Review : ELF Triple Tip Waterproof Eyeliner Pen

IMG_0417

This is the ELF Triple Tip Waterproof Eyeliner Pen.  I picked it up at Target last year for $2.  I still had plenty of my Maybelline Gel Liner left at the time, but who can say no to that price right?  Besides, I really like using eyeliner pens because they’re convenient and handy to have.

This is the first triple tip eyeliner pen I’ve used.  This is what the tip looks like:

IMG_0421

You can use it on its side to create a single line, or you can use the tip to dot between your lashes to make them look fuller.  I’ve seen a couple of beauty gurus on YouTube use similar eyeliners and the results are pretty nice.  I tried dotting my lashes using this eyeliner and I think it did a pretty decent job.  But what I didn’t like was how stiff and scratchy the tip was. I had a hard time lining my eyes because it would drag my eyelids, and it made them really itchy.  I’m not sure if all the ELF eyeliner pens are like this or I just came across a bad one.  (I know that ELF products are usually hit or miss.) Eventually I learned that I could get a decent line if I go slowly and use a really light touch.

Here’s a swatch of the eyeliner pen on the back of my hand:

IMG_0423

The three lines at the top were when I used the pen with the three tips lined up vertically.  The line at the bottom was when I used the pen on its side.  When the pen was still new, I noticed that the formula was very watery.  You can see how it bleeds into the lines of my skin in the photo above.  It was difficult to use on my eyes at first because of how wet and runny it was.  But after a few days, the consistency improved and it became easier to use.

So, the question is, how well does this product hold up?  The picture below shows what happens when I rub my fingers across the lines:

IMG_0424

As you can see, the product smudges quite easily when rubbed, even after I gave it time to dry.

This eyeliner claims to be waterproof so of course I had to see for myself if that was true:

IMG_0426

I guess not.  This was after I put my hand under running water and swiped the lines once.  The lines vanished completely.

The product is far from long lasting, but for everyday use I found that it held up fine.  I had to be careful not to accidentally rub my eyes when I used this eyeliner, but other than that I didn’t really have a problem with smudging.  I used this on days when I knew I wasn’t going to be sweating much or going someplace humid.  I spend most of my days in an air-conditioned office so I was fine with this eyeliner.  But for people who are commuting or spending most of their days outdoors, especially here in the Philippines (where it’s humid and warm) this might not be the best product to use.

Another thing I didn’t like was how this eyeliner dried up so fast!  Eyeliner pens usually last me 2-3 months, but I finished this in about a month.  I know that it was only $2, but I didn’t expect to empty it out that quickly.

To summarize, here are my thoughts:

What I liked:

  • Affordable
  • Pigmented
  • Convenient packaging

What I didn’t like:

  • Too watery when I first used it
  • The tip was stiff and scratchy
  • Not smudge-proof
  • Not waterproof
  • Barely lasted a month

Will I repurchase?

  • No. It’s affordable, but you get what you pay for.
Leave a Reply

