Week 52/52 : You can’t start the next chapter of your life if you keep re-reading your last one

Another 52-week project finished. I can’t believe that this is my 5th one! Wow. I started doing this back in 2009 out of sheer boredom, and I never imagined that I’d still be doing it 5 years later.

I think in all my years of doing the 52-week project, this was the first time that I seriously thought we wouldn’t be able to finish all 52-photos by the end of the year. I think there came a time when I was about 7 weeks behind, and Ezra was 14 weeks behind. I have no idea how we managed to catch up after that, but I’m really glad we did. I’m thankful that the holidays started early this year so it gave me plenty of time to shoot and edit.

I’m not entirely sure why this year was so bad in terms of us being able to submit our photos on time. I this was just really busy year for Ezra and me. We both have jobs so it’s harder to find a time for us to shoot, unlike when we were students. In the past years, I used to be really anal about only posting photos that were taken that week. I considered it cheating when we post pictures that were taken at a different week. But this year, due to our schedule, Ezra and I would usually shoot 3 to 5 photos in one session and post them at different times. You would think this would make it easier for us but editing takes a lot of time too, so even with this strategy we ended up falling behind. But I think the two main things that really set us back this year was our month-long visit to California this summer, and my grandmother’s passing last August. I usually find time to edit photos and post them even when we’re on vacation, but our visit to California this year was so packed with activities that I barely had time to sleep, let alone edit anything. And of course when my grandma passed away, Ezra and I weren’t in the mood to shoot self portraits so we ended up taking a month hiatus.

Anyway, even with all the stress of having to catch up this year and make it to 52 photos before the end of the year, I think I’m still going to do this project for 2014. I’ve been doing it for so long now, it’s going to feel weird if I stop. Let’s just hope I do better with deadlines this time. Wish me luck guys!

Stock credits:
The room came from hellonlegs on deviantArt (http://hellonlegs.deviantart.com/art/Empty-Room-211774585)
The books were from gothicbohemianstock (http://gothicbohemianstock.deviantart.com/gallery/3876782), jojo22 (http://jojo22.deviantart.com/art/Stack-of-Old-Books-Stock-416860960) and barefootliam-stock (http://barefootliam-stock.deviantart.com/art/old-books-dictionary-10-7163808).

Leave a Reply

