Books Read in 2013

I made an entry like this last year, and I enjoyed writing it, so I figured why not do it again 😀

In this post I will list all the book I read (for leisure) in 2013.  I will also post my quick opinions on each book and my rating for each one.

border

Sabina Kane series (Jaye Wells) –I started the year off finishing this series.  I read books 1 to 3 towards the end of 2012, and I finished books 4 and 5 in January.  I didn’t really like book 4, but book 5 was alright.  Initially I gave the series 3.5 out of 5 stars, but I think after finishing the last two books I’m taking it down to 3 out of 5 stars

border

Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops (Jen Campbell) – A light and quick read (I finished it in one sitting).  It’s a compilation of weird conversations people have in bookstores.  3.5 out of 5 stars

border

Single Girl’s To Do List (Lindsey Kelk) – I gave this 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads, but I seriously can’t remember a single thing about this story.  I read the summary and the characters don’t register at all!  I guess that shows how unmemorable this is.  So I’m changing my rating to 1 out of 5 stars

border

Girl On The Run (Jane Costello) – Another forgettable chick lit. 2 out of 5 stars

border

The Boy Who Sneaks in My Bedroom Window (Kirsty Moseley) – The premise of the story sounded interesting, but this was so poorly written I gave up after the first few chapters.  It’s like an amateur fanfic for tweens.  0 out of 5 stars.

border

Hearts in Darkness (Laura Kaye) – Two strangers gets stuck in an elevator and discover interesting things about each other.  (I swear I didn’t mean for that to sound sexual.)  It’s a very short novella that you can finish in one sitting.  3.5 out of 5 stars.

border

The Fault in Our Stars (John Green) – One of my favorite reads for 2013.  I made a book review about it HERE.  And I compiled some of my favorite quotes from the book HERE.  I even shot a self portrait inspired by one of my favorite lines, which you can see HERE.  They’re releasing a movie based on the book this year, and I can only hope that they do it justice.  4.7 out of 5 stars.

border

Natural Born Charmer (Susan Elizabeth Phillips) – The last book in the Chicago Stars series (I finished books 1 to 6 in 2012). It was alright. Didn’t enjoy it as much as the others. 3.4 out of 5 stars.

border

Fallen (Lauren Falter) – This is the first book in the Guardian Trilogy.  I picked it up because it had high ratings and after reading the Georgina Kincaid series by Richelle Mead, I wanted more books about angels.  Unfortunately, this was such a disappointment that I didn’t even bother finishing it.  1 out of 5 stars.

border

Forbidden (Tabitha Suzuma) – I don’t know what I was thinking reading this book.  I mean it’s well written and I enjoy forbidden love, but incest just isn’t my thing.  I gave it a try because it had high ratings on Goodreads, and I actually finished it, but I just found it so disturbing.  2 out of 5 stars

border

Inescapable (Amy Bartol) – The first book in The Premonition series.  After the major fail that was Fallen, I gave angel stories another try and picked this up.  I saw that some of my friends read it and one of them gave it 5 stars, so I figured it must be good.  Unfortunately this was a miss for me again.  It wasn’t as bad a Fallen because I was able to finish the whole thing, but I didn’t even bother looking for the second book.  2 out of 5 stars

border

Beautiful Disaster (Jamie McGuire) – Someone PLEASE tell me why this is one of the highest rated books on Goodreads!!  Because the entire time I was reading it I was rolling my eyes and gagging.  People actually like this crap?  I mean I’ve read some pretty bad books before, but I just don’t understand why this one is so popular.  Travis Maddox clearly has some serious passive-aggressive tendencies, and girls actually find this attractive?  Sure he’s “lean, cut, and covered in tattoos”, and he’s a great fighter, but c’mon!  Girls, please tell me you have higher standards than this.  1 out of 5 stars.

