Week 8/52 : Like glittering dust on fairy wings, a little girl’s dreams are of magical things

I’m not exactly sure who said the quote above, but I thought it sounds like something Walt Disney would say 🙂

This shot was inspired by the dress I’m wearing. I call it my Minnie Mouse dress 😀 I bought it to wear on New Year’s Eve last December. The color red and polka dots are both considered good luck in many countries, so when I saw this dress, I knew I had to get it for New Year’s. I adore the little bow details too.

I don’t own a Minnie Mouse headband, so I made my own for this shot. I cut the ears out from regular bond paper, and I colored them in using a marker. The bow is a hair velcro that I use to keep my bangs away from my face when I do my makeup. It’s actually pretty small, but I made it bigger during post processing.

Aside from my dress, this shot was also inspired by a dream that I had the other night. In my dream, I was staying at a hotel. I remember opening the door to my hotel room and finding a tiny little mouse on my bed. Naturally I screamed my head off and tried to kill it, but I woke up before I was able to catch it. I asked Ezra if she knew what a mouse in a dream represents, and she told me that they’re usually a sign of small problems or tiny annoyances.

I checked online and this is what I found on dreammoods.com

To see a mouse in your dream indicates fear, meekness, insignificance and a lack of assertiveness. You are experiencing feelings of inadequacy and fears that you are not measuring up. The dream may be telling you that you are spending too much time hiding in the shadows of someone else. Alternatively, a mouse symbolizes minor irritations and annoyances. Perhaps you are letting petty problems or insignificant issues eat away at you.”

Hmmm, I guess Ezra was right. I have been making mountains out of molehills lately. And the “feelings of inadequacy and fears that you are not measuring up” is completely accurate too.  I guess I should just snap out of it and start believing in myself. I’m trying not to let these petty problems bother me too much. I’m known for being a worrier, but if my dreams (and the people around me) tell me that these issues are insignificant, then I guess I should stop tormenting myself. I just hope that everything will work itself out in the end 🙂

One thought on “Week 8/52 : Like glittering dust on fairy wings, a little girl’s dreams are of magical things

  1. Pingback: Week 9/52 : Can’t bring me down | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

