Yellowstone Tour (Day 6 of 7) : Is this Gringotts?? (Great Salt Lake, Utah Capitol, Vegas)

I know the title says that this is Day 6 of 7, but this will be my last entry for our Yellowstone tour.  Day 7 consisted of several hours of us on the road back to Los Angeles, so there really isn’t much for me to talk about.  Day 6 was the last day that our tour took us to see different sights.

We spent a good part of this morning exploring the beautiful Salt Lake City.  We actually arrived here the day before, but aside from Temple Square, we didn’t get to see much of the city.  This morning, our first stop was the Great Salt Lake, the largest salt water lake in the western hemisphere.  If you recall the tale of the miracle of the seagulls (which I mentioned in my previous entry), this was supposedly where the seagulls spit out the crickets when they saved the city.

IMG_5646

IMG_5652

It was a little chilly that morning, but nothing compared to the cold we faced in the past few days.  

IMG_5629

IMG_5631

IMG_5634

IMG_5621

IMG_5668IMG_5636

IMG_5638

Look how red my hair is because of the sun!  Seeing these pictures makes me want to lighten my hair again.  Hmmm… maybe when summer comes around …

IMG_5642

Hi Daddy!  (He stayed up on the viewing deck because the rocks near the lake were a little slippery)

IMG_5656

The lake was lovely but you can really smell the salt water (it was not pleasant)

IMG_5657a (2)

Paparazzi shot from my dad XD

IMG_5657a (3)

IMG_5657a (5)

As we walked around, we found a couple of dead birds rotting on the shore.  Some of them have decomposed so much that there was nothing but feathers left.  I’m not sure what killed them, but it was gross.  Don’t worry, I didn’t take any pictures.  It wasn’t a pleasant sight so we decided to go back up the viewing deck where my dad was.

IMG_5671a (1)

IMG_5671a (4)

IMG_5672

After this, Tim took us to see the Utah State Capitol:

IMG_5793

It’s a beautiful Corinthian style building and it’s one of the most prominent landmarks in Utah

IMG_5689

IMG_5690

It’s located on Capitol Hill and it serves as the house of government for the state

IMG_5693

IMG_5693a

There are four of these marble lions guarding the east and west entrances to the Capitol.  They are named after what the city considered honorable virtues – Fortitude, Integrity, Honor and Patience.  I’m not sure which virtue we’re posing with here in the photo, but he looks quite majestic, doesn’t he?

IMG_5697

Tim waiting for us on the second floor balcony

IMG_5701

Inside the Capitol, you will find several images of beehives.  Utah is known as the “Beehive State”.   Tim told us that the people in the Capitol work hard and cooperate with each other to make the city operate seamlessly – similar to how bees behave inside their hives.

IMG_5704

Going up to the 2nd floor to meet Tim.  Look at the details on these steps

When we reached the second floor, I was blown away by how magnificent the place was

IMG_5714

Look at that!  I felt like I was in a scene from Harry Potter.  This could easily be Gringotts Wizarding Bank!  The dome structure is beautiful and those paintings on the ceiling and the walls are just divine!

IMG_5744

Check out those pillars!

IMG_5754

IMG_5730

View of the dome and chandelier from underneath

IMG_5718

IMG_5753

IMG_5728

Stairs leading to the Supreme Court

IMG_5712

IMG_5736

IMG_5739

There were four of these huge bronze statues inside the Capitol.  They all depict an adult mentoring a young child on different topics.  This one is for Arts & Education

IMG_5747

And this one is  Science & Technology.  We weren’t able to take photos of the other two, but they were Immigration &  Settlement and Land & Community

IMG_5761

Daddy posing in front of the House of Representatives

IMG_5762

Random flower on the walls.  I’m assuming that this is the Sego Lily – the state flower of Utah – but I could be wrong.

Tim was walking around and updating everyone on time.  We remembered that it was our last day with him so we asked to take a picture:

IMG_5765

IMG_5767

IMG_5767a (1)

Thank you for making this tour very informative and fun for us Tim!  We really enjoyed ourselves.

After this we headed outside to admire the Capitol grounds

IMG_5772

IMG_5778

IMG_5785

IMG_5791

Beehive statue in front of the Capitol

IMG_5791a (3)

IMG_5801

IMG_5817

After exploring the area and taking a few photos, it was time for us to get back on the bus

IMG_5827

Our next destination was Vegas, which was about 500 miles away.  This meant sitting in the bus for hours once again. Just like the previous days, I passed the time by listening to music while staring out the window

IMG_5834

IMG_5837

When my view changed from the one above to the one below, I got pretty excited

IMG_5841

That tall while building is the Stratosphere tower, which is where we stayed during our Grand Canyon Tour (by the same company) back in 2011

IMG_5843

When you start seeing billboards like this, you know you’re in Vegas.

A closer look:

IMG_5869

After a couple more minutes, we made it to our stop for the evening : Circus Circus!

IMG_5849

You might remember that this was where we first met Tim when our tour began 6 days ago 😀

IMG_5851

I mentioned in a previous entry that my uncle used to take us here a lot back when Ezra and I were younger.  We have lots of great memories of this place so I was very excited to hear that this would be our home for the evening.

IMG_5853

IMG_5856

After dropping us off, Tim told us that we were free for the night.  He informed us that he would be conducting a city tour of Vegas later that evening (for an additional fee), but we decided to skip it since it was the same tour that we went on in 2011.  Instead, we arranged to meet up with some family members in the area.  My cousin and her family lives in Vegas, so we set a dinner date with them.  My uncle loves Vegas, and he knew that we would be there that evening, so he drove from California to join us.