border

The Sea of Tranquility (Katja Millay) – Thank goodness I found this book when I did, because I was ready to give up on Goodreads after getting one bad book recommendation after another.  This restored my faith in the site.  Katja Millay is amazing, and this is definitely my favorite book for 2013.  I made a review of it HERE.  I mentioned that the story started off reaaaally slowly, but once it got to the good part, it just took off.  If you’re going to read this, please don’t give up during the first few chapters.  I know it seems boring in the beginning, but I promise it gets better.  I loved it so much I actually read it two more times before moving on to my next Goodreads recommendation.  This is a definite 5 out of 5 stars for me 😀

border

Vain (Amelie Fisher) – A beautiful, spoiled, rich girl gets an eye-opening lesson after being forced to do “volunteer” work in Uganda.  3 out of 5 stars

border

I Love You To Death (Natalie Ward) – This is the story of the girl who loved everyone to death.  Literally.  I don’t know if she just has terrible luck or what, but seriously?  It’s like she decides she loves someone then BOOM!  That person is dead.  The writing was good, but I just didn’t enjoy the story that much. 2.5 out of 5 stars.

border

Flipped (Wendelin Van Draanen) – This one comes as a close second as my favorite book of 2013.  This was actually recommended by a student (thanks Kyle).  It’s beautifully written and the story is just adorable~  I watched the movie after reading the book and I loved it as well.  A definite 5 out of 5 stars 😀

border

Cross My Heart (Katie Klein) – Cute high school romance story.  Nothing too special about it, but I did enjoy reading it.  3.8 out of 5 stars

border

On Dublin Street (Samantha Young) – To be honest I chose to read this book because of the title.  My favorite book series of 2012 was the Fever series, which was set in Dublin.  So when I saw this I decided to read it, just because it had “Dublin” on the title.  The story’s alright, with some steamy action and a typical alpha male.  3.2 out of 5 stars

border

The Edge of Never (J.A. Redmerski) – This is about a girl who goes on a journey to find herself.  She meets a guy on the bus and they start to form a bond. 3.8 out of 5 stars

border

Fallen Too Far and Never Too Far (Abbi Glines) – Standard rich boy and poor girl story.  I enjoyed the first book, but the second one not so much, so I decided not to read the third one.  3.4 out of 5 stars

border

The Coincidence of Callie & Kayden (Jessica Sorensen) – This is another very popular NA book on Goodreads that I didn’t enjoy.  It’s not horrible, it’s just not for me.  2.3 out of 5 stars

border

The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Stephen Chbosky) – Everyone was talking about this book (probably because of the movie) so I decided to give it a try.  It was okay, not really my cup of tea.  Too much drama.  2.7 out of 5 stars.

border

Flat-Out Matt (Jessica Park) – I read the first book in 2012 and I liked it so I gave this a try when it came out.  I liked it, just not as much as the first one  3.5 out of 5 stars.

border

Going Under (S. Walden) – This book is about a high school girl who tries to avenge her best friend by looking for the guys that raped her, driving her to kill herself.  It sounds noble, but it’s actually very stupid of her.  It would have been good if she got some help, but she tried to do everything herself.  2.5 out of 5 stars

border

Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs (Molly Harper) – The reviews said that this was a comedic story about vampires.  I thought it would be interesting, but I found it very bizarre.  1 out of 5 stars

border

The Watcher (Lisa Voisin) – I haven’t given up on angel stories yet so I gave this a try.  Big mistake.  I didn’t even bother finishing this. 0 out of 5 stars

border

Blue Bloods (Melissa de la Cruz) – The premise sounded interesting, but this was another major fail for me. I abandoned it after a few chapters.  0.5 out of 5 stars

border

Rule (Jay Crownover) – I enjoyed the first half a lot, but the second half not so much. 3.8 out of 5 stars

border

Lux series (Jennifer L. Armentrout) – I’ve only read the first three books.  The fourth book has been released but I haven’t gotten around to it just yet.  I’ll probably read that sometime this year since I liked the first three.  4.1 out of 5 stars

border

Archers of Avalon series (Chelsea Fine) – I enjoyed this series a lot.  There are three books in total and I really liked the first and third ones.  The second book was a little slow but it was okay.  4.4 out of 5 stars.

border

Mortal Instruments series (Cassandra Clare) – Another extremely popular series on Goodreads.  I really enjoyed the first book but things went downhill from there.  I really didn’t like Clary’s character.  But I enjoyed the whole forbidden love thing she had going on with Jace. 3.5 out of 5 stars

border

Love Irresistibly (Julie James) – I waited months for this to come out!  Not my favorite from Julie James, but still great and definitely worth a read.  4.3 out of 5 stars

border

Bet Me (Jennifer Crusie) – Forgettable chick lit. I barely made it through this one. 1.8 out of 5 stars

border

The Sky Is Everywhere (Jandy Nelson) – Sweet and poetic, but a little too much drama for me.  2.5 out of 5 stars

border

Harry Potter: The Prequel (J.K. Rowling) – This isn’t really a book.  It’s just a short story (800 words) that Rowling wrote for charity.  I wish it was longer. 3.8 out of 5 stars.

