Physics Division Summer Outing : Canyon Cove Beach Club

We’re nearing the end of the first semester.  Classes are officially over, so I figured I can spare some time to write this entry before I dive back in to the huge pile of exams waiting to be checked next to me.

Last summer, our office decided to go on a quick getaway to Batangas.  I’ve been with the Physics Division for a few years now, but this is my first summer outing with them.  This trip also served as a despedida to Hahriz since she would be getting married later that month and would be leaving the university to find a job closer to her hubby Jik.  Since May 1 was a holiday, we decided to have our outing then.

It takes at least 2 hours to get to Batangas, so we agreed to meet at Vega Center at around 4:30am.  I usually have a hard time dragging myself out of bed that early, but I was pretty excited for the day ahead.  Also, I was pretty nervous because I was taking my car with me and I’m not used to driving for long periods of time.  I was so worried that I would fall asleep at the wheel, that I had a hard time falling asleep that night – which of course caused me to worry even more because the risk of me falling asleep while driving kept growing!  But Sir Taps kept me alert and entertained with his stories, so everything turned out fine.  Thanks sir!

IMG_2787

Kat, Hahriz, Amie and I at Vega.  We planned on having breakfast at McDonalds but  when we got there we found that they were closed for renovations T___T

IMG_2783

Physics people waiting for the adventure to begin

IMG_2790

The sun began to rise when we were getting off the expressway, so we stopped at the side of the road to take some photos

IMG_2810

Some members of our party left LB a bit later, so we decided to wait for them while having breakfast at Mushroom Burger in Tagaytay.

IMG_2814

After about another hour, we made it to Canyon Cove Beach Club, yaaaaay~

IMG_2824

We lined up at the entrance to register and pay.  Here’s a shot of my Canyon Cove wrist band and hairy arm

It was really nice inside the resort.  They had a huge pool and a beach:

IMG_2826

IMG_2829

IMG_2816

IMG_2832

IMG_2830

IMG_2822

It was  a little crowded that day since it was holiday, so the cottages were all taken.  We grabbed this long table when we got there, but the staff told us that those were the lunch tables for the guests and we couldn’t stay there.  In the end we had to move to the huge tent they had on the beach.  It was for the general public, but there was plenty of space for our group.

IMG_2846

Kat, Amie and I lying down on the sand and enjoying the summer breeze

IMG_2843

IMG_2952

Maam Ann brought baby Adrian with her.  It was his first time going to the beach.  So cuuuuute!

IMG_2866

IMG_2859

IMG_2912

IMG_2896

I wanted to take a picture of Rona, Kat and Amie playing in the water

IMG_2897

Sir Junius and Sir Taps realized that we were taking pictures without them so they came over

IMG_2900

Looks like they’re not too pleased about being left out of the photo

IMG_2905

“RAWR~ Feel our wrath!”

IMG_2906

Poor girls

IMG_2908

The waves just keep getting stronger

IMG_2910

I love how Rona is still posing despite all the water hitting her XD

We also decided to take a some obligatory jump shots:

IMG_2877

IMG_2874

IMG_2873

IMG_2881

Sir Taps has super powers!!

IMG_2916

I wanted to attempt those water hair flip photos I see online so I asked Amie to model for me

IMG_2917

Not perfect, but it’s a good start

Sir Taps’s turn:

IMG_2919

  Much better!  Sorry Amie XD

Presenting : The Physics Faculty (well, some of us at least)

IMG_2934

IMG_2938

IMG_2937

IMG_2936

IMG_2935

Of course, no beach trip is complete without burying someone in the sand.  No one wanted to volunteer so we dug this huge hole while deciding who gets to go first.

IMG_2969

But who should we bury?…

IMG_2974

Looks like we have a winner!

IMG_2978

Poor Kat XD

IMG_2982

Shhh … relax.  It will all be over soon

IMG_2987

Bury bury bury

Now the fun part : torturing the victim

IMG_2996

IMG_2990

Smile Kat!

It was Rona’s turn next

IMG_3006

It’s funny because she’s so tiny but they hole they dug up was even bigger than the last one!

IMG_3014

It took about 10 seconds before she was completely covered with sand

IMG_3018

We told her that she had to get out on her own, without any help from us

IMG_3057

Poor Rona had a hard time because they piled so much sand on her.  It took her a couple of tries before she was able to get out completely

IMG_3061

All that fun in the sun wore me out, so I decided to take a little nap since I barely got any sleep the night before

IMG_2956

Amie woke me up about an hour later in time for lunch

IMG_3084

Rona and me outside the lunch room

We had Max’s Fried Chicken for lunch to reenergize ourselves, before heading back out to the beach for more fun.  (I spent most of the afternoon in the water, so I wasn’t able to take more photos after this.)

At around 4pm we started packing up since we still had a long drive ahead of us.

IMG_3195

Hi Ma’am Chrys!

IMG_3193

Lovely photo of Ma’am Chrys that Sir Lou took.  She was the one who really pushed for this trip to happen, so we all owe her a thank you for this wonderful day. Salamat Ma’am Chrys!  Ang bagong reyna ng IMSP! 😀

IMG_3208

Took some selfies while Sir Emman played 4pics1word in the background

Some last group shots at the resort before we left:

IMG_3220

IMG_3224

IMG_3232

IMG_3239

On the way home, the sun started to set, so we stopped twice along the road to take some photos:

IMG_3248

IMG_3246

IMG_3255

Since the group didn’t want to part ways just yet, we decided to have dinner together at Teriyaki Boy in Tagaytay.  We got separated on the way there and I sort of got lost since the 3G network there was terrible and I was relying on the GPS on my phone.  We had to stop for directions a few times along the way, but eventually we found the rest of the group.

IMG_3260

Waiting for our food.  Thanks Ma’am Chrys for dinner! 😀

IMG_3264

Amie and me

IMG_3267

2Fuse battle

After dinner we headed outside to admire the view.  It was really dark so I wasn’t able to take good photos.  But here’s one of Sir Emman, Amie, Hahriz, Kat and Sir Taps:

IMG_3278

Overall, it was an amazing day for me.  I had a great time with my colleagues, I got to relax at the beach, and I managed to get us there and back safely.  Mission accomplished!  Hoooray~  I’m really happy that this trip happened, and I really hope we’ll have more adventures like this in the future.

To end this entry, here are some cute pictures of Hahriz.  (I think these were taken by Sir Lou, I can’t remember.)  This was supposed to be a despedida for her but we didn’t get to play in the sun with her that much since she wanted to avoid getting a tan for her wedding.

IMG_3129

IMG_3134

IMG_3136We miss you Hahriz!!

One thought on “Physics Division Summer Outing : Canyon Cove Beach Club

  1. Pingback: What 2013 was like for me :D | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

