 stars.

border

Demonica series (Larissa Ione) – Another book series I picked up because it came highly recommended on Goodreads.  It was alright I suppose.  I prefer reading books with a female protagonist, but I enjoyed it anyway.  I should probably warn you that this is definitely NOT Young Adult.  The book titles alone should be a dead giveaway of how much sex the story contain (Pleasure Unbound, Desire Unchained, Passion Unleashed, etc).  But this shouldn’t come as a surprise since the main characters are incubi/succubi.  3.5 out of 5 stars.

border

Bloodlines #1 and 2 : Bloodlines and Golden Lily (Richelle Mead) – An ongoing series that Richelle Mead is currently working on.  It’s actually a spin-off of the Vampire Academy series.  The story focuses on Sydney Sage, an alchemist.  She was one of the minor character in the VA series.  I wrote a post about my thoughts on Bloodlines (HERE) but I only finished reading Golden Lily recently and haven’t had time to make a review.  I gave it 3.7 out of 5 stars.

border

Fever series (Karen Marie Moning) – I absolutely LOVED this series.  If I had to choose, this would probably be my favorite book series for 2012.  I loved Mac, she’s amazing.  I really liked the fact that she grew so much as the story progressed.  I enjoyed reading about the different Seelie and Unseelie creatures, and the Fae legends.  And of course I can’t forget Jericho Barrons. *swoons* I’ve been trying to get a hold of Karen Marie Moning’s other books (particularly the  Highlander series) but they’re a bit difficult to find 😦  Anyway, I give this series full marks : 5 out of 5 stars 😀  (Read my review HERE)

border

FBI/US Attorney series (Julie James) – After months of reading nothing but Paranomal Romance and Urban Fantasies, I decided to switch things up a bit by picking up this Contemporary Romance series.  This was around the time I started getting busy with work and I just wanted something light to read before going to bed.  I enjoyed the books a lot and I can’t wait for the next one to be released.  4 out of 5 stars.

border

Practice Makes Perfect (Julie James) – Another light read by the same author. 3.8 out of 5 stars.

border

Just the Sexiest Man Alive (Julie James) – 3.5 out of 5 stars.

border

Writer Friends #1 : Sex, Lies, and Online Dating (Rachel Gibson) – It was alright.  Pretty straight forward story, but I enjoyed it. I liked the combination of romance and mystery.  I tried reading the other books in the series but I didn’t like them.  3.5 out of 5 stars.

border

Boy series (Meg Cabot) – I thought it was interesting how the books were written in email/journal/letter format.  I enjoyed the first book and the second one was okay but I wasn’t too fond of the third one.  Overall I give the entire series 3.5 out of 5 stars.

border

Megan Meade’s Guide to the McGowan Boys (Kate Bryan) – Didn’t really like it, it was a little too fanfic-y.  But I can see why it would appeal to a younger audience. 2.3 out of 5 stars.

border

Are you there God, it’s me Margaret (Judy Blume) – Judy Blume was one of my favorite authors growing up.  I remember reading her Fudge series in the 3rd grade.  “Are you there God, it’s me Margaret” is a good read for young kids since it tackles serious issues like puberty, friendship, and the value of religion in one’s life – while keeping an open mind.  I think this is a book that all young girls should pick up at least once. 3.5 out of 5 stars.

border

Kiss an Angel (Susan Elizabeth Phillips) – I decided to give this a try because it had a good ratings on Goodreads. I’m glad I did because I ended up loving it.  I finished the entire book in 1 day 🙂  4.8 out of 5 stars.

border

Chicago Stars series (Susan Elizabeth Phillips) – I actually tried reading “It Had to be You” (the first book in the series) earlier this year, but I didn’t like it that much so I ended up abandoning it.  But after I read “Kiss An Angel”, I decided to give it another try. Surprisingly I ended up enjoying it the 2nd time around.  The rest of the books were pretty good too.  (Although I’m still midway through “Natural Born Charmer” – the final book in the series.)  I give this 4 out of 5 stars.

border

A Girl Like You (Emma Burgess) –  It’s a cute love story, but a bit forgettable.  3.7 out of 5 stars.

border
Flat Out Love (Jessica Park) – A little strange (Flat Finn sorta creeped me out), but still a nice read.  3.5 out of 5 stars.

border
Easy (Tammara Webber) – Another book that kept popping up on my recommendations page.  I’m definitely glad I gave this a try because I absolutely loved it. Lucas/Langdon was so sweet ❤  5 out of 5 stars.

border
Anna and the French Kiss (Stephanie Perkins) – This had high ratings on Goodreads, but unfortunately I didn’t enjoy it that much.  Although I understand why young girls would like it.  2.5 out of 5 stars.

border
What a Boy Wants #1 ( Nyrae Dawn) – Typical teen love story.  A little too fanfic-y.  2.5 out of 5 stars.

border

Perfect Chemistry series (Simone Elkeles) – I really enjoyed this.  My favorite would have to be the 2nd book (Rules of Attraction).  I was a little iffy about the series at first, since the story centered around gang wars and I’m not much for violence, but the author didn’t go overboard with it so it was okay.  4.7 out of 5 stars.

border
Between the Lines#1 (Tammara Webber) – I picked this up because I liked “Easy” so much.  Unfortunately, despite being written by the same author, I found this a little boring. I didn’t bother trying to read the other books in the series.  2.8 out of 5 stars.

border
Going Too Far (Jeniffer Echols) – For some reason, I find love stories involving cops, spies, secret agents, investigators, etc. very entertaining.  (Which is probably why I enjoyed the FBI/US Attorney series so much).  3.6 out of 5 stars.

border
Catch of the Day (Kristan Higgins) – Another really light read.  The plot’s very basic and straightforward but I liked it.  3.6 out of 5 stars.

border
Sabina Kane series (Jaye Wells) – After all those love stories, I missed reading books about supernatural beings and so I ended up switching back to paranormal romance and urban fantasies.  This popped up in my recommendations so I decided to give it a try.  Sadly, it didn’t suck me in as much as the other PR/UF series I’ve read.  In fact, there were a few times when I had to force myself to keep reading the books.  It wasn’t horrible to the point that I had to abandon the series, although I did consider it a couple of times. 3.5 out of 5 stars.

border

According to Goodreads, I read a total of 68 books this year (not including the one I abandoned).  That’s a pretty good number if you ask me.  This mainly has to do with the fact that I spent the first half of 2012 unemployed, so I had a lot of free time.  Since I’m working now, I don’t have that much time to read.  I probably won’t be able to finish as many books this year, but that doesn’t mean I won’t do my best 😀

If you’ve read any of the books I’ve mentioned above (or you plan on reading them), feel free to leave your thoughts below in the comments.  And if you have any recommendations for me, I would definitely appreciate it ^__^

One thought on “Books read in 2012

  1. Pingback: Books Read in 2013 | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