border

The Opportunist (Tarryn Fisher) – I loved this.  Olivia is such a conniving and manipulative b*tch but in some sick and twisted way, I could relate to her.  There’s a sequel to this but Leah’s the main character and I don’t know if I’ll be able to stand reading about her.  Maybe I’ll give it a try this year.  5 out of  5 stars.

border

Wait for You (J. Lynn/Jennifer L. Armentrout) – I love a good NA story.  This wasn’t the best I’ve come across but I did enjoy it a lot.  4.7 out of 5 stars.

border

Avoiding Commitment (K.A. Linde) – I wanted to smack both Jack and Lexie in this story.  WTF guys.  Then by the end of it I wanted to smack Bekah and her brother too.  So many lies!  The story’s interesting but it could have been written better.  And the characters really annoyed me.  1 out of 5 stars

border

North of Beautiful (Justina Chen) – A poetic read.  I could kind of relate to Terra and her “flawed” face.  I’m just lucky that I can hide my flaw and its not as visible as hers.  3.5 out of 5 stars

border

Shug (Jenny Han) – Very cute 🙂  Pre-teen stories make me smile. 4.5 out of 5 stars.

border

Charlotte’s Web (E.B. White) – Believe it or not, I never read this book growing up.  It’s normally part of a school reading list, so I’m surprised that I was never assigned to read it in class.  Ezra read it when she was younger and she really enjoyed it.  When I read it last year, I liked it but I thought Wilbur was too whiny and needy.  Ezra pointed out that he was separated from his mom at a very young age, so this is normal. In fact, she thinks that this is one of the reasons children enjoy this book, because they could relate to Wilbur. 4.3 out of 5 stars.

border

Slammed #1 and #2 (Colleen Hoover) – I liked the first book a lot, since I’m a sucker for forbidden romance, but I didn’t enjoy the second book that much.  3.5 out of 5 stars

border

Drowning Instinct (Ilsa J. Bick) – Another forbidden romance story, but it’s a lot different than the ones I usually read.  A little disturbing, but I couldn’t put it down. 3.7 out of 5 stars

border

Crush (Lacey Weatherford) – The story is very similar to Cross My Heart, but not as well written.  I didn’t really enjoy this that much. 2 out of 5 stars

border

The Ocean At The End of the Lane (Neil Gaiman) – I’ll just paste what I wrote on Ezra’s Halloween portrait : “Ezra LOVES Coraline~  It’s one of her favorite movies.  I, on the other hand, think it’s weird and a little disturbing.  I mean, buttons for eyes?  Lips sewn shut?  Freaky~ A few weeks ago I read “Ocean At the End of the Lane”, not knowing it was written by the same author.  The entire time I was so confused and disturbed, but I couldn’t stop myself from finishing the book because I wanted to know how it would end.  After I was done, the first thing I said was “what did I just read???”.  But then I found out that it’s written by the same author who wrote Coraline, and everything made sense.  I’m still not a fan of both stories, but I have to admit that Neil Gaiman has one hell of an imagination, and he’s definitely in a genre of his own.”  3.8 out of 5 stars

border

Fangirl (Rainbow Rowell) – So many people are raving about this book!  I see this popping up on Goodreads all the time, and even in my FB and IG feed.  I thought it was alright, but it’s not something I’d read over and over again.  Maybe I just wasn’t able to relate to Cath because I never went away for college, so I don’t have that whole dorm/roommate experience.  3.2 out of 5 stars.

border

Unteachable (Leah Raeder) – More forbidden student/teacher love stories.  I couldn’t put this book down.  Not because I loved it so much, but simply because I just wanted to know how it would end.  3.5 out of 5 stars.

