Week 5/52 : Sometimes, on the way to a dream, you get lost and find a better one

This image popped into my mind last week, but unfortunately I didn’t get the chance to shoot and edit it until yesterday. I was hoping to upload it in time for the Lunar New Year, since it marks the start of the year of the horse, but I didn’t finish it in time. I guess the important thing is I managed to execute the image I had in mind, and I’m quite pleased with it.

I had to do a lot of trial and error when I placed myself next to the horse. I haven’t been around that many horses in my life so I wasn’t sure how big it was supposed to look standing next to me. (I Googled some pictures of people with horses for reference.) After editing everything, I think the horse should be a little bit bigger … but that would mean that I’d have to redo all the shadows and blending. In the end, I decided that it’s a minor imperfection that I can live with. Besides, I’m secretly happy because the smaller horse makes me appear taller than I actually am XD  I actually really like how this turned out.

Stock credits :
Woods – http://starscoldnight.deviantart.com/art/Woods-premade-BG-II-289912744
Horse – http://kelbellestock.deviantart.com/art/White-Horse-93443926
Photoshop brushes (hair and mist) – http://www.obsidiandawn.com

 (Quote in the title is by Lisa Hammond)

One thought on “Week 5/52 : Sometimes, on the way to a dream, you get lost and find a better one

  1. Pingback: INSTABITS : February 2014 | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

