California State University Northridge

Back in 2009, Kurt showed us around his university (California State University Northridge).  Ezra and I had a wonderful time seeing what his life as a film student in the other side of the world was like.  He even took  us to see their photography lab where we developed our own pictures (which I of course loved).  I’ve always enjoyed visiting different campuses, and CSUN was just so beautiful that it made the experience even more amazing.  When we visited California during the summer this year, Kurt was already done with his course work and was weeks away from graduating.  However, there was a time when he needed to run down to CSUN to sort out some paper work for graduation, so  Ezra and I decided to tag along with him to see his lovely campus once more.

IMG_3497

We parked at a neighborhood nearby because Kurt didn’t have student parking privileges anymore.  It was about a five minute walk to the campus

IMG_3504

We’re here 😀

IMG_3511

Quick shot of my outfit while we were walking to his building.  I had a hard time getting dressed that morning because I packed mostly shorts and dresses.  I figured since it was May, the weather would be nice and warm, but it was still pretty cold.  Good thing I bought lots of leggings for layering.

IMG_3513

CSUN has vending machines in the hallway, how cool is that 😀  I wish we had them in UPLB too.

IMG_3516

They also had these little nooks along the wall where students can sit and hang out.  It looks like a great place to hide out and study/read – provided you’re not easily distracted by the people walking outside (and in the hallway)

Random shots while we walked around:

IMG_3841

IMG_3520

IMG_3522

IMG_3524

Ezra was feeling a bit jet-lagged so we decided to pick up some coffee at this little place inside the student gift shop

IMG_3526

Colorful~

IMG_3535

Freudian Sip – what a cute name for a coffee shop 😀

IMG_3536

Cheers~

I don’t drink coffee (or tea, or milk, or soda …) so I just sat around and used Kurt’s account to access the student wifi while waiting for their caffeine buzz to kick in

After this, Kurt did what he came to do while Ezra and I looked around the gift shop.  They had all sorts of CSUN merchandise – hoodies, sweaters, shirts, keychains, tumblers, etc.  They also sold books, Apple products and laptop bags.

When Kurt came back to get us, he took us outside to walk around his campus some more


IMG_3547

Kurt told us that this building had something to do with American Idol.  Either they had auditions here or they filmed some scenes – I can’t really remember

IMG_3552

The glass walls/windows are really nice

IMG_3553

Ezra thought these little round cacti were cute

IMG_3545

I found the advice mallard wandering around the area.  I tried chasing it for some career advice but it wanted nothing to do with me T__T

IMG_3557

This was where we shot Ezra’s week 16/52 portrait this year

IMG_3569

IMG_3571

IMG_3576Pretty pink flowers.  This was the background for Ezra’s week 44/52 (which we posted really late)

I asked Kurt to take a picture of me with the flowers too and this is what happened:
IMG_3591

T__T

IMG_3598

Oranges!

IMG_3603

We found lots of squirrels (which Kurt likes to call “baby chipmunks”) running around the area.  Can you see him?  He’s in camouflage 😀

Kurt took us to this little pond where we found many more advice mallards 😄  Again, I tried talking to them to ask for tips about life in general but they just ignored me.

IMG_3623

There were also turtles there!

IMG_3626

Can you see him with his majestic pose?

IMG_3627

Hai there!  Maybe you have some advice for me?  No?  Okay …

More shots of the fauna

IMG_3635

IMG_3640

IMG_3643

This looks like a frog but it’s actually a turtle

IMG_3646

See?

I had some crackers in my bag that I was munching on in the car (not stale this time), so we decided to feed the turtles what was left of them

IMG_3649

Kurt luring one of the turtles with a cracker

IMG_3651

Here he comes 😀  They’re not shy at all!

My turn!

IMG_3655

IMG_3659

FUN!  (If you look closely you can see the turtle I was feeding just below the water’s surface near my hand)

Pretty soon the ducks realized that we were giving out food so they started approaching us too

IMG_3667

IMG_3671

Here ya go little guy

Kurt thought the crackers weren’t enough for all the ducks so he decided to feed them Ezra

IMG_3697

She doesn’t look too thrilled

Behind us we noticed a squirrel sniffing around, so Kurt tried to feed him too

IMG_3714

IMG_3716

To our surprise, he didn’t run away and he actually came closer.  Look like he’s used to being fed by students around campus

IMG_3717

Nom nom nom

IMG_3722

I wanted to see if he would approach me too, but he already got a cracker from Kurt and didn’t come near us again 😦

We walked for a little bit and came across another pond with different birds this time

IMG_3729

I thought this was a goose, but Ezra told me it’s just a white duck. Apparently they’re yummy 😄

IMG_3732

Hmm … not quite sure what this one is

We found another friendly squirrel
IMG_3741

We had a little bit of the crackers left so we tried to see if he would approach us

IMG_3743

It works!

IMG_3753

Look at it’s fuzzy tail! 😀

IMG_3758

He was very friendly and kept running around Kurt’s legs begging for food

IMG_3760

IMG_3761

We gave him the last of our crackers and set off to explore the campus some more


IMG_3783

I love these red flowers~ This was where my 22nd self portrait was taken

IMG_3796

IMG_3774

IMG_3800

Kurt showed us the inside of the student recreation center.  They had lots of great facilities in there – including an indoor jogging track and a rock climbing wall!  Unfortunately I wasn’t allowed to take pictures or go all the way inside (just in the lobby).

IMG_3803

We found a matadorIMG_3806

Kurt and Ezra doing Oblation poses (Go UP!)

IMG_3807

IMG_3818

This was the main library, where Kurt’s graduation was a held a few weeks after this visit

IMG_3824

IMG_3828

Ezra has super powers

IMG_3829

Uh, nice Kurt

IMG_3830

Vadering 😄

IMG_3850

I found this GIANT shoe print on the ground. Check out how tiny my foot is compared to it!  Whoa~  How tall is the guy who made this??

Kurt took us to this place which he dubbed the “Training Center”.  It was just a small area with lots of plants, but it really did look like it belonged in the training center at Balamb Garden from FFVIII.  I kept expecting a grat to suddenly appear and attack us.  Unfortunately I forgot to take pictures of the place because I was getting hungry (and I didn’t have anymore crackers…)  We wanted to spend more time at the campus but we decided it was time to leave and grab some lunch.  Kurt wanted to try this Japanese restaurant in Westfield Mall so we decided to go there.

IMG_3838

Last quick shot inside Kurt’s building before we leave 😀  Thanks for showing us around Kurt!  We had fun!

IMG_3610

And thank you CSUN for the experience 😀  It really is a beautiful place.  I will always love UPLB, but I wish I had the chance to study in CSUN too.  They have so many wonderful facilities that I’m sure our dear UP students would enjoy 😀

2 thoughts on “California State University Northridge

  1. Pingback: What 2013 was like for me :D | What I have shown you is reality ...

  2. Pingback: Kurt’s Graduation at CSUN | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