John and Ate Zsa Zsa made dinner reservations at a Japanese restaurant, called Koji.  When we got there, they were still on the way so we decided to pass the time by playing with some of the machines nearby.

IMG_9358

Here’s a picture of my uncle teaching my dad how to play poker on one of the machines:

IMG_9362

Look at me listening so intently

IMG_9364

I wanted to get in on the action too

Eventually my dad decided to just let me have the machine

IMG_9362a

Learning from the master XD  My dad gave me a dollar to play with, and I managed to make a profit of 5 cents by the time Ate Zsa Zsa and her family arrived, lol.

After saying greeting everyone, we made our way to the restaurant:

IMG_9364a (1)

IMG_9364a (2)

It was really nice to see CJ and Mckayla again 😀

IMG_9383

Cutie Mckayla’s all grown up!

IMG_9385

And CJ’s as handsome as ever 😀

IMG_9385a (3)

IMG_9385a (5)

IMG_9385a (6)

IMG_9385a

IMG_9374

Obligatory group shot (minus my uncle who took the shot)

We spent the evening enjoying a wonderful dinner and catching up with everyone.  It was really nice to see them all again, but soon it was time for the kids to get ready for bed.  The night was still young when we said goodbye to Ate Zsa Zsa and her family, so we decided to go have some fun back in Circus Circus.  My aunt and uncle used to play games for us here when we were younger and win all kinds of plushies for Ezra and me, so we wanted to try to win a few for ourselves that evening

We picked this horse racing game to start with:

IMG_9394

And Ezra won!

IMG_9395

Weeee~

IMG_9397

Congrats Ez!

Of course that just fueled my competitive side so we picked another game to play.  After several attempts, I finally managed to win this little flog plushie:

IMG_9403

We tried our luck at a few more games after this but we didn’t win anything else 😦

Eventually we decided that we’ll just go back to playing with the machines and hope that we’ll have better luck there:

IMG_9407

IMG_9408

Ezra and I had fun trying out the games, but it seems as though our luck had completely run out that evening. 😦  My aunt fared better though, she walked away with $40 more than she started out with.

By midnight, we decided to call it a night and head back to our rooms.  We said goodnight to my aunt and uncle, and thanked them for the wonderful time.

On our way back to our room, we spotted this:

IMG_9415

The date that day was May 12, which is my parents’ wedding anniversary (well, I suppose it would be May 13 when this was taken since it was after midnight…)  Ezra and I joked that they should go up there and renew their vows or something, but they settled for taking a picture under the sign instead.

Aside from my celebrating my parent’s anniversary, we were also celebrating Mother’s Day that day 😀  Here’s a photo that I took of Ezra and my mom in our room earlier that afternoon:

IMG_9415a

Ezra insists she’s still a baby, lol

Overall, I’d say that this was a wonderful way to wrap up our tour.  Seeing our relatives and having control over our evening was a very nice treat after having to adhere to a strict schedule over the past 6 days.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed this tour a lot, but after 6 days on the road, it was nice to know that we were finally going “home” tomorrow.

Again, I won’t be making an entry for Day 7 since we spent most of it on the road back to Los Angeles.  We did stop at an outlet mall for about 3 hours to go shopping though.  I ended up buying new running shoes and a small leather bag.  After that it was a non-stop drive to LA.  Ninang picked us up at the same supermarket where she dropped us off a week earlier, and we grabbed some dinner at a Vietnamese restaurant nearby before we went home to shower and rest.

During our tour, I saved a few of the places we stopped at on the Maps app on my phone.  As you can see, we sort of travelled in a circle over several states.

yellowstone tour

I had a terrific time on this trip.  I also had fun writing these blog entries and reliving the wonderful memories we created last May.  I’m kind of embarrassed that it took me this long to blog about it, but last semester was really busy for me.  My schedule’s a little more flexible these days, which is why I’m making the best of it before summer comes again and I’m flooded with more entries to write.  I’ve still got a several of them lined up so it’s time to get busy.  While I did have fun writing this, I’m also relieved that I finally got this 7-day tour out of the way.  Now I can start working on my entries about the 5 glorious days we spend in Hawaii 😀 Keep an eye out for that!

Related entries:

9 thoughts on “Yellowstone Tour (Day 6 of 7) : Is this Gringotts?? (Great Salt Lake, Utah Capitol, Vegas)

  1. Pingback: Yellowstone Tour (Day 1 of 7) : AKA “The day we almost got left behind in Los Angeles” | What I have shown you is reality ...

  2. Pingback: Yellowstone Tour (Day 2 of 7) : Arches National Park | What I have shown you is reality ...

  3. Pingback: Yellowstone Tour (Day 3 of 7) : Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and Bear Country | What I have shown you is reality ...

  4. Pingback: Yellowstone Tour (Day 4 of 7) : A date with Old Faithful in Yellowstone National Park | What I have shown you is reality ...

  5. Pingback: Yellowstone Tour (Day 5 of 7) : Freeloader Picnic and Elk Antlers (Grand Teton, Jackson Hole and Salt Lake City) | What I have shown you is reality ...

  6. Pingback: ALOHA!! Welcome to Hawaii! | What I have shown you is reality ...

  7. Pingback: What 2013 was like for me :D | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

