Christmas Wish List 2013

This is going to be a short list because I don’t really have much to wish for this Christmas, but I’ve been writing an entry like this for the past 2 years so I figured I might as well do it this year as well.

 

IMG_0371

(source)

1. Go Pro Hero 3+ Black

This is pretty much all I want for Christmas this year.  My parents have already agreed to pay for half of it as their Christmas present, so I’m just left to take care of the other half.  I pre-ordered one from DBGadgets way back in October and it still hasn’t arrived.  From the looks of it, I won’t be getting this anytime soon.  But good things come to those who wait, right?

Percy-Jackson-and-the-Olympians-Hardcover-Boxed-Set-9781423119500

(source)

2. Percy Jackson and the Olympians book set

I watched Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief the year it came out, but I didn’t like it at all!  In fact, I fell asleep halfway through the movie.  Naturally, that didn’t get me excited to read the books.  But this October I decided I might as well give it a try, so I downloaded the ebook – and I loved it!  It was nothing like the movie at all!  What a pleasant surprise.  In fact, I enjoyed it so much I decided that I’m willing to buy actual hard copies of the books (I’ve only read the first one so far).  Ezra found out about it and offered to get them for me as her present this year.  We checked at National Bookstore in SM Calamba but they don’t have them in stock (they have them as individual books but I want a boxed set), so I guess we’ll have to get them somewhere else.  (The picture I have above shows the special set which comes in a chest and is hardbound, but I’ll be happy with just the paperback ones, as long as it has a box.)

Books-compiled

(source)

3. Sewing books and fabric

I’ve been obsessed with Project Runway lately, so I’ve been teaching myself how to sew on my mom’s sewing machine.  I’ve managed to resize a few of my clothes that don’t fit that well, but now I’m ready to play around and try to create something from scratch.  First thing on my list is a dark red/maroon velvet cloak.  I watched some tutorials on YouTube and it seems pretty simple to make.  But I haven’t had the chance to get the velvet fabric for that yet.  And I also want a seam ripper.  I know we have one somewhere around the house, but I’ve been looking for it for weeks and I can’t find it.  Those things are cheap anyway, so I figured I might as well get a new one.  As for the books, I’m not really sure which ones will be good for beginners, but anything simple with lots of illustration will probably be handy.

4. 2014 Planner

I wasn’t sure if I should include this in my list this year because I actually already have it (in fact, the picture above came from my own Instagram post), but I put in my wish list every year so I might as well place it on here too.  Like I said last year, it’s become tradition for Ckloy to give me a planner every year.  For the past three years he’s been getting me The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf planner, but he decided to go with Starbucks this year.  He managed to collect enough stickers just before he left for Texas and was able to give me my new planner the last time we saw each other.  I already marked the day when he’ll be coming back to the Philippines 🙂

digital-photography-boxset-2

(source)

5. Scott Kelby’s Digital Photography books

I think there are 4 of these, and I’m pretty sure I was able to download a pdf of the 2nd one (or at least part of it) but I haven’t gotten around to reading it.  I did scan it quickly and it seems like a good book, and it’s highly recommended in most photography forums I’ve been to.  I enjoy reading ebooks when they are novels, but when we’re dealing with reference materials, nothing beats having an actual hard copy.  I saw a few of these books being sold at National Bookstore for around 600 PHP to 700 PHP each (if I remember correctly).  The boxed set goes for around 2800PHP  I was tempted to get them, but I wasn’t willing to shell out that much for something I know I can probably download on the internet.  But if someone were to give them to me as a gift, then I’d be more than happy to receive them 😀

9781595142719_p0_v2_s260x4209780307595577_p0_v2_s260x420

(source) and (source)

6. Vampire Academy/Fever/Millennium Book Set

I’ve already read and finished the Vampire Academy (by Richelle Mead) and Fever (by Karen Marie Moning) series, but I enjoyed them so much that I would love to own hard copies of the book too.  (I wouldn’t say no to the Vampire Academy graphic novel either.)  The Vampire Academy novels come in a set, but as far as I know, you have to buy the Fever books individually.  As for Millennium, I haven’t actually read the books yet, but I’ve been told it’s good so I’d be happy to own the set too.

That’s pretty much it for my list this year.  I know that 2/3rd of my list consists of books (or book sets), but like I said, there’s not really anything I want this year, aside from the GoPro camera.  The only other thing I want is more free time, which I doubt Santa can give me.  Christmas is exactly a week away from today, can you believe it?  Where this the year go?  Anyway, I hope you guys gets what they want from Santa this year.  Happy holidays everyone!

2 thoughts on “Christmas Wish List 2013

  1. Pingback: INSTABITS : December 2013 | What I have shown you is reality ...

  2. Pingback: INSTABITS : January 2014 | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

