Week 17/52 : Having perfected our disguise, we spend our lives searching for someone we don’t fool

 

This photo was part of a theme collaboration with Mike and Nochi.  They’re conceptual photographers like me, except I’m still way down *here* and they’re already way up *there*.  They take their photography seriously, but at the same time they know how to have fun with it.  Lately I’ve been doing simple shots and setups for my 52-week project, but these guys have inspired me to start getting into conceptual photography and photomanipulations once again.

The theme they chose for this was “DUALITY”, and this is my interpretation (sorta). Ezra told me that it’s disturbing and a bit creepy (probably because of the smiling mask).  Hopefully it won’t give you guys nightmares. It’s not as magnificent as Mike’s and Nochi’s of course. Partly because I had to rush this, but mostly because those guys are just amazing.  I had the chance to meet them last month when they visited me here in LB for a shoot, which was wonderful.  It was a great learning experience for me, watching how these guys work 😀

You can check out their submissions by clicking on the links below:

(Quote in the title is by Robert Brault)

 

Leave a Reply

