Week 6/52 : Darkness stirs and wakes imagination

First photomanip of the year. I haven’t done one of these since FOREVER! Ever since I started taking photography classes, I’ve sort of been trying to do minimal editing on my photos. Our lecturers told us that most photographers these days shoot “with Photoshop in mind”, and that we should avoid this. I understand where they’re coming from, but I just love Photoshop too much. Besides, this is an entirely different thing anyway. Photomanipulation is a completely different art form. It’s not like anyone’s going to believe that this is real – my hair doesn’t look this good IRL.

Shot this in my bedroom as usual. The background was premade by an artist on deviantArt. The rain, water, lightning and hair extensions were all downloaded from there as well. I really enjoyed making this, and I love how it turned out. It may not be my best photomanip to date, but I’m just happy that I was able to put my Photoshop skills to use once again.

 Credits:

Title came from the lyrics of “Music of the Night” from The Phantom of the Opera

Leave a Reply

