Week 50/52 : Don’t expect the world to play by the rules just because you do

I read a quote that goes something like this about a month ago. I forgot to bookmark the page and now I can’t find it again. I’m not sure what the exact wording was, but it was something similar. I’ve been trying to find it on Google and similar results pop up, but not the quote I want. The closest I’ve found so far goes

“If you expect the world to be fair with you because you are fair, you’re fooling yourself. That’s like expecting the lion not to eat you because you didn’t eat him.”

But that wasn’t it, because I remember immediately thinking of doing a self portrait with chess pieces when I read the quote I’m talking about, so I’m thinking it probably had the word “game” or “rule” in it. Note to self : next time you find a quote you like, bookmark it or write it down!

Anyway, even though I can’t remember the exact quote, the message stuck with me. All my life I’ve been a goody two shoes – I make an effort to know the rules so I can play by them. I think that there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that, but the thing I need to remember is that not every one will live their life the same way. Just because I stand patiently in line doesn’t mean that I’ll get to the front faster than some jerk who managed to talk themselves into cutting in front of someone else. Just because I pay my bills, follow the proper steps and don’t cheat in life, doesn’t mean that life will reward me for it. As children we are often taught that if we follow the rules we get a prize, and if we don’t then someone will come and punish us – but this is not always the case in real life. People break the rules all the time and many of them get away with it. In fact, sometimes the rule breaking comes from the people who should be enforcing the rules themselves. After all, what’s to stop them from taking a few shortcuts to get what the want? The answer should be integrity, but I’m learning that this doesn’t mean as much to some people.

Those are some pretty heavy thoughts to be having the day before Christmas eve, so I’ll end my ramblings here.

4 thoughts on “Week 50/52 : Don’t expect the world to play by the rules just because you do

Leave a Reply

