Week 37/52 : Life begins at the end of your comfort zone

I’ve been really into this kind of monochromatic editing lately. I’m not sure what to call it since it’s not exactly “black and white”. The photos have this pale tone to them (I used blue for this one), which makes them look a bit more “aged” and interesting. But at the same time they look just as clean as regular black and white portraits. Hmm…

Anyway, this was taken in our garden. Ezra helped me out with this one. We shot it at the same time as my 36th self portrait. I think we shot three images that day for my 52-week project, but I haven’t gotten around to editing the third one.

The quote in this week’s title is by Neale Donald Walsch. When I first stumbled across this a few months ago, it really hit me hard. It was during a time when I felt so lost and confused about what I wanted to do with my life. I mean, I’m perfectly happy now, but who knows where or how I’ll be a year from now. Honestly, thinking about the future scares the crap out of me. I’m not the type of person who embraces change or pushes the boundaries. I’m the type who is willing to just sit back and relax, until life catches up with me and forces me to move forward. That being said, I’m definitely not someone who enjoys having to step out of my comfort zone. But this quote made me realize that by sitting around in my own personal bubble, I’m wasting so many opportunities. I guess it made me see that I can’t just sit around and expect things to fall into place around me, I have to take action and start making decisions about my future. Our first step out of our comfort zone may be scary as hell, and the steps following that may not be any better, but it’s only after we get past that when we really see what life has to offer πŸ˜€ I guess I just have to remind myself that some of my best and most memorable experiences happened because I had the courage to try something I’ve never done before.

Another reason I chose this quote for my title this week is because of something Ckloy’s going through. He’s got some great opportunities ahead of him right now, but he’s having mixed feelings because it means he’s got to make some big changes in his life. But I’m sure it’s all for the best and that everything will work out πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Week 37/52 : Life begins at the end of your comfort zone

  1. Pingback: Week 44/52 : A goodbye isn’t painful unless you’re never going to say hello again | What I have shown you is reality ...

  2. Pingback: Week 16/52 : Sometimes it’s about going there, not getting there | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

