Review : Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain (Crush)

lipbalmstain(image source)

This review is loooong overdue.  In fact, I debated on whether or not I should write it at all since everyone’s already raved about these lip balm stains online.  But, I decided that I love the product so much, I should at least make a quick entry on what I like about it.

20120824_084616

I bought this Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in the shade Crush back in August 2012.  And since then, I’ve used it everyday.  In fact, I used it so much that this is all I have left now:

IMG_4798

The packaging looks like a giant retractable crayon.  You have to twist the bottom up to get more of the product out.  There’s 2.7 grams of product in each stick.

IMG_4796

The only way I can get more product out of this is if I use a lip brush, which I’m too lazy to do.  So I guess it’s safe to say that I’ve used it all up.  This amazes me because this is only the 3rd time that I have used up a lip product in my entire life!  (The only other lip products I’ve used up completely is my Etude House Apricot Stick and my lip stain from The Body Shop).  I buy a lot of lip products because I’m obsessed with them, but I usually end up getting tired of them or losing them before I can completely finish one.

This balm stain took me a year to finish, and that’s with me using it every single day.  I bought it for 550 PHP at SM Department Store so I can definitely say that I got my money’s worth.  (If you buy it from Walmart it’s only around 7 USD, which is even cheaper.)

Here’s what it looks like when I wear it:

IMG_4783

It’s sort of a dark berry or plum color, which I love.  It’s great for the “winter” (except we don’t really have winter in the Philippines … so I guess I’m referring to the “-ber months”), but it’s a little too dark for warmer days.  In those cases, I just layer another color on top of it to make it pop a little more.  I usually like to use my Maybelline Color Sensational Moisture Extreme Lip Color in Soft Azallea (phew, that was a mouthful), or my Fashion 21 Color Mood Lipstick in Merry Berry.  Both of these colors are too bright for me to wear by themselves, so layering them on top of the Revlon Balm Stain is perfect.

IMG_4792

With Fashion 21 Color Mood (Merry Berry)

IMG_4789

With  Maybelline Color Sensational Moisture Extreme Lip Color (Soft Azallea)

I use the Maybelline Soft Azallea more than the Merry Berry, so chances are, if you see a photo of me taken this year, that was the combination I was wearing 🙂

Swatches:

IMG_4800

Here’s what I love about the Revlon Kissable Balm Stain

  • It has a minty feel and flavor when you put it on, just like a real lip balm
  • It truly stains your lips.  I do have to reapply every 4 to 5 hours just to make my lips look neat and fresh, but the color doesn’t really fade until I remove it at the end of the night.
  • Moisturizing compared to regular lipsticks
  • A little sheer, but you can build it up – so you don’t have to be afraid of messing up
  • Packaging is adorable and handy.  A lot of people have asked me if I’m using a marker on my lips when they see me putting it on XD

Would I repurchase this product?  The answer is yes, but probably not in the near future.  Only because I have 3 lip products that are currently unopened, at  least 4 opened ones lying around my vanity table somewhere, and about 4 more that I carry around in my purse every day.  I do love this product, but I should probably try to use up my other lippies first before getting another one.  Now that I’ve used this up, maybe I’ll be able to give my other lip products a try.

3 thoughts on “Review : Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain (Crush)

    • Anong shade yung sayo? Buksan mo na, maganda sya. Lalo na ngayong malamig at kailangan ng lipbalm hehehe 😀
      (Bumabawi lang ako sa pagblog kasi pinabayaan ko talaga sya last year. Kaya mo din yan kup hehe)

  1. Pingback: INSTABITS : June 2014 | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

