INSTABITS : August 2013

Hello everyone!  The -ber months are here again.  A colleague told me that she actually heard Christmas carols already being played at the supermarket the other day.  I can’t believe that there are only a few months left in 2013.

Here’s my Instagram dump for the month.  I would just like to mention that August has not been very kind to my family, so some parts of this entry might be a little gloomy.  We lost my grandma earlier this month, and as a result we’ve been dealing with a lot of emotional stress.   But don’t worry, I’m not going to make you sift through all my feelings and emotions.  To be honest I’m not in the mood to go into much detail about it at the moment anyway.  But it does come up, so I just thought I should warn you.

        photo (16)

August didn’t waste any time sprinkling me with bad luck.  A few hours before the month began, my phone suddenly started going haywire.  It kept showing messages about how one application crashed, and how it’s low on internal memory.  So I turned it off and tried to restart it but it refused to turn on.  I did everything people suggested (taking out the batteries for long periods of time, doing a hard reset, connecting it to the charger, etc).  I got no response every time but the phone itself would get very hot.  I took it to a repair shop to see if they could do anything, but it’s broken beyond repair.  They couldn’t even tell me why it stopped working or how I could have prevented it.  Grrrr~  Luckily Ezra still had her old Nokia C7 lying around and was kind enough to let me borrow it.

photo (15)

As if losing my phone wasn’t bad enough, the fates decided to add insult to injury the next day.  I got a text message from the post office telling me that a package arrived for me.  I opened it to find the power bank I ordered from eBay a few weeks earlier.  Isn’t it hilarious how it arrived the day after my phone stopped working.

photo (14)

August wasn’t all bad of course.  My dear friend Tring had her birthday this month 🙂 Weeee

photo (10)

To celebrate, Tring, Ezra and I had dinner at the newly-renovated McDonalds.  Afterwards we hung out at Carabao Park and talked.  It was a fun and nostalgic evening for me.  Back when I was in college I used to eat at McDonalds all the time with my friends, and we loved hanging out at Carabao Park 🙂

  999087_10151515992975474_108271261_n

For my first August Throwback Thursday, I found this old photo of Ezra, Gilbert and me with our grandparents.  I actually posted this for Iyah since she requested to see baby pictures of Gilbert.  Little did I know that this photo would mean much more to all of us in just a few more days.

photo (13)

Since my phone was still broken, I scheduled a trip to SM Calamba that weekend to take it to the service center.  Unfortunately the only fix they could suggest was a motherboard replacement, which would set me back 10,000PHP.  That’s practically half the price of my phone itself, and I wasn’t willing to shell out that much.  To cheer myself up, I went on little shopping spree.  Here’s some of my haul that day : new sneakers, a magazine and my first Gundam! (The Gundam was actually Ckloy’s monthsary present to me ).  Later that evening, my grandma had a stroke and was rushed to the emergency room.  I remember it very clearly because Ckloy and I were just about to get started building the Gundam (we had all the parts laid out on the floor and everything) when the whole thing happened.

1000262_10151523495205474_1087219249_n

My parents and my uncle spent the first evening watching over my grandma at the ICU.  The next day, Ezra and I went to the hospital to take over so that our parents could get some rest.  Our cousins were all there too (except for Lance since he had to watch their house).  We weren’t allowed inside the ICU except between 6-8pm, so we spent most of our time chatting in the waiting room, trying to distract each other from the situation we were in.

photo (12)

Garcia sisters and the Tan brothers

photo (11)

I ordered these makeup sponges eBay.  Aren’t they adorable?  Unfortunately I don’t enjoy using them as much as I thought I would.  I was too cheap to order the actual Beauty Blender so I thought I could use these instead.  They’re alright, but they absorb so much of my makeup, I feel like most of it is going to waste.

