Week 12/52 : You can close your eyes to the things you do not want to see, but you cannot close your heart to the things you do not want to feel

Another simple shot. I probably won’t be doing photomanips for a while, at least not until I’ve managed to catch up on my project. But I actually really like how this turned out. It was a lucky shot too. I was setting up my soft box and practicing how to pose when this was taken. Just this one shot. Then afterwards I changed into something nicer and started trying to pose more seriously. But after reviewing my photos, this was the one I liked the most so I decided to just go with it. It’s a bit dark and a little emo but I’m happy with it 😀

I think this was inspired by all the book covers I’ve been seeing on Goodreads lately. Most of the covers that’s been popping up on my newsfeed/recommendations seem to have a similar theme – muted tones, gloomy aura and a girl who’s not looking at the camera (Reason to Breathe, Edge of Never, Captive in the Dark, On Dublin Street, Such a Rush, etc …). I haven’t actually read all those books (just Edge of Never and On Dublin Street) but I am fascinated with the covers. They say you should never judge a book by its cover, but there’s no point denying that it’s one of the first things we notice about them.

The title came from a quote in the book Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma. I picked it up because it appeared in my recommendations and it had really high ratings. It’s about a brother and a sister who fall in love with each other, and I didn’t like it at all. I found it a bit disturbing to be honest.  But it did have some nice quotes XD

Leave a Reply

