Week 27/52 : Death leaves a heartache no one can heal, love leaves a memory no one can steal

If you’ve read my August INSTABITS entry, then you might know that that month was a little rough for our family. We lost my grandma that month.  Naturally, Ezra and I weren’t in the mood to take photos and edit them after that, so we decided to take a little hiatus from our 52-week project.  But now we’re back and we’ve got a lot of catching up to do.  I actually posted this around the first week of September, during the 30th day anniversary of my grandmother’s death.  It was my first self portrait after she died.

During my grandma’s funeral, our family released a bunch of white balloons as they lowered her casket into the ground. It was a very sad yet beautiful moment. I wanted a self portrait that I could dedicate to my grandma so I decided to use a white balloon to symbolize her.

Goodbye Lola! You’re with Lolo now. We love you and we’ll miss you!

(This week’s title came from a quote I found online. Supposedly it came from headstone in Ireland.)

Leave a Reply