1095094_10151530707910474_2025108099_n (1)

My grandma died on a Wednesday, so the next day I posted this for Throwback Thursday.   The Tan family portrait.  This is the only complete photo of us I think.

photo (9)

“When someone you love becomes a memory, the memory becomes a treasure” -unknown  (Lola and me – 1985)

photo (2)

Random quote from the book “The Opportunist” by Tarryn Fisher.

 photo (7)

Another eBay purchase that arrived this month.  I love the wings 🙂

photo (6)

Dustin and Hazel modelling our new caps 😀 (the monster cap is for Ezra)

photo (3)

Beta Sigma celebrated their 63rd anniversary this year, so they had activities all week long.  One of them was giving out roses to ladies around campus.  A student dropped by my office to give me this 🙂

photo (1)

My hair has been extremely dry and frizzy again, so I went to Metrohair for some much needed hair TLC. I love how Ate Cecil blow dried my hair 🙂  (She was asking me when I planned on getting my hair rebonded again and I told her I had decided to embrace my waves and give up rebonding 2 years ago since it’s much healthier for my hair.)

Our Physics 3 students were supposed to have their lab exam last August 20.  I spent an entire weekend checking lab reports so my students can study them.  Unfortunately this was the week that Typhoon Maring hit the Philippines and their exam had to be postponed till next month.

photo (2)

Because of the typhoon, we didn’t have classes that entire week (although we still had to go to the office).  I spend the week catching up on checking quizzes and reports … and playing Plants versus Zombies 2.  This game is highly addicting!!

IMG_20130821_234656

August 21 was a holiday, and it was the day my my parents (and Ezra) returned from their fieldwork in Iloilo.  I went to the airport to greet them and we spent the rest of the day going shopping.  We also dropped by Alphaland so I could pick up my new phone 😀  I decided to stay away from Samsung (since I’m still pretty angry at my old phone for breaking down after only 1 year and 4 months) so I bought the Sony Xperia Z.  I’ve had it for almost 2 weeks and I’m very happy with it 😀

Ezra and I had a surprise visit from the Hernandez sisters that week.

IMG_20130823_104539

Random selfie with poofy hair

IMG_20130823_173626

Gifts from Kat and Sir Romar for handling their classes while they were away

Ezra and I went out to watch Mortal Instruments (City of Bones) with Ckloy and we ended up with matching outfits. And no, we didn’t plan this.  (I thought the movie was alright, but Ezra and Ckloy didn’t like it.  Maybe I just enjoyed seeing how the writers translated the book into film.)

995193_10151560400945474_2043121705_n

Ckloy and me after our movie date.  We had lunch at Joey Pepperoni

I dub August “the month of broken things“.  Or “the month my savings disappeared“. First it was my phone.  After that my hair dryer stopped working so Ezra and I had to buy a new one.  Then my glasses broke.  I went out to order new ones to replace them and when I came home I found out that my clothes rack collapsed!  Grrrr~ I fixed it with A LOT of duct tape and so far it seems to be holding up.  But to be safe I’m only using it to hang a few things.

IMG_20130827_171548

My new glasses look pretty identical to my old ones, except they have a pink tint to them. (left : old glasses, right : new glasses)  I like how they look but I don’t like how close they sit on my face.  My eyelashes actually touch the lens sometimes.  I have to constantly adjust them.  I don’t know why I didn’t notice this when I was picking them out

IMG_20130829_192359

Sir Romar introduced us to KHET one afternoon. It’s like chess but you play it with lasers and mirrors 🙂 Here’s Dustin and Hazel in an intense KHET battle 😄

IMG_20130829_233600

Last TBT for August.  This is what I wake up to every morning. This picture has been taped to my bedroom mirror for over 10 years now. Thank you girls for so many wonderful years of friendship 🙂

That ends my photo dump for my least favorite month of 2013 so far.  It wasn’t all bad of course, as you can tell from this entry.  I had some good times too (I got to spend time with my cousins, reconnected with some friends, enjoyed some time off work because of a few holidays, etc).  You might have noticed that I tried my best to highlight those happier moments in this post.  Anyway, September is here, and it’s my birth month, so I really hope that things start picking up 😀

3 thoughts on “INSTABITS : August 2013

  1. Pingback: INSTABITS : September 2013 | What I have shown you is reality ...

  2. Pingback: Week 27/52 : Death leaves a heartache no one can heal, love leaves a memory no one can steal | What I have shown you is reality ...

  3. Pingback: INSTABITS : July 2014 | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