border

Losing It #1 and #2 (Cora Carmack) – I liked both books but I enjoyed the 2nd on more 🙂 4.3 out of 5 stars

border

Fall Away #1 and #1.5 (Penelope Douglas) – I really enjoyed Fall Away #1 (Bully), but not so much the 2nd one (Until You). I give Bully 5 out of 5 stars, and Until You 3.5 out of 5 stars

border

Reason to Breathe (Rebecca Donovan) – Another extremely popular book on Goodreads that I didn’t like.  Maybe it’s because I had the privilege of a happy childhood with loving parents, but I just couldn’t understand why Emma continued to take the beatings from her aunt.  She obviously had people who cared about her and were willing to take her in.  I hated how this book ended and I have no intention of reading the 2nd one. 1.2 out of 5 stars

border

Back To You (Priscilla Glenn) – I liked this one a lot.  Very light read, but made me smile and cry at the same time 🙂 4.8 out of 5 stars

border

Fated (S.H. Kolee) – I’m beginning to get sick of dominant males who are described as sex gods.  I have come across a few of these characters which I liked (like Jericho Barrons), but most of the ones I encounter just seem very shallow and have no interest in anything other than women and money. It’s thrilling for a while but I’m getting bored.  It’s obvious that the authors are just relying on the “hotness” of these characters. 3 out of 5 stars

border

Rock Chick (Kristen Ashley) – Indy Savage is another character I want to smack over the head.  I can’t believe anyone would be that immature and irresponsible.  I didn’t even bother finishing this. 0.5 out of 5 stars

border

Wallbanger (Alice Clayton) – Forgettable contemporary romance.  Can’t believe that this has such high ratings on Goodreads. 2 out of 5 stars.

border

My Life Next Door (Huntley Fitzpatrick) – Moar forbidden romance 😀  I liked this a lot. 4.6 out of 5 stars

border

Ruin (Rachel Van Dyken) – Couldn’t get past the first few pages. Cliches all around. 0 out of 5 stars

border

The Lightning Thief (Rick Riordan) – I didn’t like the movie so I was pleasantly surprised to find that I liked the book.  I’ve only read the first one in the series because I’m waiting for my boxed set to arrive 😀 4.5 out of 5 stars

border

Real (Katy Evans) – Another boring story with a cliche alpha male. Abandoned this after a few chapters in. 0 out of 5 stars

border

Beauty #1 and #2 (Georgia Cates) – Moar alpha male stories.  I liked the first book but I didn’t really enjoy the 2nd one so I abandoned it.  It’s not horrible, but I’d just rather read something else.  3 out of 5 stars

border

Reality Boy (A.S. King) – Couldn’t put this down.  This book shows the consequences of reality TV. 4.6 out of 5 stars

border

Own the Wind (Kristen Ashley) – It was interesting at first, but then when Indy Savage appeared, things went downhill.  I didn’t know when I picked this up that it was written by the same author who wrote Rock Chick. I didn’t like Indy in Rock Chick, and I didn’t like seeing her in this one either.  Abandoned this after a few chapters. 1.5 out of 5 stars

border

The Distance Between Us (Kasie West) – Simple and straight forward story, with a little bit of forbidden romance.  I liked this one a lot. 4.7 out of 5 stars

border

Blackmoore (Julianne Donaldson) – My last book for the year.  I’m happy to say that I enjoyed it immensely.  I loved how it was set in the 1800’s 🙂  4.9 out of 5 stars.

border

According to Goodreads, I went through 75 books this year (including the ones I abandoned).  In the past, I had this attitude that I had to finish a book I started, no matter how much I didn’t like it.  I hardly ever abandoned a book, because I felt like I should at least finish it before forming any final opinions about it.  But I realized that life’s too short and I have very limited free time, so why should I waste it reading something I don’t enjoy that much.  I read books for pleasure, not to stress myself out.  I came across some amazing gems this year, and some really horrible ones (unfortunately).  Based on my experience this year, I’m probably going to be staying away from the paranormal romance genre for a while – especially the ones with angels.

Please remember that what I wrote here is my own personal opinion.  If you disagree with me then there’s really nothing I can do about it.   If I didn’t like one of your favorite books and are offended by what I said, then I apologize.  I don’t have anything against the people who enjoy the books I didn’t like – it simply just means that we like different things.

4 thoughts on “Books Read in 2013

  1. Pingback: INSTABITS : January 2014 | What I have shown you is reality ...

  2. Pingback: Book Review : More Than This | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

